We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough Track for British Boys Championship”

Royal Liverpool Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Hoylake
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Royal Liverpool Golf Club is delighted to welcome visitors to play our challenging, historic links. Please see our online Tee Booking system for details, discounts apply on Mondays.Royal Liverpool Golf Club at Hoylake has staged major tournaments throughout its long history including 11 Open Championships. The Open made a successful return to Hoylake in 2006 when Tiger Woods achieved his third victory. The Women's British Open will be played at Hoylake for the first time in 2012, then the Open returns in 2014. The Club was formed in 1869, making it the second oldest links in England. Hoylake has a long and distinguished history of golfing firsts: It was host to the inaugural men’s amateur championship in 1885; the first ever international match between Scotland & England in 1902; the first Home International matches & the first transatlantic contest between GB&I & the USA in 1921, an event which became the Walker Cup the following year. In fact, it is Hoylake's contribution to the amateur game that has set it apart from other clubs. The historic memorabilia in the clubhouse is well reknowned. Golfers are welcome to follow in legends' footsteps to play our links.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tough Track for British Boys Championship”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

What a fantastic course. We hadn't been since The Open in 2006 where it was so dry and hot. The boys got wind and a bit of rain the first few days but the course as ever was in amazing condition. With the sand dunes it is also great for viewing play.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KRB23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    15
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dreux, France
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very expansive golf”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Welcome ordinary we have to by a new bermuda shorts but the young peoples sometimes play in jeans. Clubhouse fine with good food

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank xav521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Awesome Golf Experience”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

RLGC provided a great day and evening out for my colleagues and I, as well as our guest John Parrott MBE.

It is a tough course but if you take your time and think about your club selection you will get round fine. I am a 22 handicap and went round in 20 over which on an incredibly windy day I was very happy with that!!

The main building is very traditional and makes no excuses for it. The staff are very attentive and the barman was outstanding remembering most peoples drinks and supplying the next one without even being asked.

The food was the best mass catered food that I have ever had. The rare steak was cooked to perfection, the salmon starter was fesh and zesty and the creme brulee was delightful!

John Parrott MBE made the day and evening though. He has experience some life and has some really interesting stories. I would highly recommend him for a function. He is also off of 3!!

This course has to be experienced, if it is good enough for the Open then it is good enough for all of us!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KevIn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great day of Golf”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Enjoyed a great round here on one of the few dry days in late November.
The whole course was in good condition with the exception of the Bunkers most of which where waterlogged.(nearby droping zones had been set up).
Found it a good challenge for me (17 handicap) but think that it would lack a bit of interest for those more skilled.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
Reviewed 8 October 2012 via mobile

Played Royal Liverpool in the Wirral Classic Golf Tournament.Greens were fabulous & the course was in good condition despite heavy rain-some bunkers were flooded however.The course is relatively flat & the last few holes are a bit up & down.Having played a number of Open Championship courses this one ,whilst no doubt very difficult off the back tees & with Open Championship rough,is not at the top of my list.It doesn't compare with Carnoustie for layout or design.Nearby is Wallasey Golf Club,a much more interesting layout-a must play if you're in the area for golf.

Helpful?
Thank travelling-golfer-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Liverpool Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to Royal Liverpool Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing