We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Golfing Venue...”

Royal Liverpool Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Hoylake
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Royal Liverpool Golf Club is delighted to welcome visitors to play our challenging, historic links. Please see our online Tee Booking system for details, discounts apply on Mondays.Royal Liverpool Golf Club at Hoylake has staged major tournaments throughout its long history including 11 Open Championships. The Open made a successful return to Hoylake in 2006 when Tiger Woods achieved his third victory. The Women's British Open will be played at Hoylake for the first time in 2012, then the Open returns in 2014. The Club was formed in 1869, making it the second oldest links in England. Hoylake has a long and distinguished history of golfing firsts: It was host to the inaugural men’s amateur championship in 1885; the first ever international match between Scotland & England in 1902; the first Home International matches & the first transatlantic contest between GB&I & the USA in 1921, an event which became the Walker Cup the following year. In fact, it is Hoylake's contribution to the amateur game that has set it apart from other clubs. The historic memorabilia in the clubhouse is well reknowned. Golfers are welcome to follow in legends' footsteps to play our links.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Top Golfing Venue...”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This is a seriously high quality GC and in immaculate condition ready for the Open! Well worth a visit...

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Wardy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    15
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great course and a wonderful old clubhouse.”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I recently played Royal Liverpool GC again after a 23-year absence (I played on the Liverpool University golf team here). It was every bit as good as I remember. Great holes, good condition and a wonderful history. Can't wait to see how it plays during this year's Open Championship.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Deary71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A top ten logo a top fifty golf course”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

One of my favorite courses in England. A lot of history in the clubhouse so don't be to hasty in leaving.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank trop i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“In great condition with fabulous greens.”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Played this week in the Wirral Classic.The club was very welcoming & the course a great test,fair & with fabulous greens.I played last year & it had suffered from the heavy rain on previous weeks,but this year it has benefited from the good summer.The staff were very friendly & it is steeped in history,take some time to view all the pictures & photographs.Look forward to my next visit.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelling-golfer-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fabulous and Friendly”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is the seventh 'open venue' course we have played and ranks up there as one of my favouites.

Played start of September and course was in fabulous condition. The holes are all fairly interesting and the first tee shot sees out of bounds down the right and the clubhouse down the left, followed by a dog leg right. Great opening hole.

It was a very windy day when we played but the course was enjoyably playable off the visitor tees.

Par threes all good.

As a day out and experience, there is a range to hit some balls, two practice greens for chipping and a great putting green in front of the clubhouse.

The shop has a good range and staffwerereally friendly.

The starter explained the first tee shot and how the layout changes during an open when 1st becomes the 3rd and had some good stories from the 2006 open whilst we waited.

All round very enjoyable and would highly recommend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaoloBandito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Liverpool Golf Club also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Thurstaston, Wirral
 

Been to Royal Liverpool Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing