We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome, lovely food”
Review of Green Lodge Hotel

Green Lodge Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Lodge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hoylake B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stopped here today for lunch with my Mother and Husband. We had delicious meals - the fish sharing platter was absolutely delicious and well worth the money. I would also recommend trying the deserts which are absolutely lovely. The service was excellent and Jenny who was looking after us was really helpful and friendly.

We will be back to try some of the other meals.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yvonne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Green Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

Have eaten here many tines and it continues to outclass many more expensive restaurants, the service is first class and food quantity & quality also very good, always warm welcome and the dinning room is always the right temperature. Will return again very soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anthonycleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

This hotel is not remarkable and the downside is that you might get noise in the evening from the bar (though it shuts promptly at 11 pm), and the shower was not only childproof but me-proof as well. Having said that, the facilities were perfectly OK and the breakfast is really rather good. Main meals seem a little pricey at around £12 until you use their 2-for-1 offer which brings them down to a very reasonable £6 per person for a couple, and the food is regular pub fare but pretty good. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful at all times. We didn't have a car but there seems to be plenty of parking. So, not remarkable, but you could do a lot worse.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the biggest and best even if it is directly above the bar. You could have a conference or...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JIm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

after soggy wet and windy walk from west kirby and along red rocks we descended on to the green lodge having never been here before we where pleasantly surprised we ordered the chicken salad which was two for one it was very tasty and really good value I would highly recommend coming here for a light lunch in the future also the sell a really nice ale called saddle butt

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank spongeapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is a pub masquerading as an "hotel" and it does not even count as a pub............

Arrived in the car park and found that the reception is, in fact, situated at one end of the "bar" where the welcome was hardly effervescent!

The room was OK but the bed was uncomfortable and had an old fashioned iron frame that makes it impossible to sit up.....the bathroom was enormous and the WiFi in the bedroom was excellent and enabled me to watch live tv on the internet....good job as could hardly see the wall mounted TV from the bed!

The lighting was dreadful making reading in bed impossible.

The "bar" is actually a cafe with a counter where your orders are taken and drink dispensed...any similarities between this and a pub are accidental. Here, there was the highlight of the stay with a wonderful guy behind the bar who was friendly and incredibly helpful. Unfortunately, I could not get the WiFi to work in the bar area...

The food I had was disgusting alleviated by a wonderful gravy and delivered and cleared away by a very good waiter.

Breakfast started at 09.00 on a Saturday........although there is no literature in the bedrooms to show what times it starts then or any other day or indeed any other information on the establishment or surrounding area.............which is a same if you have an early start!

The fellow travellers have little consideration for those already in their rooms and the doors and corridors are such that every movement is heard as is the noise from the cafe below....

Stay her again..............not for all the tea in China!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ustaritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We'd given up on this place as it had been disappointment after disappointment. However, having left it a good few months, we decided to risk it again, with it being 2 for 1 main course meals.

I have to give it to them, on this occasion they got it 100% right. Yes, it's only pub grub but when it's done well, it really works and this particular night they really did get it right.

All 3 courses were spot on, there was nothing you could complain about and the service from the waitress (Carol?) was exactly what an employer would want to see from an employee in a customer facing role. Definitely an asset to the team there.

So with faith restored, we no longer need to think twice about risking the Lodge for a value meal out - and it is really good value.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank thedrumdoctoruk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

went the monday before xmas and after 15 minures had to ask when they were going to serve us. no drinks offered, nothing. Went again xmas day because it was pre booked. food good but service still lousy. Will take our custom elsewere in future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alichremi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoylake
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
7.5 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,297 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
805 reviews
6.7 mi away
Travelodge Wallasey New Brighton
1.6 mi away
Wyngate
Wyngate
#1 of 7 in Hoylake
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Lodge Hotel

Address: 2 Stanley Road, Hoylake CH47 1HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Hoylake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hoylake
Price Range: £46 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Green Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Hotel Hoylake
Green Lodge Hotel Hoylake, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing