We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Appointed Accommodation at Reasonable Prices”
Review of Green Lodge Hotel

Green Lodge Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Green Lodge Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hoylake B&B and Inns
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Well Appointed Accommodation at Reasonable Prices”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This is a review mainly in relation to the bedroom accommodation. The meals experienced were in line with some of the other reviews -rather average (but with 20% off and reasonable prices quite passable). The bedroom however was very well appointed for an Inn - usual en suite of course + tea making but also fan, multi channel TV and very pleasant views and quiet. Hoylake is a very pleasant place and preferable to the city centre. Would stay there again. No lift so and narrow stairs.

Room Tip: Room 3 is on the front and very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikingeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    52
    14
    15
    14
See reviews for
37
56
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Food was not great at all, poor quality and definitely not worth the money, what made matters worse was the young boy acting as a waiter was failing to do his job properly as he couldn't be bothered looking for our table number and started offering out food to every table in that area! We also had no cuttlery on the table and asked the waiter for some, he then returned with dirty cuttlery after being gone for a long time. After a very long wait for a few side orders we were ready to leave and never go back again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Flana96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

nice setting and beer garden.. but its just average pub grub at the end the day. Its a marsdens pub, so the cask ale is generally good but you can do a lot better for food in the area. 2for1 on all meals.. Will go again for drinks but probs not for food.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were disappointed with the service today. It was a busy Sunday afternoon and I don't mind waiting as long I've been acknowledged but no-one took any notice of us for quite a while. With two wheelchairs in our group of 4 we were hard to miss, but when we arrived we had to sort out our own space by moving chairs ourselves and then finding our own menus. Eventually a waitress took our order but didn't ask if we were ok or make us feel welcome in any way. Then we waited so long for our meals I was about to ask if we had been forgotten. The food when it finally came was nice- no fault to find there. In fact my 10 year nephew considered his burger to be the best he's ever had. And the total cost was good value as our meals were all 2 for the price of one. But a friendly smile and an apology for the wait would have gone a long way. As would an offer to hold the door open just for a minute as I struggled to push a wheelchair through when we left- another customer kindly helped out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrizia1755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoylake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Three of us dropped in recently hoping to have a decent meal. The service was very good and no complaints about the drinks, but that's where it ends. The "short crust" steak and ale pie was a mass of soggy gristle of the worst kind, enough to put you off the entire meal. The ploughman's tart was presented as though the plough had previously gone over it and wasn't pleasant to the taste. The fried fish was less than appealing and most of it remained on the plate. The "two for one" deal is a take-on; the meals for what they are, are overpriced. The Railway in Meols gives much better value. I think people will inevitably vote with their feet and go elsewhere unless food quality improves.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wirral
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Sometimes you go in and the service is good and then like last night four of us had a starter before the main and then the main never came. They had forgetton to put the main order in. That has happened a few times lately, so if you go, dont get a starter. We ordered coffee after the meal but it never came, we had to go to the bar and ask to pay the bill eventually. Its very hit and miss, just be prepared to wait or be ignored.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denise r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

After receiving a text to sample the new menu on Monday we were so disappointed. My husband ordered the ploughman's tart it barely had a filling a few new potatoes and the smallest portion of salad in the world really ? 8.95 for a main and dessert this was followed by a very small slice of cheesecake. Very ddisappointed in the tart and we fed that back. On the other hand my haddock lasagner was lovely again tiny salad and the pudding chuks waffle in ice cream this chef needs to get imaginative the staff are great. The pub is lovely not sure about the new menu boring choice pps after the invite to taste the new menu no feedback forms to fill in how strange as every one in the pub would of give the thin on the ground ploughman tart the thumbs down sorry guys but this is my honest opinion.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jacqueline s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoylake
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Liverpool Hoylake
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Greasby) Hotel
3.7 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Heswall) Hotel
2.7 mi away
Hillbark Hotel
Hillbark Hotel
#1 of 1 in Frankby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
8.7 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Lodge Hotel

Property: Green Lodge Hotel
Address: 2 Stanley Road, Hoylake CH47 1HW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Hoylake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hoylake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Green Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Hotel Hoylake
Green Lodge Hotel Hoylake, Wirral

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing