We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Woodlands Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bromborough
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Woodlands Guest House
Ranked #2 of 2 Bromborough B&B and Inns
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Amazing, lovely B&B, brilliant prices, excellent host and great breakfast. Unbeatable. Thora was a great host and seemed genuine and welcoming.

Road a little noisey but can't be helped. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatheadstoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
10
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night due to attending a surprise family party. We just knew it was going to be good from first booking over the phone and speaking to the owner`s sister, such a friendly and welcoming sounding lady. When we met
Thora, the owner we received a most warm and friendly welcome, despite the fact Thora had quite literally just returned on a long and delayed flight home from Australia! Our room was perfect, immaculately clean, excellent bathroom facilities, comfortable bed, excellent furniture; whole room cosy and perfect. On site parking was a bonus. Breakfast the next morning was superb, everything you could wish for which included the warm and friendly service of Thora, the pleasure of meeting another couple (a delightful couple) who were regular guests at The Woodlands. This place is amazing value, far better than a large impersonal hotel. We would not hesitate to return and will definitely recommend to family and friends. In fact we have already told our family in The Wirral that this is definitely the place to recommend to any visitors they may have. Thank you Thora for a wonderful stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Wow,

Due to a family let down, we drove over 200 miles with no where to stay. A desperate phone call was returned by Thora.

She is the most friendly, welcoming host.

The B&B is beautifully kept and you could not ask for better service. Just off the A41 (main road through the Wirral), this quiet unassuming B&B is probably the best place we have ever stayed.

I will not try and convince you to stay, visit yourself and feel what true friendliness feels like.

What an excellent host.

Many thanks

Dan

Room Tip: I promise, you will struggle to find a more beautiful, welcoming friendly host.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uclasstaceas122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This trip to the Wirral it would have been much more convenient to stay in the Pensby area as that is where my friend had moved to from Bromborough, and was about a 20 minute drive away...but no, I didn't even consider not staying in this fantastic guest house. I came by car this time so had my own transport back and forth to Pensby...although my satnav thought it would be better to let me experience the wee twisty back roads (in the dark) rather than the main roads each evening! As before Thora provided the best hospitality ever at great prices, breakfasts definitely set you up for the day and all cooked to order. The house is clean and fresh and convenient for bus and train travel. A fantastic day in Liverpool being shown round by an amazing 74 year old relative of my friend was the cherry on the cake! Her knowledge of the city was awesome and she could have walked the feet off anyone 40 years her junior. Forget all the Travel Lodges and Premier Inn deals in the Bromborough area...if you are lucky enough to get a room at Woodlands then you have landed on your feet. Will definitely be back. Ev

Room Tip: It is right at a junction on the main Chester Road...but is double glazed and noise is no more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We went for a weekend to collect our son and felt so welcome. The room, bathroom, bed, breakfast were brilliant and Thora made us feel so welcome and the price made it well worth it.
Highly recommended. We'll be back when we return to the area or anywhere near.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveandVicki91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

I reviewed this guest house 7 months ago...and stayed there again last week whilst visiting friends in the area. I had a different room, this time a lovely light and airy twin en suite room upstairs at the back of the house. Thora's friendliness and genuine welcome make it a pleasure to be there. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order at a time I chose which is perfect for me as I like to waken up properly before having to eat! Beautiful walk from the house down to Eastham Ferry through the country park. This time I took advantage of the bus stop just across the road and went to Chester by bus, about a 50 minute journey door to door...could have gotten off the bus at the Cheshire Oaks shopping outlets if I wanted...or Chester Zoo as the bus stops at both these places....certainly is lot less hassle than driving and parking, and more cost effective too! The convenience of proximity to both Liverpool, Chester, and transport links are just the cherry on the cake for this great guest house. Will always be my first choice when in the area.

Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We have now had the pleasure of staying over night on two sepatate occasions in this lovely B/B with Thora and Spencer as our hosts.
As our visits to The Wirral were to attend the hospital for treatment, everything about our visit was a bit daunting. Once though we arrived at Woodlands, and Thora's cheery smile and the warmest of greetings helped to lift the spirits.
It is the attention to many small details, the cleanliness, the freshness, the warmth, the facilities, and the amazing value for money that makes this Guest House stand alone.
We were recommended to it (by a very particular and pernickity person!) so its not just us who think its tops.
Luckily (or unluckily - depends how you view it), we will be returning to The Wirral for check-ups over the next five years, so will hopefully have the pleasure of many more overnight stays......They say every cloud has a silver lining! Being recommended to contact Thora and experience her hospitality has been ours!! Cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: Some rooms have ensuites. Some dont, but the bathroom is nice and close at hand so there is not real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromborough
1.8 mi away
Village Hotel Wirral
Village Hotel Wirral
#1 of 3 in Bromborough
1,622 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Bromborough Hotel
Travelodge Bromborough Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bromborough
191 reviews
3.4 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Woodcote Hotel
Woodcote Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ellesmere Port
275 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pesto at the Dibbinsdale Inn
Pesto at the Dibbinsdale Inn
#1 of 2 in Bromborough
116 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Bromborough) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guest House

Property: Woodlands Guest House
Address: 66 Woodyear Road, Bromborough CH62 6AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Bromborough
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bromborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing