We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5* service 5* exterior tired 3* interior”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Village Hotel Wirral
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bromborough
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“5* service 5* exterior tired 3* interior”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for business from the 26th-28th november. The hotel and surrounds on arrival were such a lovely site after a long day of travelling. Reception area very well presented with some of the most helpful pleasant staff on hand. Bar area, spa area, costa and restaurant beautiful shame that the only toilet is away at the other end of the corridor. Corridors in the sleeping floors were tired and could be doing with a face lift. Rooms again lovely but basic and could be doing with a freshen up. Shower I had took a while to heat up (others in my party no such problem) breakfast food was nice could have been slightly warmer but not a major hassle as it was fresh and tasty. I hope that reading this review gives anyone an honest view this hotel has major potential and by no means is it a bad hotel it is what we needed and we never had a complaint even now I dont. A small investment to freshen it up and this hotel will be firing on all cylinders. Had a pleasant time whilst here and all staff make this hotel a great place to be inside thank you all. Will definitely return without hesitation

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank awb2187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    438
    339
    167
    97
See reviews for
249
651
35
272
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Visited on business trip and the hotel is easy to find, just off the A41 Chester road. In its heyday, it would've been at the top of its game. Sadly, I think the hotel is either going to slide down market or will be subject to major redevelopment shortly.
The rooms are spacious, but as the previous review pointed out- the walls are thin! Carpets are a little tired, as are bathroom fittings but the place is very clean.
The corridors to the bedrooms did leave me remembering scenes from the film 'One flew over the Cuckoo's nest' but thankfully no Jack Nicolson lurking. I think the door to 201/3? may have been subject to an severe attack but thats all!
The bar & restaurants are fine, reasonable selections at reasonable prices.
The reason we stayed was a recommendation as a central location and the gym/ leisure facilities which didn't disappoint. Fully equipped gyms with very welcoming & friendly staff.
In all, the staff experience is very good- all very positive and although the hotel is a little old, it wasn't a bad experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fat-Tony1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The walls are very very thin between the rooms and was kept awake with the family from hell..
I phoned reception around 22:15 which I thought was a decent time for the noise to be stopped..reception said she would send security up but this never happened...
With so little sleep was looking forward to breakfast...not bad choices but the food had obviously been in the hot trays for some time and didn't look or taste nice. Didn't like the pub attached to the hotel food was expensive ..more like a burger bar with loud tellies around. The hotel needed a huge makeover as it was tatty..room was clean though.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bromborough hotels

Chester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a friend's birthday on 22/11/13. This is the 2nd time iv been to this hotel. In the evening, we enjoyed a lovely meal in buca di beppo and our waiter shaun was great. His customer service was impeccable.
We stayed in a family room. The sofa bed was uncomfortable to sleep in but the single beds were fine and the room was a really good size.
We made full use of the facilities... Especially the jacuzzi!
However the most enjoyable part of my stay was the facial i had off the viva spa therapist Dawn. Although i was booked in for an Espa facial, she noticed that my skin was sensitive and hot and advised me to have a Dermalogica facial which she did a lovely treatment. She also advised me on which product was best to buy to improve my skin condition. She was an excellent therapist and i would definately have a treatment off her again.
Overall we had a really good stay and it was very good value for money. I will definately return again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chantelle_1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Come to stay over end of November for my birthday weekend to be honest it has to be the most helpful hotel I've stayed in well the staff we were served by where! We arrive for check in at 3pm two family rooms which were lovely and roomy only falls where the bed sheets didn't fit to the end of the bed and the base of the bed looked worn otherwise lovely we used facilities the pool was lovely all lite up and nice! We had our evening meal in the bucca de pepo and Sean was our waiter and nothing was a problem 5* service with a smile he need rewarding for his hard work!!! Next day we used the spa and I had treatment from dawn she was brilliant scalp massage to die for came out feeling I was floating my mum had a manicure by Jodie she was so lovely and treated my mum like royalty. 5* in the spa Rebecca who was on reception in the spa was so helpful to about products! Overall we will be returning especially if you keep staff like sean!!! Excellent weekend break.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank snophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
174 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

we spent 2 nights at this hotel. reception were very friendly at check in. Room was a long way and not a straight forward route as in seperate extension of hotel, but nice and quiet. we went for the upperdeck as the little extras for the small amount extra we paid was nice. The only niggle of the room is the extractor fan in the bathroom doesnt go off and even with the door closed i could still hear it, not ideal as struggled to fall asleep. I did mention it to reception who said they would ask maintanance but no one came back to us..
Ate in the restaurant and the staff were all very friendly and the food was really good and prices very reasonable.
Breakfast was very relaxed with a good selection of hot and cold.
Location good and enjoyed a look around the local vilage Port sunlight and shopping at cheshire oaks.
would reccomend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We were really excited to stay. It was supposed to be a nice relaxing birthday treat for two nights. The outside of the hotel looks really nice. Reception area is welcoming. Our room was not so welcoming. After being checked in we followed the maze to our room. It was rather confusing the first few times of making the journey to and from the room as we had to go up to the first floor across then down. Think clearer signs need to be put up to direct people to go back down to the ground floor. The room was very dark. There was a road directly outside of our window for guests to gain access in and out of the car parks. We decided we could deal with this. When unpacking we realised there was a lot of dust on the side tables and ring marks from where other guests had put cups. In the bathroom after putting a hand on the ledge where toiletries go there was a visable hand print due to the dust that had collected giving the impression the room had not been used for a while. We packed our things up and followed the maze back to reception. We metioned the cars right outside the window to be told whichever room to stay there is a car park. I think they missed the point it was right outside of our window and put is in room in the same area but the opposite side of the corridor. After working as a reception supervisor in a hotel for 4 years, common sense would suggest putting a guest in a higher floor or at least giving them the option. Alternatively offering an upgrade which also was not offered on check in. I highly doubt that a sunday ni+ght the hotel would be full. We went to the new room which was not as dark as the first and larger. But still attention to detail in regards to cleaning has been missed.

Breakfast left a lot to be disired. Food had been left on the hot plate for while and there was one choice of juice on the first day but two on the second. Cutlery on our table was dirty a knife looked like someone had just used it to butter bread. Fortunately there was another set to use.Staff had an arguement over who had put juice in the fridge that shouldnt have been there, this happened next to us which wasnt appropriate. Another member of staff came out of the kitchen playing on a mobile phone.

Leisure facilities are usually the part we like the most but they do not match the standards of other village hotels. The changing rooms are in much need of an update especially the lockers and there didnt seem to be a dryer for wet swimsuits either. One day of the stay one of the jacuzzi's was not to be used. The one that was in use, the white grill around the outside of the jacuzzi was broken.

We booked a 'King room' which seems to be a standard double room with a 'refurbished bathroom'. This is very misleading. The rooms are in need of updating, even though we were told we were in the newest part of the building which would suggest the rooms were of a higher standard.

In the corridor near our room we were hit by the smell of sewage which didnt affect our room but we avoided the lift and used the stairs at the other end of the corridor as it was so overpowering.
We will not be returning to this hotel. It was not worth the money that we paid, we would have prefered to stay in a travel lodge. It was extremely disapoining and we will think twice about booking with Village hotels in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromborough
3.6 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Port Sunlight
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Bromborough) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Village Hotel Liverpool
7.0 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
11.3 mi away
Village Hotel Chester St David's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Wirral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Wirral

Property: Village Hotel Wirral
Address: Hotel Wirral Pool Lane | Bromborough, Bromborough CH62 4UE, England (Formerly DeVere Village Hotel & Leisure Club Wirral)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Bromborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bromborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Wirral 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Wirral is only minutes from the M53 and is an ideal location from which to discover the Wirral Peninsula and all that North Wales has to offer. Then there's the historic Roman City of Chester in one direction, the bustling city of Liverpool in the other. Between them, they'll provide hours of fun and entertainment for all the family. Village Hotel Wirral has 117 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Village Hotel Wirral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devere Village Hotel And Leisure Club Wirral
Village Hotel Leisure Wirral
Village Hotel Bromborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing