We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Village Wirral” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Wirral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Village Hotel Wirral
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bromborough
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Village Wirral”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

During my business stay for just shy of a month I stayed in three different rooms within the hotel.

First few nights I was given a room that was on the first floor above the Gym. I felt like someone was playing squash against the room wall - no it wasn't the couple next door!
The room was very basic with several maintenance requirements especially to the bathroom door.
Second stay - This time on the second floor so much quieter but this time the rooom had bad mould around the window, plaster coming away from the wall. Bathroom door in poor state of repair. Pubes in the bath.
Final stay - I was given a room towards the new build. Looked fantastic on the eye but unfortunatley the bathroom drains stink and although I spoke to the reception and they came with some freshener and drain cleaner the smell just wont go.
Gym - the weights need tidying up some very tatty bits of rubber chewed away. Otherwise fine.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    413
    327
    162
    93
See reviews for
231
598
34
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Terrible hotel, all money seems to have gone into the bar, restaurant and starbucks….rooms are a disgrace, vey tatty and in dire need of a refurb.

Add to this the drilling at 6am and the fact the rooms 102-108 are above the gym which means when a class is on its like its being ran in your room.

Having spent over £1000 on rooms I was given a £17 refund because of my poor experience. Why thanks guys.

The guy that booked my cab was very polite though….

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bromborough hotels

midlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Room clean and tidy with comfortable bed, would benefit from having a pay TV channel.
Pool wonderful 23mts ideal for descent swimmers with sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi. Breakfast was all you could ask for, full English, cereals, fruit and pastries etc. Plus ladies in restaurant very friendly and helpful.
Had a curry next door in the Victory pub, rubbish total waste of money!
The Hotel was placed ten mins from tunnel 25 min journey to seaside town of Southport lovely place for every age group. Five mins to Ferry terminal brill crossing with commentary of the history of Liverpool.
Sunlight village worth a visit 5 mins from hotel!!

Room Tip: We had room near to pool area ideal to pop down last thing in the evening or first thing in morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buenviajes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denbigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Arrived slightly early to booking in time and terrible attitude from staff. Victory Restaurant well what can we say! Tables dirty and seats even dirtier. Dust on most surfaces and overall not appealing. Bar of standards needs raising if you want to appeal to those that aren't footy supporters and only want to drink the victory red card offers! We are by no means snobs only expect a certain standard but this has put us off visiting another DeVere hotel. Such a shame

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngMark43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

I booked the Village in The Wirral as it is near to family and has great transport links into Liverpool. We had also stayed in a Village property before.

Our room was an Upper Deck room which I would recommend to any couple staying without children , the Sealy beds and position in higher floor of the hotel are worth the extra. Saturday night was busy with a hen night in the Victory bar and a function in the main room and we heard nothing in our room!!

The staff are excellent and friendly , we ate in the Italian restaurant on Friday night and really enjoyed it , service was brilliant . The victory bar and kitchen has a good buzz showing sky sports and playing good music.

My only criticism was some of the public areas (ladies loo) corridors for standard rooms need a good lick of paint and updating, the first floor had a distinctive smell of chlorine!

They could probably do with more staff on the breakfast service at weekends, breakfast is ok but looked over cooked and was mediocre .

However it's a great base and would stay again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank VBurts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Nothing special, rooms are nice but too noizy, the staff is friendly, but twice the cleaning lady knock at my door at 7 and 7.15, way too early from my point of view. 2 restaurants, pool, squash and sport center. The squash is all right, but take you own equipment!

Price seems too high for me, more than 100 pounds/n...? for Bromborough... Bed is quite soft but everything is celan, towel was a bit smelly.

There is a Starbuck!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Great leisure facilities. Great bar/entertainment. Great Italian. Starbucks on site (always great).

Arrived after a long drive. Checked in and went to explore all the facilities. Once we started examining the room, we found it filthy and in need of some maintenance. Carpet dirty. Bits of plaster missing of walls. Toilet bowl stained. Bed looked as if somebody had been lying on it. But worst of all, two of the pillows had what looked like dried blood on them.

Unable to be moved to another room until the next day. The new room was clean. We didn't have to pay for the first night.

This venue has the makings to be fantastic place to stay with excellent transport links and if they get a live group/band like Tequila regularly then it must be on everybody's list for places to stay in Liverpool. But please get the basics right.

We do hope to return.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank crascott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromborough
3.6 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
0.6 mi away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sunlight
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
8.2 mi away
Village Hotel Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
Village Hotel Chester St David's
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Bromborough) Hotel
7.0 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Wirral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Wirral

Property: Village Hotel Wirral
Address: Hotel Wirral Pool Lane | Bromborough, Bromborough CH62 4UE, England (Formerly DeVere Village Hotel & Leisure Club Wirral)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Bromborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bromborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Wirral 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Wirral is only minutes from the M53 and is an ideal location from which to discover the Wirral Peninsula and all that North Wales has to offer. Then there's the historic Roman City of Chester in one direction, the bustling city of Liverpool in the other. Between them, they'll provide hours of fun and entertainment for all the family. Village Hotel Wirral has 117 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Village Hotel Wirral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devere Village Hotel And Leisure Club Wirral
Village Hotel Leisure Wirral
Village Hotel Bromborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing