We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendliest Hotel yet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Village Hotel Wirral
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bromborough
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendliest Hotel yet”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our first time here and, after spending the last week at a 5 star resort in a Melia hotel in Chiclana De la Fontera in Spain, these two nights were always going to be an unfair contrast. We were a family party of 4 and immediately at check-in were informed that the 2 rooms we requested were to be situated at the entire opposite ends of the building...not a good start. Breakfast we were informed was 7-10:30am. Make a note of that info...!
The facilities were good and largely used by outsiders who had bought membership. That was OK as there was company throughout the gym, sauna and swimming pools. My daughter is 13 but she could only use these facilities from 9-12. A bit restricting really.
On the second day we got up at 9am to have a quick swim as a family before returning to our rooms to pack up before going to an eagerly anticipated hot breakfast. ONLY TO FIND IT ALL FINISHED AT 9:30am. We were not happy. 10;30am finish is only for week-ends and bank holidays! I thought that rather harsh.
In fairness the manager, Peter, dealt with our situation very well, was sympathetic as well as apologetic and, besides deducting the amount from our bill, informed the Starbucks cafe in the foyer to provide us with anything we wanted.
This hotel has a new extension (rooms numbered 400+.)with larger rooms and better facilities. The rooms here are much better than the old rooms which were disappointing. The TV is archaic.
The one saving grace of this hotel were the staff who were all delightful. They had a great sense of humour and were extremely helpful. That is it's saving grace.

Room Tip: Ask for accommodation in the new wing. These rooms are MUCH better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marti m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    456
    354
    168
    104
See reviews for
268
686
36
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Spent 2 nights at the hotel as part of a deal £99.
Amazed. From check in to check out, we thought the place was great.
Staff were super friendly, couldn't do enough for you, and they were really sorry that they didnt have any toothpaste to give me (when I realised at 11pm I had forgotten to pack it), even offered to go to the local 24hr Asda.
We booked a family room for the 3 of us, I called the night before and organised a cot, it was there set up ready for us. I was surprised by the size of the room, it was massive.
Hot breakfast was good but my son was disappointed there wasn't any weetabix!
We ate in the hotel in the bar area one of the nights, the food was good value and a wide selection. I think they had just introduced a new menu.
The leisure facilities are really popular aside from the hotel guests as they have a big membership base. We enjoyed the pool facilities.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay again, in fact I look forward to it.
The staff make this place.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel will be quieter, though we didn't have any trouble sleeping in ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKTraveller2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We held the post-funeral get together for my father-in law at this hotel. About 40 guests on a Wednesday afternoon.
Everything was superb. We chose the fare from a set buffet menu which contained both hot and cold items . We also added sweet snacks to the menu for a little extra cost.
The most outstanding feature of the afternoon was the service. The staff were responsive, courteous and warm and added many personal touches. The food was excellent. Frankly, I was surprised at this, expecting something rather ordinary at the price. The portions were generous and it was beautifully laid out . The sandwiches were to be free flowing but we couldn't get through the first tranche.
The conservatory area set aside for us was great for the English spring time. There was an inside area where the food was served and an outside decked area with seating and tables. We had privacy from the general public but were able to access the hotel amenities.
The staff cleared away around us and brought fresh crockery, tea, coffee etc as and when.
The price was very fair and all the organisation was done for us. Free ample parking made it easy for our guests to come from the funeral itself under their own steam. It couldn't have been better and I would highly recommend this hotel for any small function or gathering.

Room Tip: We didn't have a room as this was a function not a stay. The conservatory was the room we used a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RokkoAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I booked this hotel via late rooms and it stated that to get the deal the Village Hotel want you to pay immediately.
I agreed and thought nothing of it - then two months later the payment came out. I complained that the Village Hotel had broke their contract we had made in terms of payments and they kindly refunded me 50% of my room charge and also put a bottle of wine in there.

The hotel itself in terms of the "Upper Deck" is lovely, the beds are exceptionally comfortable. The staff are extra friendly and attentive

My only complaints were the cooked breakfast was pretty awful, but the cold breakfast made up for it.
Also the hotel is like a maze and lacks signage - we actually met two other familys in different parts of the hotel who were just as lost and confused as us ..... but added to the fun

If you can get a good deal on this hotel its a lovely place to stay, and really close to the fantastic town of Chester which is just beautiful, and Cheshire Oakes Shopping Park

Room Tip: Pay extra for the Upper Deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I stayed here previously on business, and this second stay was just as comfortable as the previous time.
Check in can be a bit busy, and the hotel reception is in a foyer shared access for the leisure club, restaurant, bar and coffee shop, but the staff are swift, friendly and professional.
The rooms are adequately sized, clean and comfortable, but do need a bit of updating - especially given that so many people travel with items needing charging
MORE PLUG SOCKETS PLEASE!
this is my only gripe about the rooms in this hotel though, anything else is simply a bit of cosmetic work.
The bathroom was clean and the shower had good water pressure - so important in a hotel bathroom.

We ate in the bar, and the food was tasty and the portions more than big enough.
Breakfast is in the main restaurant, and is buffet style with the option of a few special requests. Hot and well cooked food, masses of choice, and attentive staff.
Once again I had a good nights sleep, and would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, away from the leisure club. Take a USB cable to charge your phone - plug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alleroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel on 12th April 2014 with 5 of my friends. We went for my birthday and wanted to stay at a spa hotel and then to go into Liverpool in the evening.

We never actually made the swimming pool because we had lunch at the hotel and it was a lovely day so we stayed in the restaurant having a few drinks. The Hotel staff were lovely and they had a Starbucks Coffee within the hotel. Booking a taxi from reception was great and it wasn't too far away for us to get into Liverpool. Breakfast was in the Italian Restaurant within the Hotel and that was lovely too. Again all the staff were friendly and very helpful. I would definitely stay again and I would stay as a couple of even take the kids for a weekend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I was a bit sceptical about this hotel after I had read some of the reviews!! however we had a lovely stay here. we upgraded to upper deck rooms which I am glad that I did so because the rooms were lovely! I agree that some areas of the hotel could do with a spruce up. food in the restaurant was nice as was the breakfast the following day.
during our stay wevmanaged to make use of the leisure facilities in fact that is why we stay at village resorts!
I would stay here again but only in upper deck!!
the only negative point about our stay was the mix up in the spa with our booking. Had to make do without my massage which I was really disapointed as they were unable to offer any alternatives!!

Room Tip: upgrade to upper deck is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joness247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromborough
3.6 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Bromborough Hotel
Travelodge Bromborough Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bromborough
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sunlight
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
The Grove House Hotel and Restaurant
7.0 mi away
Leasowe Castle Hotel
Leasowe Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Leasowe
774 reviews
8.1 mi away
Village Hotel Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Wirral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Wirral

Property: Village Hotel Wirral
Address: Hotel Wirral Pool Lane | Bromborough, Bromborough CH62 4UE, England (Formerly DeVere Village Hotel & Leisure Club Wirral)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Bromborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bromborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Wirral 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Wirral is only minutes from the M53 and is an ideal location from which to discover the Wirral Peninsula and all that North Wales has to offer. Then there's the historic Roman City of Chester in one direction, the bustling city of Liverpool in the other. Between them, they'll provide hours of fun and entertainment for all the family. Village Hotel Wirral has 117 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Village Hotel Wirral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devere Village Hotel And Leisure Club Wirral
Village Hotel Leisure Wirral
Village Hotel Bromborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing