We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Wirral
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bromborough
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as 2 couples for 2 nights for my partners 40th as easy access into Liverpool without the city centre prices. Booked 2 upper deck rooms which were great, very comfortable bed, clean bathroom and Starbucks branded coffee etc. Paid a bit extra for sparkling wine and chocolates in room as a surprise and added a special touch to the stay. Full sky tv package didn't work to begin with but as soon as told reception they sent someone to fix it straight away. Meal in the Italian restaurant on the Friday night was gorgeous and service was great, even made my partner a special cocktail for his birthday and have him double serving of desert. Bar prices seemed reasonable for a hotel bar so no problem there. Only used the beauty salon for an eyebrow shape but was reasonable price and pool/ jacuzzi was a nice start to our last morning. Access into Liverpool was easy, can catch bus from across the road, takes less than 30 min and a day ticket only cost £5 and lasts until midnight so used it all day in Liverpool, then back to hotel to get changed and back into city at night again. Taxi back before midnight was less than £15. Good value and well worth staying at, you know what to expect when you stay at a Village hotel and will be coming again

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Suzysturman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter J, General Manager at Village Hotel Wirral, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear SuzySurman

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at Village Urban Resort Wirral, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and your meal in Buca Di Beppo. Happy Birthday again to your partner.

We hope to see you again very soon.
V Kind Regards
Peter Jardine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,897)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,585 - 1,591 of 1,897 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hey you men & women out there, went to a theme night last Sat 5th July called Bogie nights with my wife. I did expect to end up on a large round table or long table with others but a nice surprise we had a small table for two. The room held approx 250 people I was one of 3 men!! The whole theme night was about hen parties or if not just large groups of women. I guess average age 28 years old. For any small minority of single men I guess it would have been a dream come true but not for me or my wife or the table of 4 next to us with two other couples on it.

The food for £20 each was unbelievable awful, First course thin tomatoy sort of soup, no bread roll just a boring tasteless bowl of tinned soup with maybe two small croutons. Main course had to be seen to be believed it was 3 mashy roast potatoes with a very small quantity of carrot and mixed beans, about a desert spoonful on the plate, the chicken was a average piece of chicken skinned breast meat that had just been put in the oven and cooked with no sauce or seasoning at all, both of ours was the texture of cardboard. The meal was described as a chicken dinner! Oh forgot something I did have a large spoonful of thin watery gravy chucked over the chicken, my god it was bad. Should have realised mass catering for 250, even in a good hotel, doesn't work does it? Our big mistake.

Anyway, anyone of thinking of going I am sure it will be great fun for you girly groups but the hotel should advertise that as 247 to 3 men really doesn't wash, tiny little dance floor, we left after the main meal and didn't both with desert, as the night was appalling and we didn't want to risk the desert. Really sorry to sound so negative, great girly do, but not for couples. If you don't believe us have a go good luck. And by the way the dance floor could probably hold about 30 to 40 people at best, where they all danced after the meal god knows. Absolutely awful expensive experience, poor quality, if my wife served me a Sunday roast anywhere near what we both received that night, and by the way I can cook as well, I would have fed it to the dog and I think the dog would have complained.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter J, General Manager at Village Hotel Wirral, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Nick P,

We are so disappointed to hear you did not enjoy our Boogie Night on 5th July.

It is a shame we didnt get to a chance to resolve the issues you had, on the night, if you want to discuss your experience futher please do not hestitate to phone our team on 0871 222 4614.

V.Kind Regards
Peter Jardine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a few times but this time we upgraded to an upper deck suite. The bed was amazing and so comfortable.

We didn't eat in the restaurant but have in the past.

The staff were friendly and very accommodating.

Wish I had more time to enjoy the spa facilities. Next time I will just have a weekend in the hotel

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank taz15485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannahParr, Meeting and Events Coordinator at Village Hotel Wirral, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Taz15485,

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback about Village Urban Resort Wirral, we really appreciate all the responses we receive.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed one of our Upper deck Suites and we hope to see you again soon.

V Kind Regards
Hannah Parr
Meeting and Events Coordinator.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Average rooms, like lots of other recent reviews I can only concur that the room we stayed in was tired & not very welcoming. One of the towels in the bathroom was stained. The communal areas & bar were stifling hot, fortunately there was a fan in our room & it wasnt too hot & sunny a day, i wouldnt want to be there when it is. On the plus the staff were great, the BBQ we had was fab & good facilities. This is an impressive hotek from the outside, some of the inside unfortunately doesnt do it justice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter J, General Manager at Village Hotel Wirral, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Paula G,

Thank you for leaving feedback about Village Urban Resort Wirral, we are happy to hear you enjoyed the BBQ and thought our staff were great, but we are disappointed to hear certain aspects of the hotel did not meet your expectations. If you want to discuss your visit with our team further please do not hesitate to contact us on 08712224614.

V Kind Regards
Peter Jardine, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Loved the upperdeck room. Have stayed before but upgraded to an upperdeck room this time.

The bed was so comfortable and all the amenities of the hotel is good. Have eaten in bucca before and it was nice but didn't eat there this time.

The breakfast was very nice. Reception staff went out of their way to help us and make our stay easier with our disabled uncle. Very impressed.

Will stay again

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank corbett_shane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HannahParr, Meeting and Events Coordinator at Village Hotel Wirral, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Corbett_shane,

Thank you for your recent feedback about Village Urban Resort Wirral, we are happy to hear you loved your stay in the Upper Deck Suite, We hope to see you again very soon.

V Kind Regards
Hannah Parr
Meeting and Events Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had booked a 2 day break on an offer which wasn't a bad deal, certainly wouldn't have paid a penny more........thank god we had upgraded to an upper deck room!! Cleanliness certainly left a lot to be desired and just found everywhere to be generally shabby. No anti-slip or bath mat in the bath and as a result my partner slipped and fell in the shower, basics surely??? Extremely basic and poor quality selection of breakfast. Certainly wouldn't be in a rush to return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to upper deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterJardine, General Manager at Village Hotel Wirral, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Gina L thank you for taking the time to offer your response we are disappointed that you were not happy with the cleanliness of your room and the selection of breakfast on offer.

We would like to hear more about your stay and would be grateful if you could contact us on 08712224614 to discuss this further.

Hope to hear from you soon,
Kind regards
Peter Jardine, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We made a last minute booking and got a good rate but it is not worth it for a very mediocre room.
There is mold in the shower and the decor is from the 50's. Chintzy. There is a Buca de Beppo and a very loud pub on the first floor..

Room Tip: Ask for a fan in warm weather. There is no a/c in most places in the UK. There is no view to speak o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tzipster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterJardine, General Manager at Village Hotel Wirral, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Tzipster thank you for leaving feedback about your stay with us, we are disappointed that your experience was not what you where expecting and would like to hear more about your visit.

We would be grateful if you could contact us on 08712224614 to talk about this matter.

Hope to hear from you soon,
V Kind Regards
Peter Jardine, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bromborough
3.6 mi away
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
Thornton Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Thornton Hough
1,432 reviews
0 mi away
Travelodge Bromborough Hotel
Travelodge Bromborough Hotel
#2 of 3 in Bromborough
209 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Wirral (Bromborough) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
Leverhulme Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Port Sunlight
297 reviews
4.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Liverpool - John Lennon Airport
3.3 mi away
Riverhill Hotel
Riverhill Hotel
#2 of 3 in Birkenhead
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Wirral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Wirral

Address: Hotel Wirral Pool Lane | Bromborough, Bromborough CH62 4UE, England (Formerly DeVere Village Hotel & Leisure Club Wirral)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Wirral > Bromborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Bromborough
Price Range: £43 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Wirral 3.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Wirral is only minutes from the M53 and is an ideal location from which to discover the Wirral Peninsula and all that North Wales has to offer. Then there's the historic Roman City of Chester in one direction, the bustling city of Liverpool in the other. Between them, they'll provide hours of fun and entertainment for all the family. Village Hotel Wirral has 117 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a relaxing Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Squash Court, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Village Hotel Wirral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Devere Village Hotel And Leisure Club Wirral
Village Hotel Leisure Wirral
Village Hotel Bromborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing