We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food, too hot to stay for a drink after our meal” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pesto at the Dibbinsdale inn

Pesto at the Dibbinsdale inn
Ranked #1 of 54 Restaurants in Bromborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Bar, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our stunning bar and Pesto Italian restaurant open seven days a week serves authentic Italian 'piattini', delicious small dishes that deliver big flavour, alongside some fantastic real ales and an extensive wine list.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food, too hot to stay for a drink after our meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

My friends and I visited Pesto this evening to celebrate a 40th birthday. The food was delicious and the staff were helpful, attentive and friendly. However, we are currently in the middle of a heatwave and we all felt too warm during our meal. The excellent waitress brought us plenty of iced water and told us that she would let us know if a table became available outside. Although we were sitting right next to a window, we were unable to open it to let in fresh air and there were no ceiling fans or air conditioning.
We would love to go back, but will probably wait until winter!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Haggster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P, Public Relations Manager at Pesto at the Dibbinsdale inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback after your recent visit. We take all feedback very seriously and, whilst glad to hear you enjoyed the food you received, are very sorry to hear that the temperature affected your enjoyment of the evening.

Just to let you know we have had a number of windows fixed over the weekend so we are now able to open these to allow a through draft and keeping the restaurant a lot cooler in this unusually hot weather. We hope this helps and if you do have any other concerns if you haven't already please could you visit the feedback page on our website so we can get more information about your visit. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    65
    15
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great service, bit pricey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Visited on a Wednesday evening having checked out the reviews of this place. The restaurant itself is attractive and looks very homely from the outside and in. The staff were very helpful in explaining the menu and proved to be perfect waiters and waitresses.

Food itself was of good portion size and was tasty & well presented. Only downside of this place is that it is a tad pricey as it is tapas and for a good meal you need to order 2 to 3 per person.

Helpful?
Thank Laurence W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P, Public Relations Manager at Pesto at the Dibbinsdale inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your very kind review. So pleased you enjoyed your Pesto experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food. Fantastic service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

A group of us ate here on Saturday, food was excellent as ever, as was the service. The staff couldn't be more attentive, friendly or helpful. So much so that the manager even gave us a lift home when the taxi didn't show up!!
Highly recommend

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P, Public Relations Manager at Pesto at the Dibbinsdale inn, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
HI Paul - Thank you for your lovely 5 star review, especially your kind comments on our service style and food!

We're delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit to Pesto and hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Love Italian Food - You'll love this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Being a Bromborough girl I have passed this place many many times. I was out for a walk in the nearby Dibbinsdale Nature Reserve/Bromborough Woods to you and me, and we decided to stop for a well earned break and as I love Italian food we went in. The Inn/hotel has changed a lot. The inside is really nicely decorated and it feels modern but in a homely way. The bar and waiting staff were very helpful and could not do enough for us. The food which was a lunchtime menu was like a tapas with 3 different dishes of choice and all were delicious. I highly recommend this place as a nice place to eat either on the spur of the moment like we did, but would also be nice as a romantic venue with a special someone. The prices were good too, not cheap but not too expensive either and you do get value for your money.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliehedgerow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P, Public Relations Manager at Pesto at the Dibbinsdale inn, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely 5 star review. Glad you enjoyed your Pesto experience and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tasty Ta-pas and Friendly Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

This is my favourite eating place at the moment. The Tap-as menu is extensive and delicious and the service is spot on. They do a very reasonable lunch time menu with 3 dishes for £7.95 which is just enough for lunch. Atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. I love this place!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P, Public Relations Manager at Pesto at the Dibbinsdale inn, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, especially your kind comments on our food and our service style as well as finding our daytime menu great value for money. We're so pleased that Pesto is your favourite place at the moment and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pesto at the Dibbinsdale inn also viewed

Wigan, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Pesto at the Dibbinsdale inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing