We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Barton Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barton Villa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dukinfield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2013

We stayed here one night for our freinds wedding in dukinfield. Rooms were clean and comfortable , and nice and warm . They were most welcoming when we went to have our breakfast. And the breakfast was very nice ideed, would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whippy073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed here one night because we were invited to our freinds wedding in dunkinfield . The rooms were clean and tidy . When we went down for breakfast they were most welcoming and the breakfast was very nice. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 122Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Myself and brother booked this venue for after our Mum's funeral and found the management and staff very welcoming and helpful. Food was good and plentiful as was the tea and coffee on what was probably one of the worst days for winter weather. I would highly recommend this hotel if someone is looking for something similar. They did not disappoint us, thank you.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank MilesFamily67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

We stayed at Barton Villa for a weekend. They provided a travel cot free however there was a hole in the side and it wasn't very sturdy. The family room had two doors, the downstairs door had a lock, but the upstairs door didn't, leaving us petrified our daughter might open the door and tumble down the stairs.
The mirror in the bathroom was poorly placed and impossible to access and we were disturbed on Saturday night by a frequent banging outside. Our room had visible cobwebs and a dirty toilet brush.
However breakfast was the biggest letdown, with only half an hour to grab and eat your food, staff who were clearly as and when they could instead of following the correct etiquette of waiting for an entire table to finish. The plates were not available and we lost ten minutes of eating time waiting for a plate and egg. Overall breakfast was not a well thought out affair and the highchair supplied was incredibly out of date and i'm not sure it would pass current safety precautions.
I was surprised to discover the lounge room lacked a tv and there was a sign instructing shoes should be removed be ascending the staircase in the main house. I personally felt uncomfortable walking up a public staircase without my shoes on.
Upon leaving we were told a completely different price and only when we disputed did the staff member realize her mistake, incredibly unorganized.
Overall we found the customer service to be poor, we did not feel welcome and during the breakfast times we felt that we were an inconvenience to staff. Not a good visit and not somewhere i would recommend.

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LHancock H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The room we stayed in was ok, the bathroom was a wet room and was good, the bed was soooo uncomfortable very hard, but some people may like a hard bed, was very disappointed with the fact they had a bar but wasnt opened up due to lack of staff, there was a funeral on the first night we stayed, which i can understand that it wasnt opened, but the second night it still wasnt opened which was disappointing, and if there is lack of staff maybe this hotel should take more staff on, the breakfast had a half window which was riddiculous, and as we were eating the grumpy lady/waitress was trying to clear the plates, i had to save my daughters breakfast twice from being cleared, i felt they wanted to rush us out of there as soon as possible, the waitress words were as she is clearing the plates " are these finished with or what" hmmm i think maybe this hotel needs to teach their staff what customer service is. i wouldnt recommend this hotel to anyone, and on leaving the prices quoted from the gentleman on the phone before we arrive wasnt what we were charged, so i would make sure you check with the owner and not this man that answers the phone on how much it costs.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank carolinecotton01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Not a welcoming hotel. Had a five minute wait until someone could be bothered to book us in. We had to walk around and guess which room we had been allocated. Missing light fittings and a blocked sink along with an uncontrollable shower which after complaining about, we were told we would just have to hold it above our heads ourselves to have a shower. Breakfast was a half hour window and it felt like we were intruding. Our tables were cleared away whilst eating, and we asked gor extra toast but it seemed too much trouble as it wasn't toasted???? The bar was never opened up for us due to lack of staff . The staff who were there were unfriendly and unprofessional. Go somewhere else! !!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank CLK1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The service at this hotel was bad. Everything seemed too much effort for the staff from asking for an extra couple of slices of toast to a plate for breakfast!!

Staff cleared plates before we had finished and didn't even show us to our rooms. Everything was too much trouble for them.

As a family of 20 we had hoped to all be together and were extremely disappointed to see we had been split up with some staying in the house and others in the annexe.

The bar was not open for us during our 2 night stay because of a lack of staff.

We were told one price upon booking and another upon leaving but because we just wanted to get out of there we paid the higher price!

We will not be returning or recommending this 'hotel' to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Charlie_Lil25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dukinfield
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne
Travelodge Ashton Under Lyne
#3 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
264 reviews
1.1 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
Village Hotel Manchester Ashton
#1 of 3 in Ashton-under-Lyne
1,810 reviews
1.1 mi away
Village Manchester Hyde Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
2.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
4.8 mi away
Bredbury Hall Hotel
Bredbury Hall Hotel
#9 of 15 in Stockport
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barton Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barton Villa

Address: Crescent Road, Dukinfield SK16 4EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Dukinfield
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dukinfield
Price Range: £47 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barton Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Barton Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing