We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“.....” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorn Hotel

Hawthorn Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hawthorn Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Radcliffe B&B and Inns
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
“.....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

this is our second stay at this hotel, first time it was nice and clean, second time it looked like it had not been cleaned. it had blood on the carpet, dirty floors, blood on the bed and other stuff(wont go into detail). I did not want to sleep in the bed the hotel was apparently full so we could not change the room.
It is ok for convineience. they were meant to be upgrading the b n b last year it is still the same the hotel is on a slant, I would only recommend it if you can't book anywere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmajayne2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seif T, Owner at Hawthorn Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
In reply to this review we wish first and foremost to assure our clients that we believe in the old values of the client is always right. We also do not like to write long needless essays. However there are situations where it is very important to bring out the facts as they are.
This review I wish to say is highly overstated and doesn’t reflect the true facts. There was no blood and other things in the bed. Definitely there was no blood on the carpet. Certainly nothing was brought to the management attention at any time at all. As for the hotel being on a slant we are not sure what that means. The hotel is definitely stands properly on the ground. The client had not asked to change the room at any time at all. A few days after the client had written this review she made a booking in the Hawthorn Hotel again for next year 2013 through a top internet booking site. That seemed to be a strange thing to do given the type of review she wrote about the Hawthorn Hotel. That booking for 2013 is now cancelled.
I should also advise that the client named David S who wrote the review under the title of enter at own risk on 20th August 2012 is her partner who shared the room with her during that visit. Both reviews are 1 month apart.
We do not like to differ with clients and we are not happy spending a lot of time on matters of this nature. We would prefer to spend our time focusing on the enhancement of our business. Finally we assure our clients of our sincere and serious endeavours to run the business in a manner that would keep our guests satisfied.
Thank you
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    8
    8
    3
    8
See reviews for
6
8
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
bury st edmunds
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

I phoned the hotel in advance requesting a double room with WIFI. These were my only requests. The owner asked for extra money to have the double for sole use. I then emailed confirmation and he emailed back. On arrival I am challenged as he was expecting 2 persons. After 'faffing' around in his paper work for 10 minutes he then told me the delay was because I had not emailed my booking through! Then after several exchanges and the passing of WIFI codes I am shown the room. First impressions were ok. Then the fun started. Ater 2 minutes in the room a knock at the door .."can we have the other towels?" .. There was no WIFI in this room. Only a few rooms above the bar have WIFI. Despite the owner insisting that I try it was obvious it was not going to work. More 'faffing' around, taken to a twin room above the bar. WIFI worked. 30 minutes into arrival I eventually get a room with 50% of what I asked for. There is no apology, no offer of a refund for extra monies paid.
AT breakfast, the owner, who is also the concierge, the cook, and the receptionist ignores me at breakfast. Still no apology. After departure 2 emails are ignored, not even the courtesy of an acknowledgement.
Car park - if you find it resembles a war zone, skips and mud and refuse. Off a busy road, traffic will shake the walls. Bedroom fittings are as basic as they can be. Beds are hard, no comfort in mattress, no bedside lamps, Blackpool illuminations or nothing. Bathroom fittings just as bad. Flimsiest toilet seat I have ever had the misfortune to rest on.. it cannot last long .. complimentary 1" block of palmolive soap, out of wrapper, (one removed with towels!) Towels are so small I thought at first they had taken the large one and left me with two hand towels. Shower - a joke - hidden in the main bedroom is a power switch for shower - but no sign that tells you where it is. Once shower up and running, water not hot and feeble strength.
Finally, Breakfast. It comes quick, its constructed from the very cheapest ingredients, and it looks like its had radiation treatment. More flavour in my dogs chewing slipper.
This hotel is a joke. It does not have WIFI in all the rooms. It is not comfortable. You will get ripped off and the customer service if you have a problem is non-existent.
AVOID AT ALL COSTS. BUYER BEWARE.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clockman999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Radcliffe hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

We travelled up from London to Manchester on new year's eve. Since it was a last minute plan, this was one of the only hotels available, which weren't charging extortionate amounts.

Reluctantly booked a quad room for the 4 of us, at £20 each we weren't expecting much. And that's what we got - not much! A few houses that have been converted into a basic b&b, that provide somewhere to sleep for the night. Yes it does have a slight smell and the decor is dated, but it is farily clean and at 2* be realistic and don't expect the Ritz!

The main thing that I think keeps this place going is the chap who runs it. He is warm, friendly and inviting. We got there late and literally wanted to freshen up and head straight into town. He kindly helped us get a good deal on a cab and checked us in with no fuss, showed us to our room and we were out of there within an hour. Being new years we arrived back in the early hours just for a few more hours kip and were on our way back to London.

I would personally only recommend this hotel if you're on a budget or are visiting people in Radcliffe. Although you get a tv and tea/coffee in the room and there's a basic bar and food area, after a night you'll probably start to feel a bit sick of the place. I found it hard to have a wash in the shower which seemed to spray barely any water out! There's not much to do in the area. Plus with a cab to the city centre setting you back £20 on a normal day, it's probably worth paying a little extra to get a more central location.

That aside, it did the job for us in everyway, and only because of the hospitable nature of the host, we would consider staying here in the future.

Room Tip: Room 8 is comfortable for a group of 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SuperSally69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

Since we were visiting family in Radcliffe, this hotel was the most convenient location.

The rooms were basic but clean. There was a flat-screen TV and coffee maker, but no phone. However, the staff let me use the house phone to place a call. The decor in our room was "frilly" with lace curtains and bedspread. My only real complaint with the accomodations was that the bathroom needed a good once-over and the toilet didn't work particularly well. But it is an old property that probably hasn't been renovated in quite some time, so that can be expected.

The breakfast was quite good. We ordered the Full English and it was rather filling and tasty. There is also a small bar/lounge area with televisions and newspapers available.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The gentleman who checked us in walked us to our room and offered to help with our bags. Since there was no phone in the room, he also let me use the house phone to call my relatives.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HillPill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

My pal and I stayed in Room 6 for the night for our trip to Manchester to see Roger Waters. Our host was enthusiastic and friendly and did everything to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The room appeared to have been recently renovated and was clean and well appointed. The en-suite was fresh and clean, the bed and bed linen comfy and clean. We had a TV and plenty of cupboard/hanging space and we had tea/coffee making facilities. The bar downstairs was a plus and the proprietor was happy to organise a taxi for us to get into the city. We would be happy to return to the Hawthorn, either for another pals night out or with our respective other halfs. The hotel is out of town and I am sure our host would agree that one would not visit Radcliffe for the surroundings, but, as a taxi will take you anywhere you want to go, why not go out of town a bit for a friendly face and a bit of banter with an interesting guy.

Room Tip: Ask for the soothing violet hues of room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asav7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corby
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

met by a friendly chap who gave us the keys to the dog end room, we even booked breakfast before we saw rooms.. the room we stayed at was featured on tv,s life of grime .on the plus side it was near metro station breakfast was not good but i have had worse

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank derekm1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limekilns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2010

My wife and I stayed at Hawthorn for a couple of nights while visiting Manchester. We were given a warm welcome from the owner and shown to our room. He apologised to us about the mess in the corridors as the place was undergoing refurbishment and by evening you wouldn't have known the workmen had been in. Our room was clean and comfortable which we regard as important. The staff were very friendly and gave us good advice on using public transport into Manchester City centre rather than taking the car in. The breakfast was excellent in a pleasant dining room. We would recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JockMeldrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Radcliffe
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Manchester Bury Bolholt Country Park Hotel
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Prestwich) Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Red Hall Hotel
Red Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walmersley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
7.2 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Hotel

Property: Hawthorn Hotel
Address: 143 Stand Lane, Radcliffe, Bury M26 1JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bury > Radcliffe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Radcliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hawthorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Hotel Radcliffe, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing