We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Kids Loved It”
Review of The White House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Old Windsor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The White House
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Old Windsor
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Kids Loved It”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel has all the things you would expect from Principle Hale, so as long as you don't go in expecting 5* luxury you won't be disappointed. We have been back 4 times because our kids love it so much. The grounds have vast lawns and a very lovely wooded area to explore. There are squash and tennis courts, a large swimming pool and gym. The buffet choices are never ending. The rooms are clean if a little on the drab side and looking around the hotel things seem a little run down but if you look past that The White House is an inexpensive hotel in a quiet location which has a lot to offer families with small and older children. To add to that the staff are pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NamibManda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    13
    11
    4
    4
See reviews for
6
18
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

My husband took me away for a night a month after giving birth, simply for a break and to rejuvenate and mainly to have a full nights sleep. We thoroughly enjoyed the dinner and the breakfast, the staff were very friendly also. On the downside there is no spa at this location as my husband had assumed, this was a shame as we were both looking forward to this and didn't want to travel to the other hotel to use the service. No room service is offered after 11pm so we had to order earlier, Aside from I was happy to have a good nights sleep. Beautiful views from the bedrooms at the back of building

Room Tip: Long hallways if you don't want to walk distances ensure you ask for rooms nearer eg to receptio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

If staying in a beautiful park, in a lovely old building is what you enjoy, this is for you.
Our suite in the White House was original and spectacular.
The hotel does cover a large area and yes finding your way around is a little challenging at first.
Breakfast and the late night bar were very acceptable.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antheajames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feltham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I disagree with the last review, I was recently a wedding photographer at the white house, the food was delicious, just fantastic, outstanding, mouth-watering, one of the best venues that I have ever photographed. As for the beautiful surroundings, and grounds it was a photographer's dream. The manager Helen and all the staff were extremely helpful and caring, I was very impressed, I definately would recomment the White House.

Jo

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed in the White House as part of a family wedding and while the wedding itself was wonderful, the hotel and staff were disapointing. For the price we paid (at a discounted rate due to the wedding) I expected more from a hotel with such a good reputation. The room was smaller than the pictures showed, the food was average and the service was slow. We also had an 'incident' during our stay which to be fair to the hotel resolved to an exceptional standard (but should never of happened in the first place) overall I would not stay again and even go as far as to say you would be better spending your money at a Premier Inn.

Room Tip: I think you take your chances here as we were told the rooms in the 'white house' were bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ightham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was a lovely building in beautiful surroundings, however appeared very corporate and for families not good for us as a couple. Two weddings going on and no where to sit for coffee after meal due to weddings. Food reminded me of a holiday camp and too many children, great if i had my grandchildren with me!

Room Tip: Rooms in he whitehouse better for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynne037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I had a recent business dinner at the White House, which was really lovely. Dishes were excellent, and service was very good (although one of the waitresses sloshed a little wine on someone's jacket and didn't even notice). So overall a very pleasant evening.

The charm of the grounds, and this beautiful building turned to dismay once one realized that the Beaumount Hotel is far from the same standard. Such a let down.

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel unless you really have no choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisFifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Windsor
0.3 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,804 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 18 in Windsor
2,295 reviews
2.4 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.6 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: Beaumont Burfield Road | Burfield Road, Old Windsor, Windsor SL4 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor > Old Windsor
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Old Windsor
Number of rooms: 84
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Old Windsor
The White Hotel
The White House Old Windsor, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing