We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“APPALLING CUSTOMER SERVICES”
Review of The Union Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Union Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Old Windsor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“APPALLING CUSTOMER SERVICES”
Reviewed 14 June 2011

We had booked back in February to stay for the weekend. On arrival in the late afternoon, we had to rang the bell twice to book in but to no avail, my husband had to go through to the back of the pub to get someones attention. We were then advised there was no room for us regardless of the fact that I had re-confirmed my booking on the Monday before. We were told there was a problem with the room and they had been ringing us at our home since 09.00hrs that morning, we were at home until after lunch! Plus the landline is diverted to our mobile when we are out! There was no apologies from the manager. His assistant advised us that they had booked a room for us for two nights and they would settle the bill. On arrival at the new hotel there was no booking. The new hotel rang to advise him there was no booking made We then spoke to the manager at the Union Inn and it was agreed that the whole booking with him would be cancelled and our money that we had pre-paid would be refunded within 24hrs. He advised that we left his hotel in a hurry and he had no time to tell us that he had only booked us in for one night and then we could go back to him! Not what his assistant told us. He made no attempt to apologise or come after us when we were walking up to the back of his car park to get the car. We made alternative arrangements for our visit to Windsor. On our return home there was no refund. We rang on the following Tuesday to be told it would be another 24 hours! Rang on the Thursday chasing the refund to be told it would take 3 days as he didn't know how the refund system worked! and he's the manager of the hotel!
We new then we were onto a loser and very dishonest establishment! We were advised by our credit card company to write to him and request a refund. This we have done to no avail. Our letter was sent via recorded delivery and he has not had the courtesy to acknowledge our letter or even refund the monies. The credit card company are now chasing him.
I have never come across an establishment like it. We do alot of weekends away and never in our time have we had this type of customer service or should I say non customer service.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank meggie2567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    54
    23
    15
    16
See reviews for
28
92
10
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton Uk
Level Contributor
267 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2011

The Union Inn is a pub under new management, and no longer offers anything like the menu on their website. The food was well cooked, but wasn't great value - £16 for the thinnest steak I have ever seen, the cheese plate would have been great with some Old Amsterdam or Exmoor Blue, but instead we get bog standard Tescos Stilton and Camembert. The Prawn and Avocado Thermidor had a nice sauce but the "prawns" looked like they came from a tin of Princes shrimps to me, certainly not what anyone would call prawns. Real ale fans might like to give it a miss too as two of the three ales on offer were rancid due to lack of turnover. The waitress was friendly though, and this place could be good if it offered better value by upping the quality of the food to match the price or lowering the prices to match the food.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fandango11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2011

Fantastic Food a true find and will defiantly become a foodies local!Delicious!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

WOW what a find ! Booked a one night stay at The Union Inn but couldn't find any reviews on the internet, so didn't really know what to expect. Was very pleasantly surprised. Lovely cozy pub with welcoming atmosphere, great staff and service. Our room was small but beautifully furnished, with a great shower room. We had dinner in the excellent restaurant and, although the menu is not vast, were hard pushed to make a decision on what to eat, as everything sounded so lovely!! After finally making our order, our meal was excellent, as was the full english breakfast the next morning. Can find absolutely nothing to fault The Union Inn and would happily go back again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HutchLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Windsor
0.8 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,640 reviews
1.9 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
1.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Old Windsor
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Union Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Union Inn

Property: The Union Inn
Address: 17 Crimp Hill Road, Old Windsor, Windsor SL4 2QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor > Old Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Old Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Union Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., LateRooms, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Union Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Union Hotel Old Windsor
The Union Inn Old Windsor, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing