We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VALUE FOR MONEY”
Review of The Union Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Union Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Old Windsor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“VALUE FOR MONEY”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Wanted a night away so booked here good location good food and friendly staff .Cant understand probs other people had turning shower on one knob water other knob temp.Shower could do with bit of bleach and new carpets needed or a good shampoo !Would stay again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Front rooms have lovely country view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schoolcollege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    54
    23
    15
    16
See reviews for
28
92
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Good location, chosen because of ease of access to Windsor Castle and to Terminal 1 Heathrow.Room it self was clean and welcoming.The ability to get the shower to work with anything other than cold water was a challange, later learning that the problem was related to the shower pump and "that it was working well yesterday" My question then is, if the opperation of the shower is subject to knowing the idioscycrasy's of it's pump mechanism, then written instructions would have been helpful.On morning of departure despite being informed that Breakfast was served from 0700.We waited until 0720, at that time staff arrived, we decided that breakfast was now to be had at Heathrow.Finishing on the GOOD, food preparation quality and service was out standing.We enjoyed a superb evening meal. For that reason alone i would be happy to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandDeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

Stopped here whilst on business nearby the following morning. Arrived around 8.30 at night and when I asked when they served food until was told "Ten to Nine" not nine o'clock. Bizarre. Dumped my bags and rushed back downstairs. Ordered a steak and asked for the Wine List. Not forthcoming but he asked me what type I wanted red or white! Pointed one out and asked the price of a bottle. He produced a Wine List (?) but the wine wasn't on the list so he charged me for the cheapest which was good of him. The steak and chips was fantastic. Back to the room. Bed was comfy but one of the bedside lights had no bulb in. Good sized shower but very difficult to get the temp right. Black mould over the shower was unappealing. Breakfast was great and served by a smiling waitress/ cook which was nice. However I sat at the same table and the stain caused by me dropping a chip with brown sauce on was still there. They hadn't changed the dirty table cloth before breakfast. Basically the pub is good to eat in and I've slept in worse places but a good clean and a course in customer relations wouldn't go amiss.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We wanted to be near by Heathrow Airport, but far enough to enjoy the night before flying.
I booked 2 rooms, one for ourselves and one for my sister and brother in law who were flying out.
I liked the website. Thus booked.
PROS:- our rooms were next to each other
- the food in the restaurant was great, the waitress was grand
- location was good, enjoyed the countryside
- comfortable bed
- fairly clean
-on site car park
CONS:- the shower looked inviting, BUT very hard to get the water temp correct, taking 15-20
minutes to do so
-my sister's room did NOT have a shower door!! And when they gained assistance with
the water temp, they were NOT treated with respect!!!!
- no phone in the room
-freeview tv...what a mess!!
- no staff on sight during the night, nobody to contact for emergency, fire etc.
- no staff at 0700hr to serve the breakfast, as we had organized our time for breakfast at
this time, we had to end up eating at the airport before the flight. We called the Inn, nobody answered the phone at 0700hr!!
-the bathroom could have used a deeper clean, black mold in shower unit
-poor service on the side of the hotel, behind the desk in reception was bags of laundry
to be removed, thought this was unprofessional
-dirty carpet, really needed to be cleaned!!!!
-there was a car park behind the hotel, behind the building was a mess, it needed to be
cleaned up
There was a sticker from Trip Advisor for excellence...well not sure how this happened.
Would I book here again, most likely NOT.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deanna39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My husband and I have just stayed at Union Inn in Windsor. We chose the hotel from a voucher as it is very close in proximity to Windsor and the theme parks.

We arrived in the evening and as food was being served until 9pm we decided to eat here with the in-laws. The food was incredible, and brilliant value. Between us we ate from both the restaurant and pub menus and the only reason any plate wasn't licked clean were the generous portion sizes. Despite being stuffed all four of us couldn't resist trying the desserts which matched the mains in quality.

The room is very clean and modern. We would highly recommend the Union Inn to friends and family, and we will definatley be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amywild210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked this hotel from a dinner, bed and breakfast voucher we were given. We were given a warm welcome and enjoyed a couple of drinks in the sun overlooking the fields opposite. Our room was compact but modern, very clean and with a nice bathroom which was spotless. We had a superb 3 course meal that evening in the restaurant and I don't know the lady's name that served us but she was very welcoming and our dinner was served leisurely and not rushed. We had a pleasant nights sleep and woke to a fantastic full English breakfast which again was served by a lovely girl in a relaxed atmosphere. Overall a really nice break away as a couple leaving the kids with grandparents, would definitely go back and recommend. It was a 5 minute drive from Windsor where we spent a lovely afternoon wandering around exploring. If we had one thing we didn't like it was the plane noise from overhead but we had the windows open as it was a hot night and its not all night.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eljay77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2013

simple yet modern rooms, very clean, only a stone throw away from windsor town for food/castle, 20 minutes from thorpe park, full english + more for breakfast included in price, nice views, excellent value for money for a b&b..and all the guests signing the guestbook appeared to be sharing the same sentiments.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneSmithLondon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Windsor
0.8 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,595 reviews
1.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
1.9 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
1.9 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Union Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Union Inn

Property: The Union Inn
Address: 17 Crimp Hill Road, Old Windsor, Windsor SL4 2QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor > Old Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Old Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Union Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Union Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Union Hotel Old Windsor
The Union Inn Old Windsor, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing