We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissapointing”
Review of The Union Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Union Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Old Windsor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

stayed for one night glad it was not any longer, noticed on arrival how run down everywhere looked and inside was no better.weather cold outside but on the plus side bar and our room very warm.We did find the planes from heathrow going over nearby a problem could hardly be heard.we had problems getting the temp right for shower must have taken 10 mins minimum. towels well worn but clean, i have never had such uncomfortable pillows.We both had full english for breakfast which was very good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for The Union Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 205 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

We were welcomed with a friendly smile and taken to our room. First impression wasn't to good, the stair carpet had loads of stains on it but we were near the airport, so thought maybe they had a lot of commuters.
The bedroom was chilly but we noticed the windows were open, but going to close them, the windows didn't shut properly. A lot of mould and black in the window bottoms. The blind wouldn't come down. Décor could have been cleaner and tidier.
We had no plug in the sink, but we were told just to let the water run, If you are tall then you had trouble sitting on the loo as your legs banged on the wall.
The heating wasn't working in the bedroom but they did give us a plug in infa red heater.I certainly have never had this and stopped in many hotels and guest houses.One of The problems we had with this was we had to put it on the dressing table as it wouldn't reach any other plug. Also we put it on in the morning as we were freezing jumped back into bed but it was so bright. The beds were clean and comfy but the pillows were like sleeping on a stone slab. There was no one around when we went down for breakfast and to tell them we had no hot water, everything was in darkness. We returned to our room and waited another half hour. I went then down to see if I could borrow a bowl to have a wash. I found the chef who had just arrived, very grumpy. Who asked "What do you want to eat". Made us feel a little uncomfortable as if we had got him to come in just for us.
Think really they would be better closing the hotel for Sunday nights, concentrate on cleaning ,decorating the rooms and focus on the food, restaurant and pub.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

stayed while on business. Pulled up and thought looks a bit tacky. Room was ok but some attention to detail needed. Broken shower door, lamp shade and poor blind.
As with other guests however, the food was fantastic, the bar was warm and comfortable with nice fire and locals having a chat. Really warm experience. If you like having a chat and not too fussy, you will love this place. Great for either Windsor or slough if you are staying for pleasure or business. Once again, the food was great!!
The room was warm and the bed was really comfy. Just what you need when your on business.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I don't get it ! For the sake of a little attention to detail such as a tidy up, clean table cloths and a clean of the carpets on the stairs and in our room (No2), you would be torn between a 4/5 star.

That said, initial dissapointment soon evaporated, the staff being friendly and accomodating and the food (both dinner and breakfast) wouldn't be out of place in an expensive restaurant.

I booked this on a voucher that i had recieved as a gift so couldn't really comment on value for money but I would say that It probably compares favourably with similar priced inns and if food is more important to you than general decor, definately worth a stopover.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blahblahman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed here for two nights as we were going to Ascot for the day and wanted somewhere close by. We had got a voucher for one of the nights through 'unusual hotels' from time out. Not sure it exactly qualified as an unusual hotel. Basic rooms that were clean but in need of a little TLC - tiles missing or loose in the bathroom, carpets in desperate need of a clean and no seat for the dressing table, which was a bit odd.

We ate in the restaurant the first night and the food was fantastic. Loads of choice and everything was beautifully cooked. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also lovely - freshly cooked to order and piping hot.

We would stay here again as it was good value.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Spurplepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Excellent value, excellent location, excellent service, the staff are really friendly, rooms were clean and tidy, breakfast was comprehensive and good quality, parking on site too. Perfect base for Windsor attractions.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank yummymummynorfolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Wanted a night away so booked here good location good food and friendly staff .Cant understand probs other people had turning shower on one knob water other knob temp.Shower could do with bit of bleach and new carpets needed or a good shampoo !Would stay again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Front rooms have lovely country view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schoolcollege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Windsor
0.8 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,877 reviews
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
1.9 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
1.9 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Union Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Union Inn

Address: 17 Crimp Hill Road, Old Windsor, Windsor SL4 2QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor > Old Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Old Windsor
Price Range: £58 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Union Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Union Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Union Hotel Old Windsor
The Union Inn Old Windsor, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing