We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, great atmosphere”
Review of The Union Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Union Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Old Windsor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Lovely restaurant - went with a group of about 20 so was worried service would be erratic. No problems though - all served very swiftly... lovely staff and the food was absolutely delicious.. large portions, amazing home made chips, huge onion rings... great atmosphere in village pub during pre- and post-dinner drinks. Cannot fault the evening!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zaphods_Wombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 214 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

I will start my review with the positive by saying that the room was clean and the bed was comfortable, and the shower was powerful. But that's where the positive stops. We arrived only to be told that the hotel was actually supposed to be closed that evening because they were having a party and that there would be no breakfast supplied (even though we had paid for it). I asked the manager for a refund to cover the breakfast we had paid for and he said 'he would sort something out', this was the last we heard from him. On departure we could find not one member of staff to check us out and we actually couldn't get out of the hotel, we eventually found a fire exit and left by that, this we felt was a safety hazard. We felt that the staff 'could not be bothered with us', I have never received customer service from any other hotel that I have stayed in like this. Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We visited the Union Inn for a short break between Christmas and new Year with some friends to relax and get away from the stresses of the festive season. The welcome was friendly from the moment we walked through the door from both staff and regulars. The rooms were modern, clean and well decorated with plenty of room. We eat in the restaurant both nights and had really good food at reasonable prices. The owner was extremely helpful and assisted us in planning our day out when we chose to walk to Windsor. Would definitely go there again

Room Tip: Rooms 11 and 12 we found very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taffman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I booked a double room in September as a pre-Christmas treat, it was to be for Saturday 30th November. This was confirmed the following day on the phone, but never in writing! With 3 days to go we phoned this morning (as we always do) to check the arrival time only to find that there was "no room at the inn" and that they had supposedly left us a message on our answer phone .... we don't have an answer phone!

I have never given a poor review before ......but, so disappointed we were looking forward to our weekend break. However, looking at the last few reviews on Tripadvisor maybe we have had a lucky escape? The manager is never available to take your calls!

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Escape_committee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

stayed for one night glad it was not any longer, noticed on arrival how run down everywhere looked and inside was no better.weather cold outside but on the plus side bar and our room very warm.We did find the planes from heathrow going over nearby a problem could hardly be heard.we had problems getting the temp right for shower must have taken 10 mins minimum. towels well worn but clean, i have never had such uncomfortable pillows.We both had full english for breakfast which was very good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We were welcomed with a friendly smile and taken to our room. First impression wasn't to good, the stair carpet had loads of stains on it but we were near the airport, so thought maybe they had a lot of commuters.
The bedroom was chilly but we noticed the windows were open, but going to close them, the windows didn't shut properly. A lot of mould and black in the window bottoms. The blind wouldn't come down. Décor could have been cleaner and tidier.
We had no plug in the sink, but we were told just to let the water run, If you are tall then you had trouble sitting on the loo as your legs banged on the wall.
The heating wasn't working in the bedroom but they did give us a plug in infa red heater.I certainly have never had this and stopped in many hotels and guest houses.One of The problems we had with this was we had to put it on the dressing table as it wouldn't reach any other plug. Also we put it on in the morning as we were freezing jumped back into bed but it was so bright. The beds were clean and comfy but the pillows were like sleeping on a stone slab. There was no one around when we went down for breakfast and to tell them we had no hot water, everything was in darkness. We returned to our room and waited another half hour. I went then down to see if I could borrow a bowl to have a wash. I found the chef who had just arrived, very grumpy. Who asked "What do you want to eat". Made us feel a little uncomfortable as if we had got him to come in just for us.
Think really they would be better closing the hotel for Sunday nights, concentrate on cleaning ,decorating the rooms and focus on the food, restaurant and pub.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

stayed while on business. Pulled up and thought looks a bit tacky. Room was ok but some attention to detail needed. Broken shower door, lamp shade and poor blind.
As with other guests however, the food was fantastic, the bar was warm and comfortable with nice fire and locals having a chat. Really warm experience. If you like having a chat and not too fussy, you will love this place. Great for either Windsor or slough if you are staying for pleasure or business. Once again, the food was great!!
The room was warm and the bed was really comfy. Just what you need when your on business.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Windsor
0.8 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
4,004 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
1.9 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Old Windsor
1.9 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
4.2 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Union Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Union Inn

Address: 17 Crimp Hill Road, Old Windsor, Windsor SL4 2QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor > Old Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Old Windsor
Price Range: £64 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Union Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Union Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Union Hotel Old Windsor
The Union Inn Old Windsor, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing