We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So so friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Union Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Union Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Old Windsor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So so friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night after royal ascot. Couldn't ask for a nicer place. The staff couldn't have been more helpful especially Tess who went out of her way to help you out. The room was spot on and the bar/food was reasonably priced. Also I'll say this now the breakfast was probably the best full English I've ever had. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaunMoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    54
    21
    15
    16
See reviews for
28
88
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Lovely little place tucked away up a quiet country lane in Old WIndsor, this is just what you need if you looking for somewhere cheap to lay your head for the night!!
A comfortable, clean and modern room was allocated whaich had a lovely, modern, clean bathroom. The shower cubicle could've done with being a little bigger, but this is only a small gripe.
Although we didn't sample the food from the bar menu, old favourites were on offer. Bar staff were really friendly and recommended an evening walk through the lane and onto the "Long Walk" which we duly took.
All in all, a very confortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
82 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed one night at the Union "Pub" Hotel so I could collect family from an early arrival into Heathrow. I arrived late and despite emails and calls, late check-in was not easy to co-ordinate but thankfully someone waited for me. Room very small (single) and not that aesthetically pleasing on the eye but served it's purpose. More investment in the en-suite shower room seemed to have been made compared to the room! towels and basic toiletries included. All staff I met were friendly and helpful and the inclusive breakfast was very filling and a great to start to the day! Location was good for the Airport and included free parking which can catch you out if you use a closer Airport Hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brightonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

It was a fairly quiet evening there and the young man serving at the bar and also in the dining room was very friendly which is more than we could say about the male owner of the hotel. He made us feel very uncomfortable at breakfast when he said he had finished serving and had cleaned the kitchen - this was at 8.45am - we had been sitting there for 15 minutes before he even acknowledged us. We had been informed the previous evening that breakfast was from 7.30 to 9.15am so did not feel that we were in the wrong.
The room was very comfortable and it was a nice change to have a shower with plenty of pressure.
Location was good - not far from Windsor and Heathrow and there was plenty of parking.
Alfie the dog was lovely!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanYoung2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshie
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

A very friendly bar, polite and courteous staff. We had a pleasant evening listening to a live singer! Our room was clean and comfortable and a nice quiet night was had. The morning breakfast included full English, toast, cereal, juices and Tea & Coffee along with a selection of morning papers. The front of the pub looked stunning with its lovingly maintained hanging baskets and window boxes. Overall a very pleasant stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed at the union inn last week while down on business.

The hotel was fantastic, really nice clean room with a very combatable bed. The food was really good and service from the staff was outstanding.

The breakfast in the morning was really good quality and huge.

Id recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here as a friend was having his 50th birthday bash here. Read the previous reviews and was a bit dubious about staying, however my reservations were unfounded. Room was bright modern and clean, nicely laid out for arrival and overlooking the country side. Jamie & Tess were most accommodating behind the bar, breakfast was scrumptious, a massive full English with cereals and croissants available also. My advice is that if there is something you feel is missing or you need to know, just ask, they are most accommodating!

Room Tip: Room no seven is above the far end of the bar and overlooks the beautiful country side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Windsor
0.9 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,424 reviews
1.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
1.9 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
1.2 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Union Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Union Inn

Property: The Union Inn
Address: 17 Crimp Hill Road, Old Windsor, Windsor SL4 2QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor > Old Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Old Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Union Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Union Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Union Hotel Old Windsor
The Union Inn Old Windsor, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing