We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Vere Beaumont Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Vere Beaumont Estate
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Old Windsor
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Accommodation
It is clear we attended the same major function as ‘pompeybrian’ and would like to endorse his sentiments about the standard of ‘Deluxe Rooms’, which also seemed to apply to our ‘Double Superior Room’ - with particular regard to the siting of the toilet roll holder and the need to remove the ironing board from the ‘economy-sized’ wardrobe. Clearly, the rooms are designed to suit Heathrow stop-over passengers, rather than those on a more leisurely break! Principal Hotels should make a point of Management, personally experiencing all rooms, before approving them for public use – the majority of good B & B owners wouldn’t dream of doing less.

Food
On Friday evening, at the formal dinner, the mini mountain of profiteroles, appeared to be held together (or apart) by a brown ‘grouting’, rather than an abundance of chocolate sauce. This caused us to opt for the fresh fruit salad – not necessarily a wise choice - it’s been a prolific year for apples ! ! ! Breakfast, although manic, due to the numbers involved, wasn’t bad, as far as mass catering goes and improved considerably as the numbers diminished - by Monday morning it was pretty good.

Local alternatives
The Fox and Castle, situated a few hundred yards further up Burfield Road, provided a very hospitable welcome and equally enjoyable ‘home cooked’ food, to a very high standard and an excellent selection of real ales. Although busy - it was a Saturday evening after all - the food ‘knocked-spots-off’ the night before and was even more appreciated as a result.

Staff
Having stayed from Friday through to Monday morning, we can categorically say how caring, efficient and kind the young members of staff were. They could not have been more helpful - the booking/reception staff, from a year or more ago, through to the housekeepers, they were all a credit to Principal Hotels. Hopefully (tongue-in-cheek) they are remunerated accordingly!

Events
It was apparent that providing a three-course formal dinner, for 500 diners, was a ‘step too far’! Maybe a buffet style meal would have been more practical but clearly a hot main course was too much. In fact it could have been dangerous – pressed belly of pork – poorly cooked and standing getting cold or insufficiently reheated – a gamble with public health! The thyme-roasted vegetables were even more ‘tired’ than most of us, on Saturday morning. Having said that, a few tables thoroughly enjoyed their dinner – maybe consistency would at least be a partial solution.

Windsor
A brilliant time to visit, especially if you discover the reduced weekend car parking charge or even free parking at York House Council Offices on the Sunday. The atmosphere, the Christmas street decorations, the local people, St George’s Chapel Advent Service and the Castle, with highly informative Staff and Wardens, were all a delight and should not be missed.

Room Tip: The Old School rooms are nearer to reception/bar/spa etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiChappy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaumontHotel, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for you comments regarding your recent stay with us at our hotel.

I apologise you had a mixed experience when you stayed with us at Beaumont Estate and that the room you booked with us didn’t meet your expectations. We have many of our staff stay at the hotel as part of their training to experience a stay as a guest and use their feedback to improve our service.

I was delighted to read you lovely comments on the staff here at Beaumont Estate, we are proud of all our staff and the friendly and helpful approach they show to all our guests.

I was also delighted that you managed to visit Windsor while you were staying with us, it is a wonderful place, with lots of history and plenty to see and do.

Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor.

Kind Regards

Kim Norris- Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    883
    894
    668
    495
See reviews for
1,138
892
47
756
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (926)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

The















The old buildings and the gardens are beautiful. The Beaumont Room where weddings are conducted and the old chapel are both stunning. BUT there are many inadequacies. They obviously have a problem with the key cards for your rooms. We had five different ones during our three night stay. We did not have them anywhere near our mobiles. so that could not be the cause of the malfunction.The place is so vast that it is no fun to go back to Reception and calls to them took a long time to answer and even longer for them to bring a new key card. Furnishings in the room were of good quality. the towels were fluffy and soft but they were very mean with both toiletries and coffee and teabags. They are very under staffed when catering for large functions and the food at ours was quite frankly disgusting. At lunchtime there was only one girl serving in the bar, yet they knew there were hundreds of ex servicemen staying there. .
Breakfast on Sunday morning was total chaos. I cleared a table myself, putting the dirty crockery on a shelf under the bar where the cereals were. I then found cutlery and cups at under occupied tables that people had left. It took ages to get anyone's attention to serve coffee.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaumontHotel, General Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following a recent stay at Beaumont Estate. I was disappointed that you appeared to have consistent issues with your key card and can only apologise that you encountered this inconvenience, in addition to the breakfast service issues experienced.

I am however, pleased that you found the towels and room furnishings to be of a high quality and enjoyable.

Thank you once again for taking the time to comment on your stay.

Kind regards

Olav Schuetz
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Old Windsor hotels

South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel is one of the largest hotel/conference venues of its type in Europe and therein lies its problem. It is so huge that getting around it is a challenge in itself and your room could be some distance from the car park. There are numerous room types, but beware that the upper rooms in the Old School building have the wardrobe and bathroom just inside the door from the corridor and the rest of the room is up a full flight of stairs, passing a window with a blind that only comes half way down. One felt very exposed walking down to the bathroom in PJs or less! With accommodation for several hundred people, breakfast could have been a scrum, but it was actually quite civilised, although the fare was no better than any 3 star hotel. Although the staff were friendly, they were very busy and getting a cup of coffee was a challenge.
The public areas are lovely and the Chapel is a must see venue for a medium sized dinner party, with its colour-changing lit ceiling and stained glass window. Furnishings in the public areas and in our deluxe room were 5 star.
If you are looking for a venue for a very big group, then this hotel can cater for you, but you may get swamped if you are there as a private individual.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaumontHotel, General Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following a recent stay at Beaumont Estate, I am disappointed that you found the hotel to be too large for your liking, and the more character features of your room to be disconcerting.

I am however, delighted that you had a opportunity to view the Chapel and found the furnishings in both the public areas and your Duplex Deluxe bedroom to be of a 5 star standard. I am pleased that your breakfast experience was not as daunting as you expected and that despite the size of Beaumont enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay at Beaumont Estate.

Kind regards
Olav Schuetz
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PORTSMOUTH, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
150 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Attended a large function at this hotel last week and there were many inadequacies that a 4* hotel in this part of the world should not be delivering - or failing to deliver.
I had applied for, and got, an upgrade to a deluxe room. The prospect of a superior room was anticipated with some excitement. What a let down. The television would not work and I had to call out a maintenance man. Although he "fixed" it, it continued to give problems throughout our stay. Bathroom towels were not in the bathroom and we had to go hunting for them - eventually tracking them down to a cupboard. Toiletries in the bathroom were virtually non-existent with only one small shampoo and one small shower rub. That was it !!
There were some tiles over the shower that had clearly fallen off and had been amateurishly repaired. There were cobwebs in one corner of the bathroom and a little mould in one corner of the shower.
In the bar prior to dinner there was about 100 people. There were two rather young and badly trained young lads behind the bar and it took an eternity to be served. The prices were extortionate (£7.20 for a vodka and tonic !!!).
At the function the food was very poor. The main course of belly pork looked more like a caramel shortcake cookie, roughly two inches square - and was cold. The vegetable offering was in tiny portions and overcooked.
Then the cardinal sin of a hotel - they ran out of food before everyone had been served and many guests had to have a hastily rustled up chicken (or at least that is what they said it was !). The desert of profiteroles had no taste. To obtain after dinner coffee I had to leave my table and manhandle a waiter to come and serve us. Refills ? forget it !
The staff clearly had no idea how to handle such a large gathering for dinner.
Breakfast the following morning was fine, but it was full of guests tucking in hungrily to their egg and bacon because they were so hungry after the previous evenings debacle.
Windsor is a lovely place to visit but please find another hotel if you intend to stay overnight.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVIDSMITH48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaumontHotel, General Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am disappointed that you were not impressed on this occasion by some design elements in your room and the evening meal provided.

The meal served was chosen for the entire group and we offer a menu tasting to our event organisers in order to ensure the menu is discussed in detail ahead of the evening, sadly it is the case that due to an equipment malfunction we were unable to fulfil the requirements of main course and substitutions were made on the evening, which was deeply regrettable and is still under investigation with our contractors.

In addition I apologise you found our bar staff lacking in experience, they all undergo extensive training prior to undertaking their duties, however I have raised your specific comments with my training manager to ensure that this is reviewed.

Thank you once again for taking the time to comment.

Kind regards
Olav Schuetz - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

Think 'holiday camp' - noisy, busy, HUGE, impersonal, mass produced food, no comfortable lounges or seating area to chill, lack of pleasant bar area for pre-dinner drinks, (in fact don't go for any kind of relaxation) dated decor, gloomy dark red/brown rooms, screaming children running up and down corridors until 12 midnight, wedding parties, conferences etc etc etc. NEVER AGAIN.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JillyT055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaumontHotel, General Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments following a stay at Beaumont Estate and I apologise that we did not meet with your expectation on this occasion.

The hotel does cater for weddings, conferences and events, which have a mix of adults and children, especially at this time of year, however I am sorry if this detracted from your stay. The Hotel has a number of relaxing lounges within the main building although I apologise if you were unable to find a lounge to relax in at the time you required it. The decor is inkeeping with the period of the main house although I appreciate that this may not be to everyone's taste.

Thank you once again for providing your insight.

Kind regards
Olav Schuetz
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

This is a huge 400+ bed hotel with a mixture of new and old buildings sited in well-maintained gardens. We stayed overnight to attend a major (500 people) function in the Hanover Suite. Our 'Deluxe Room' was clean and comfortable, but let down by some odd design/layout features: *Toilet roll holder sited underneath the washbasin results in wet toilet rolls!
*Ironing Board had to be removed from wardrobe in order to put coats/jackets etc into space. *Drain plug in bath could not cope with shower water. Had to be removed to allow to drain.
As for function itself, both the service and food were poor. The cold fish pate starter was excellent. However, the main course (pork) was supposed to be hot, but the meat was dangerously cold on the inside and served on cold plates. Following complaints, a replacement was offered, but arrived in the same condition. I gave up at this point and just ate the veggies which were overcooked. Sadly, several other people on our table and others who attended the function reported similar problems! The profiterole dessert was tasteless and waiting staff forgot our table when serving coffee - we all had to put our hands in the air to attract attention! Breakfast the following morning was adequate. Although rolls were not normally offered, staff said that they could provide in six minutes. After waiting for 15 minutes I gave up!
Based on our experiences, I would not recommend this hotel for a major function. The waiting and kitchen staff seemed unable to cope with the large numbers involved in our group.

Room Tip: Avoid bedrooms above The Chapel if a party night is booked. Very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pompeybrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaumontHotel, General Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and I am disappointed that you were not impressed on this occasion by some design elements in your room and the evening meal provided. We aim to offer a high level of service and standards and I am saddened that this was not the case in your opinion.

The meal served was chosen for the entire group and we offer a menu tasting to our event organisers in order to ensure the menu is discussed in detail ahead of the evening, so I am sorry that the taste and look of the dishes did not meet with your satisfaction along with some basics of service.

Be rest assured that I will discuss your comments in more detail with my management team, as we are a professional venue well established in running large events and your experience is certainly not up to our usual standard.

Thank you once again for taking the time to comment.

Kind regards
Olav Schuetz - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Just back from an overnight stay at this HUGE hotel! The old parts of the Estate are very interesting - we walked the grounds and viewed the old school, The White House and the Chapel which had great appeal. However, the new "Blocks" are a bit clinical and reminded both my husband and I of a hospital! Having said that it is a very convenient place to stay if you are visiting Windsor Castle - about a 10 minute taxi ride away. Our room (59 in C block) was small and a bit tardy but pleasant enough. It felt like it needed a bit of TLC to cheer it up and little things like replacing the very grubby bathroom bin would give a better impression! Breakfast this morning was chaotic but then they do have 400+ rooms and it felt like most of them must have been full! There was a good choice from the buffet but cold plates and semi warm food did not overly impress. What did impress us though were the kind and friendly staff who worked their socks off! Well done to them. If you are looking for a quiet place to stay then this is not for you but if like us you need a convenient overnight stay close to Windsor then I would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaumontHotel, General Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your recent stay at Beaumont Estate, I appreciate that the hotel is a large establishment, however we aim to ensure that it is easy to navigate, and although the newer extension to the hotel was not as you expected I am pleased your room was satisfactory.

I was delighted to read that you had an opportunity to walk the grounds and experience the interesting and original White House and Chapel which date back to the 17th century, along with finding the hotel to be a great location for Windsor.

I do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Kind regards

Olav Schuetz
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Windsor
5.0 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.6 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Beaumont Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Beaumont Estate

Property: De Vere Beaumont Estate
Address: Beaumont Burfield Road, Old Windsor, Windsor SL4 2JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor > Old Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Old Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Beaumont Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In picturesque Windsor, lies the historic and unique Beaumont Estate: an inspirational estate offering a luxurious family hotel, a stunning wedding location, along with being a leading conference venue, all set in spectacular and extensive grounds with 414 bedrooms. Our leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool and gym, along with squash and tennis courts open to all of our guests aged 2-12. During the holidays, The Beaumont Bears Club offers a wide range of facilities ideal for helping to keep the kids entertained; a movie room, indoor activity room, outdoor adventure play area, and much more. The Restaurant offers an extensive buffet or A La Carte Menu and we also have the Tempus Bar & Grill which is open daily from 12pm offering a more casual dining experience. Located just 3 miles from Windsor Castle with Wentworth, Legoland, Thorpe Park and Ascot all under 15 minutes away. The M25, M4 and M3 motorways are within easy reach, London can be accessed by train within 20 minutes with the nearest train station is 5 minutes away. Heathrow Airport is only 15 minutes away by car, Gatwick Airport can also reached within 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your De Vere Beaumont Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Hotel Old Windsor
Beaumont Hotel Old Windsor
Beaumont House Windsor
De Vere Beaumont Estate Old Windsor, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing