We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For a large gathering they did very well” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Vere Beaumont Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Vere Beaumont Estate
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Old Windsor
Hampshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“For a large gathering they did very well”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

We and 400 others went for a Reunion Dinner and the staff did amazingly well especially Cleopatra, an agency waitress, who was outstanding. She looked after every need and helped other members of staff in a quiet helpful way.The food was good considering there were so many guests to cater for. Our room happened to be fitted for a disabled person and so we missed having a tall wardrobe for our coats. I asked for housekeeping to bring coat hangers but nobody came. The sink was very low and the shower had a seat in and wasn't all that satisfactory, and longer than one night under these circumstances would not have been enjoyable.However, he management gave us £30 off the room (normally £105) which was very fair, as we had not been warned about being allocated that particular room. Breakfast buffet was varied and plentiful. Some guests might mind sharing tables with others but it suited our large party and was probably laid out for us. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and there are lovely grounds to walk round too. This hotel could have easily been marked as a 'very good' with only a few tweaks. Staff in general were friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parker-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaumontHotel, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us in our Hotel.

As you have experienced, we are very passionate and committed to delivering the highest standards of quality, service and Customer care to all our guests. In was however a little disappointed that your allocated room didn’t meet with your needs but I was delighted this was all sorted out to your satisfaction.

I thank you for all you kind comments regarding our staff, we always share our guest feedback with our staff on a regular basis.

I hope you get the opportunity to return to us again in the future and I hope you had a lovely time at your re-union dinner

Kind Regards

Kim Norris- Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    483
    883
    895
    668
    495
See reviews for
1,138
892
47
757
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (926)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

I was put here by British Airways during a problem with my flight. I should have stayed at the terminal and slept there. This hotel is past its prime. The room i was given was dirty, the trashbin in the bathroom was rusty(!!), the bed was horrible. I got somekind of buffet for dinner, and i suspect that food had been kept warm - if not for days, atleast for the better part of the day. Disgusting. I would NEVER go back here. I do feel sorry for the great staff though, they were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jpr78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaumontHotel, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for leaving you feedback on our Hotel here on Tripadvisor.

I was extremely disappointed to read your comments on here and that your experience with us wasn’t a positive one, I hope you contacted our Duty Manager while you stayed with us and pointed out the problems you experienced with your room and that they were solved immediately for you.

I can only apologise that our Restaurant buffet wasn’t to your taste, but I can assure you that our food isn’t kept heated for days as you intimated, it is changed on a regular basis.

Thank you for your lovely comments on our wonderful staff, we pride ourselves on what a great team we have here at Beaumont Estate.

Kind Regards

Kim Norris- Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Old Windsor hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

This is a place I would never go back to.
I was here for 3 nights to attend a training and I couldn't wait leaving the hotel.
The food was horrible, not many options and completely tasteless.
Both in my room and in the training room was freezing.
Young staff, always in a hurry, not too willing to help and not trained and prepared.
Way too many things to improve!

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaumontHotel, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for leaving you feedback on our Hotel here on Tripadvisor.

I was most concerned to read your comments as the issues raised are most certainly not in keeping with the standards, quality and customer care normally associated with Beaumont Estate.

I have passed your comments about the food to our Food and Beverage Manager to look into. I can assure you we take seriously any feedback left here on Tripadvisor and act accordingly.

The heating in both your bedroom and your meeting room could have been solved by notifying reception and heaters could have bought to you to run along side the heating system in the Hotel.

Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your feedback and I apologise again that or Hotel didn’t meet with your expectations

Kind Regards


Kim Norris- Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
154 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as part of a conference. The food was disgusting. Spicy Pea and mint soup was followed by completely tasteless chicken and finished off with chocolate fondant which had stuck to the plate.

A colleague had "creme caramel" and complained that it had sugary jelly rather than a crispy top. When she complained to the waitress, she was expecting her to say " madam, I'll raise it with the chef". Instead, she took one look at it and said "there are all like that".

I can't complain about the service - there wasn't any!

My bedroom was nice - on two levels in the old school building. (Cue response from Olav starting "I'm delighted you thought the room was nice...")

I've now read the comments from a number of other respondents on here and it would be nice if the managers would take action to improve the quality of food. I suspect they won't but I don't care - I won't be staying here again!

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank nickswlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaumontHotel, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your comments on our hotel following a recent stay with us.

I deeply regret that we clearly failed to meet your expectations in our restaurant when you stayed with us here at Beaumont Estate during a conference. I have passed your feedback onto our Food and Beverage Manager to look into where you felt our Food and staff failed to meet with our normally very high standards.

I was also disappointed that you didn’t think we offered a good service, we at Beaumont Estate continually aim to uphold high standards of Service to all of our guests. I sincerely apologise that you didn’t think this was the case.

I can assure you that all feedback is taken and used to improve our Service, especially where guest feels we are lacking in some areas.

Thank you again for taking time to write a review.

Kind Regards

Kim Norris- Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Accommodation
It is clear we attended the same major function as ‘pompeybrian’ and would like to endorse his sentiments about the standard of ‘Deluxe Rooms’, which also seemed to apply to our ‘Double Superior Room’ - with particular regard to the siting of the toilet roll holder and the need to remove the ironing board from the ‘economy-sized’ wardrobe. Clearly, the rooms are designed to suit Heathrow stop-over passengers, rather than those on a more leisurely break! Principal Hotels should make a point of Management, personally experiencing all rooms, before approving them for public use – the majority of good B & B owners wouldn’t dream of doing less.

Food
On Friday evening, at the formal dinner, the mini mountain of profiteroles, appeared to be held together (or apart) by a brown ‘grouting’, rather than an abundance of chocolate sauce. This caused us to opt for the fresh fruit salad – not necessarily a wise choice - it’s been a prolific year for apples ! ! ! Breakfast, although manic, due to the numbers involved, wasn’t bad, as far as mass catering goes and improved considerably as the numbers diminished - by Monday morning it was pretty good.

Local alternatives
The Fox and Castle, situated a few hundred yards further up Burfield Road, provided a very hospitable welcome and equally enjoyable ‘home cooked’ food, to a very high standard and an excellent selection of real ales. Although busy - it was a Saturday evening after all - the food ‘knocked-spots-off’ the night before and was even more appreciated as a result.

Staff
Having stayed from Friday through to Monday morning, we can categorically say how caring, efficient and kind the young members of staff were. They could not have been more helpful - the booking/reception staff, from a year or more ago, through to the housekeepers, they were all a credit to Principal Hotels. Hopefully (tongue-in-cheek) they are remunerated accordingly!

Events
It was apparent that providing a three-course formal dinner, for 500 diners, was a ‘step too far’! Maybe a buffet style meal would have been more practical but clearly a hot main course was too much. In fact it could have been dangerous – pressed belly of pork – poorly cooked and standing getting cold or insufficiently reheated – a gamble with public health! The thyme-roasted vegetables were even more ‘tired’ than most of us, on Saturday morning. Having said that, a few tables thoroughly enjoyed their dinner – maybe consistency would at least be a partial solution.

Windsor
A brilliant time to visit, especially if you discover the reduced weekend car parking charge or even free parking at York House Council Offices on the Sunday. The atmosphere, the Christmas street decorations, the local people, St George’s Chapel Advent Service and the Castle, with highly informative Staff and Wardens, were all a delight and should not be missed.

Room Tip: The Old School rooms are nearer to reception/bar/spa etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiChappy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaumontHotel, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for you comments regarding your recent stay with us at our hotel.

I apologise you had a mixed experience when you stayed with us at Beaumont Estate and that the room you booked with us didn’t meet your expectations. We have many of our staff stay at the hotel as part of their training to experience a stay as a guest and use their feedback to improve our service.

I was delighted to read you lovely comments on the staff here at Beaumont Estate, we are proud of all our staff and the friendly and helpful approach they show to all our guests.

I was also delighted that you managed to visit Windsor while you were staying with us, it is a wonderful place, with lots of history and plenty to see and do.

Thank you once again for taking the time to leave your feedback on Tripadvisor.

Kind Regards

Kim Norris- Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

The















The old buildings and the gardens are beautiful. The Beaumont Room where weddings are conducted and the old chapel are both stunning. BUT there are many inadequacies. They obviously have a problem with the key cards for your rooms. We had five different ones during our three night stay. We did not have them anywhere near our mobiles. so that could not be the cause of the malfunction.The place is so vast that it is no fun to go back to Reception and calls to them took a long time to answer and even longer for them to bring a new key card. Furnishings in the room were of good quality. the towels were fluffy and soft but they were very mean with both toiletries and coffee and teabags. They are very under staffed when catering for large functions and the food at ours was quite frankly disgusting. At lunchtime there was only one girl serving in the bar, yet they knew there were hundreds of ex servicemen staying there. .
Breakfast on Sunday morning was total chaos. I cleared a table myself, putting the dirty crockery on a shelf under the bar where the cereals were. I then found cutlery and cups at under occupied tables that people had left. It took ages to get anyone's attention to serve coffee.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaumontHotel, General Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following a recent stay at Beaumont Estate. I was disappointed that you appeared to have consistent issues with your key card and can only apologise that you encountered this inconvenience, in addition to the breakfast service issues experienced.

I am however, pleased that you found the towels and room furnishings to be of a high quality and enjoyable.

Thank you once again for taking the time to comment on your stay.

Kind regards

Olav Schuetz
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel is one of the largest hotel/conference venues of its type in Europe and therein lies its problem. It is so huge that getting around it is a challenge in itself and your room could be some distance from the car park. There are numerous room types, but beware that the upper rooms in the Old School building have the wardrobe and bathroom just inside the door from the corridor and the rest of the room is up a full flight of stairs, passing a window with a blind that only comes half way down. One felt very exposed walking down to the bathroom in PJs or less! With accommodation for several hundred people, breakfast could have been a scrum, but it was actually quite civilised, although the fare was no better than any 3 star hotel. Although the staff were friendly, they were very busy and getting a cup of coffee was a challenge.
The public areas are lovely and the Chapel is a must see venue for a medium sized dinner party, with its colour-changing lit ceiling and stained glass window. Furnishings in the public areas and in our deluxe room were 5 star.
If you are looking for a venue for a very big group, then this hotel can cater for you, but you may get swamped if you are there as a private individual.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaumontHotel, General Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review following a recent stay at Beaumont Estate, I am disappointed that you found the hotel to be too large for your liking, and the more character features of your room to be disconcerting.

I am however, delighted that you had a opportunity to view the Chapel and found the furnishings in both the public areas and your Duplex Deluxe bedroom to be of a 5 star standard. I am pleased that your breakfast experience was not as daunting as you expected and that despite the size of Beaumont enjoyed your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to feedback on your stay at Beaumont Estate.

Kind regards
Olav Schuetz
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Windsor
5.0 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
2.6 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.9 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.6 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.6 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Beaumont Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Beaumont Estate

Property: De Vere Beaumont Estate
Address: Beaumont Burfield Road, Old Windsor, Windsor SL4 2JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor > Old Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Old Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Beaumont Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In picturesque Windsor, lies the historic and unique Beaumont Estate: an inspirational estate offering a luxurious family hotel, a stunning wedding location, along with being a leading conference venue, all set in spectacular and extensive grounds with 414 bedrooms. Our leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool and gym, along with squash and tennis courts open to all of our guests aged 2-12. During the holidays, The Beaumont Bears Club offers a wide range of facilities ideal for helping to keep the kids entertained; a movie room, indoor activity room, outdoor adventure play area, and much more. The Restaurant offers an extensive buffet or A La Carte Menu and we also have the Tempus Bar & Grill which is open daily from 12pm offering a more casual dining experience. Located just 3 miles from Windsor Castle with Wentworth, Legoland, Thorpe Park and Ascot all under 15 minutes away. The M25, M4 and M3 motorways are within easy reach, London can be accessed by train within 20 minutes with the nearest train station is 5 minutes away. Heathrow Airport is only 15 minutes away by car, Gatwick Airport can also reached within 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your De Vere Beaumont Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Hotel Old Windsor
Beaumont Hotel Old Windsor
Beaumont House Windsor
De Vere Beaumont Estate Old Windsor, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing