We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Vere Beaumont Estate
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Old Windsor
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

I rarely write reviews, but felt I had to redress the balance of the rather moany reviewiers rating it as adequate or less. I found the hotel to be significantly better than I expected and had a very pleasant stay.

The staff were very friendly and courteous, and the breakfast was superb - a great buffet selection, nicely laid out and well cooked, with plenty for everyone.

The room was well-appointed and fitted us nicely (2 adults and 2 kids). The bed was very comfortable and we had a good sleep. Very little noise from other rooms etc.

Granted, this is a busy hotel, especially with the Legoland deal which I am sure accounted for around 80% of the visitors. And yes it's a very big place, full of kids and the general hubbub that goes with them. But all things considered I think they do a great job and I would certainly be happy to go back there again on my next trip to the land of Lego.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaumontHotel, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Beaumont estate following your stay with us.

It was a delight to read your lovely comments about our staff and how courteous you found them
I was also pleased your room was well appointed and comfortable
I was pleased you decided to write a review based on your experience with us and how much you enjoyed it
I look forward to you returning in the future.

Kind Regards

Tracey Campbell= Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    499
    904
    921
    678
    512
See reviews for
1,181
911
48
770
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (948)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at Beaumont estate for a wedding of a friend. The venue is beautiful. The reception in the chapel room was really impressive. Unfortunately that was the extent of the positive for the weekend. They did not have the room we booked when we arrived. We signed up for an upgrade on line in advance but it was not guaranteed which we were fine that it was not available. The clerk wanted to give us a bigger room which I declined several times but he insisted. We were given a disabled room. For a six foot man the low sink and fittings not what we wanted. We asked to change rooms and the front desk said they would and were to call us back. No return call and no new room. The lift also didn't work in the way to our room. It wouldn't stop on the first floor. So we had to go to the second and the walk down the stairs. With all out luggage was annoying. We went to the bar for dinner. Waitress took our order and repeated it back ( I remember it because I remembered thinking "She's good" (having been a server myself and it's not easy) My burger came out and no pizza for husband. They forgot to make it. By the time his came out (freshly made so it tasted good) I was done with my dinner. The wifi was spotty thru the hotel. Breakfast at buffet on the Saturday was fair but took 3 requests to get a carafe of coffee and similar for a jug of water. The girls were run off their feet and working randomly at all different tables so service spotty. They gave us £50 off our first night there (we were there two nights) which was appreciated. But do not be fooled by the website - it looks fabulous, but essentially a motel on beautiful grounds and good location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmcinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaumontHotel, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for posting your review of the hotel and I am disappointed that you encourtered short comings with our service.

I was delighted that any problems you experienced were dealt with and resolved to your satisfaction.

Thank you once again for sharing your feed back with us.

Kind Regards

Tracey Campbell- Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Old Windsor hotels

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Beautiful estate but small bedrooms and inadequate restaurant facilities. We stayed 3 nights and ate out all three nights. If you enjoy buffet style meals in a very loud dis-organised atmosphere then you will be ok. We walked in and walked out. The breakfast was like this too. We had to wait 45 mins for an omelet because the chefs were too busy cooking for the buffet. Absolutely terrible service. No staff spoke English so that wasn't a great help. Awful.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaumontHotel, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank your for your recent feedback of our hotel here on Trip Advisor.

I apologise our hotel didn’t meet with you expectations when you recently visited us.

I was surprised our restaurant wasn’t suited to your needs, we have not only a fully stocked buffet , carvery and a la carte menu but also a tempus bar & grill that has a large ‘bar menu’ to choose from
Thank you again for your feedback we always find this a useful took to improve our product and service .

Kind Regards


Tracey Campbell- Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Very much enjoyed this hotel and its atmosphere - we had a room in the Old School part of the hotel, which was a lovely looking area of the hotel, though we had a bit of trouble finding it as we were actually pointed to the wrong floor and the wrong part of the hotel. The room was very comfortable and warm and it was spotless, the only real downside being the frosted glass on the bathroom door, felt a little awkward as it did not provide much privacy! Allowed you to relax in the room otherwise as the furnishings were very comfortable, you could make your own tea/coffee, and there was a decent TV. The food was lovely, though the dining room was not quite what we expected - it was quite alike to a food hall, though the food itself was lovely, it was quite loud and busy, unexpected as you had to reserve a table. The service in the dining hall and bar were almost flawless, felt welcomed and comfortable. The check-in desk service wasn't quite up to this standard due to our experience of having to spend about 20 minutes finding out we'd been sent to the wrong section of the hotel! The breakfast we found more than satisfactory - lots of choice, hot or cold, and again you were looked after well by the staff.
The hotel is situated in Old Windsor, relatively close to attractions such as Legoland, Windsor, and Windsor Castle, so you don't have to go out of your way to find something to do during the day.
Overall a very pleasant stay, with slight room for improvement.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aerythrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaumontHotel, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you for your recent review of Beaumont Estate following a recent stay with us.

I was delighted you had a very enjoyable stay with us and our hotel exceeded your expectations.

I apologise you had a few small problems on check in, but I was pleased to read that these were quickly resolved for you.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.

Kind regards

Tracey Campbell
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

I stayed here for a company meeting and was somewhat underwhelmed by the experience. The hotel is a sprawling mixture of blocks around a old building core. The decor in the public areas and function rooms is modern and what one would expect for such a venue. Getting around, however, involved quite a route march.
My room was modern and well furnished. There was, however, three or four damp spots in the plaster above the windows, suggestive of a leak.
The chairs and bed were comfortable and the linen clean.
The bathroom, whilst modern, was very pokey. They could easily have taken a little more off the room area to increase the bathroom. The shower in the morning had to be run at full force for in excess of 3-4 minutes before there was evidence of any hot water.
The proximity to the Heathrow flight path was for me was a problem. Flights started at 0600 and finished at 2330. They disturbed my sleep.
On the second night other guests were very rowdy beneath my window and still going strong at 0230! The staff seemed unwiling to deal with the problem until a number of complaints had been made. So if you are part of a company event and used to staying up late then you might not mind. If however you are staying as a 'normal' guest have alook at how many companies are booked in.
Having arrived to a wonderful surrounding parkland and a large country house feel to the place the overall experience was rather disappointing.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room in the main building that over looks the patio area. Alternatively ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanSevenoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaumontHotel, Guest Relations Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you for posting you review of our Hotel following a recent stay with us, I was saddened to he you were disappointed and we didn’t meet with your expectations.

I apologise that the Airport noise disturbed you along with some guests as you have mentioned in your review.

I have shared your experiences with our Management teams and I once again would like to thank you for your feedback

Kind Regards

Tracey Campbell
Guest Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

My wife booked a deluxe room as a surprise for my birthday, deluxe it was not. It was tiny, had old single glazed sash windows ( not good considering the proximity to Heathrow's flight path). There were no "comfy chairs", the bathroom had a vaguely frosted glass door that left nothing to the imagination, the only way that we could make tea was to put the tea tray on the floor as the lead on the kettle was very short and the only available power points were at skirting board height. Don't be fooled by the photos of the White House you won't get a room there it seems to be only for wedding and corporate use. Of the four bars in the hotel only one was available for residents use, the staff were fine but the drinks on offer were very limited, a four star hotel that doesn't do cocktails! The only positive things that I can say about this place is that the staff were very good and if you have kids and can get the Legoland deal you might be alright.
Four star it ain't, I would not recommend this hotel at all especially at the prices they charge for the "deluxe" rooms.

Room Tip: We had room 76 Old School definitely not my idea of deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaumontHotel, General Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of Beaumont Estate and I was disappointed that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay.

Our Deluxe rooms are located in the Old School, which dates back to the 17th century, sadly planning constraints did not allow us to significantly alter the room sizes or glazing as the building is steeped in history and had to be maintained in as much of an original state as possible, and I apologise if this room was not to your liking.

We have only one public bar at the hotel called the Tempus bar, so I am unsure of which other bars you are refering too? On occasion we do have the option to open an additional bar in the Hanover lounge, however this is predominately used in conjunction with a corporate event, and is not a public bar.

I am pleased to see that you found our staff to be good and that this was a positive from your stay.

Thank you once again for your comments.

Kind regards

Peter Ingels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

A lovely hotel and after a lovely day at legoland was lovely to come here and relax. Room was quite small but adequate for what we wanted and breakfast was lovely too with plenty of choice. The only thing I would say is the dinner was very limited for choice and was very expensive. Overall a lovely relaxing stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brilliantJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeaumontHotel, General Manager at De Vere Beaumont Estate, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review Beaumont Estate following a recent stay.

I was delighted to see that you had a relaxing stay and enjoyed your time at the hotel, following a trip to Legoland.

I have shared your comments with the hotel team as we enjoy receiving positive feedback from guests who have stayed with us, and I have asked the Chef to review the menus in place so that a greater choice is available for future guests.

Thank you once again for your kind comments and we do hope you visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Peter Ingels
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Windsor
5.0 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
2.7 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
1.1 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.6 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.7 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Beaumont Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Beaumont Estate

Property: De Vere Beaumont Estate
Address: Beaumont Burfield Road, Old Windsor, Windsor SL4 2JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor > Old Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Old Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Beaumont Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In picturesque Windsor, lies the historic and unique Beaumont Estate: an inspirational estate offering a luxurious family hotel, a stunning wedding location, along with being a leading conference venue, all set in spectacular and extensive grounds with 414 bedrooms. Our leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool and gym, along with squash and tennis courts open to all of our guests aged 2-12. During the holidays, The Beaumont Bears Club offers a wide range of facilities ideal for helping to keep the kids entertained; a movie room, indoor activity room, outdoor adventure play area, and much more. The Restaurant offers an extensive buffet or A La Carte Menu and we also have the Tempus Bar & Grill which is open daily from 12pm offering a more casual dining experience. Located just 3 miles from Windsor Castle with Wentworth, Legoland, Thorpe Park and Ascot all under 15 minutes away. The M25, M4 and M3 motorways are within easy reach, London can be accessed by train within 20 minutes with the nearest train station is 5 minutes away. Heathrow Airport is only 15 minutes away by car, Gatwick Airport can also reached within 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Vere Beaumont Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Hotel Old Windsor
Beaumont Hotel Old Windsor
Beaumont House Windsor
De Vere Beaumont Estate Old Windsor, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing