We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Promised much, delivered little”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De Vere Beaumont Estate
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Old Windsor
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Promised much, delivered little”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed last week on a two-day family break to Legoland. At the risk of boring everyone who is reading the reviews of this hotel, I'm afraid I have to agree with the vast majority of what's already been written here. We were taken with the lovely grounds that greeted us on driving up to the hotel. Then we saw the blocks of Travelodge-style accommodation lurking round the corner. We were directed to the North block on checking in and wearily hiked along the miles of corridors that other reviewers have mentioned. The room itself was generally fine, it was clean and modern. There was some gaffer tape holding the bathroom door lock together. I would have thought it would be more thoughtful to replace the lock. My oldest son had a sofa bed which he found really uncomfortable. Our double bed wasn't much better. My youngest son, a toddler, had been off colour all day and we really had a job to keep him cool due to the hot weather and insufficient ventilation in the room. The fan provided wasn't good enough.
The evening meal was in a restaurant that we were packed into, sardine-like. We had the choice of a limited a la carte or an expensive buffet, we chose the latter. The children's food was the usual breaded options and I think it had been there a good while as it was like rubber. Needless to say, we didn't hang around too long and ate elsewhere on our second night. We had breakfast on our first morning in the same restaurant and the food was good. However, the second morning was a different story as we were herded to a conference room due to the restaurant being full and to say the whole set-up was badly organised is an understatement. There was a distinct feeling of being abandoned and just left to get on with it as there didn't seem to be any staff! There was very little clearing of tables, crockery and glassware kept on running out, and cereals and juices were not regularly replenished. We checked out, feeling annoyed with what we felt was the hotel's lack of desire to provide a comfortable, guest-oriented and value-for-money experience for all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    940
    953
    695
    534
See reviews for
1,217
952
52
796
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (983)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I stayed at the Beaumont Estate for one night for a wedding (we booked two rooms). We checked in on Saturday and after a 10 minute wait to pick up our keys, we then made our way to our room (we were not asked for help with our bags or told about breakfast). It was a very warm day so we were looking forward to a cool room with AC after a long drive. Therefore we were completely shocked when we walked in to find a baking room with only one small window and no AC. None of the rooms at this hotel have air conditioning and we were told that all the of the fans had already been handed out!

A word of warning most of the rooms in the 'old school' building are on two floors- the bed on the top floor and bathroom on the ground. These rooms are not suitable for the elderly or people who have trouble with stairs especially in the middle of the night when needing the toilet.

We then arrived back to our room at approx 9.30pm after dinner to find pounding base and extremely loud music. There was a wedding going and it literally felt like it was in the room next door. It was impossible to sleep in this room and we all had to be up extremely early the next day for the wedding. We were told by a security guard walking the corridors that this would go on til 1am. He was fully aware of the noise but did not seem to care. We immediately went to reception to complain and asked to moved rooms. We were told they were fully booked and all they could do was to ask the dj to turn the base down, but after 20 minutes of explaining the walls were physically shaking from the noise we were magically found two available rooms. We were told housekeeping would arrive with our new keys after a few minutes- of course we didn’t expect anything less when they did not turn up after 30 minutes. So we dragged all of our bags and tried to find our new rooms ourselves. By this time it was almost midnight. We finally found a member of staff who located our new rooms. This could be explained as a room worse than one you would find at a halls of residence. The bed could not fit two people, even though this was considered a 'double' room. It was extremely old and of course boiling hot!

I was so fed up by this point and decided that I may as well wait for the 1am wedding to end before making my way back to my old room. Albeit extremely hot but at least had a bed that we could rest our head for a few hours!

The service was completely unacceptable and the staff are utterly rude and showed a disgraceful attitude, not once apologising for the inconvenience caused. Completely ruined the wedding experience.

To all Brides wanting this as their wedding venue- a word of warning if you stay - your guests will leave feeling more tired and exhausted. Seriously consider this before booking this venue!!

I will never be coming back and would rather travel 2 hours by car then to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Old Windsor hotels

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I had to stay for professional reasons, I couldn't even concentrate since the room was very hot. No lifts to my room, so I had to carry alone my big luggage and go up the stairs in the heat. Bathroom is in poor condition. Nothing modern and a weird noise from the TV. Poor chair, slow non-free Internet. I definitely do not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel as part of a package deal with day trips to Legoland Windsor.
Arrival Fri 25th July pm - After a long tiring drive on a very hot sunny day we check in to two very hot interconnecting rooms, were we find a very small if it can be called double bed in one room and two single beds in the adjoining room. We look for the air conditioning controls as the temperature was unbareable but we soon discover there's NO AIR CON!! After requesting different rooms at reception were told the only rooms with air con are suites, all of which had been taken. So I asked for fans, wasn't offered them had to request them (customer service let down number one!) fans were delivered to our rooms whilst we went for a swim, in the very small swimming pool of which was cloudy and unattended. After our disappointing swimming experience we head to the restaurant for our evening meal, although we were shown to our table we were then left unattended for about ten minutes very thirsty and very hungry (customer service let down number two!). Finally getting the attention of a passing waitress who was ambling around doing nothing she explained the set up of food options available to us and took our drinks order. When a different waitress returned with our drinks my husbands drinks were wrong, rather than another long wait he just made do (customer service let down number three!). Once we'd finished our mains we then remember being told if the children would like ice cream to ask a waitress and they'd bring it to you, so on that note we grabbed the attention of another passing waitress requesting this option for the children two bowls of chocolate ice cream. A table behind us had been seated well after us had eaten their mains before us but had requested ice cream for their son after us however got served before us (customer service let down number four!) Finally finishing our dining experience we headed back to our sauna of a room and had a very uncomfortable nights sleep.
Sat 26th July am - breakfast wasn't too bad, good selection of food and drinks overall not bad.
Sat 26th July pm - another uncomfortable nights sleep still got fans in room going full power blowing hot air around the rooms.
Sun 27th July am - after checking in at the restaurant entrance we were taken to the conference suite which was located on the other side of the hotel so a long walk away, although I put my hand thro a cobweb on the window seal there the food selection again couldn't be faulted. Customer service wasn't great but we were attended to when needed.
Overall for what we paid for our stay and during and were expecting we were very very disappointed.

Room Tip: If your after a decent nights sleep on a hot evening book a suite as apparently their the only rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigger1983_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Attended a function last week. Overall a poor experience. Started at the bar, asked for a non lager style beer, answer we don't stock any. Could not believe the answer so scanned the shelves to find a bottled ale. Oh the barman said I did not know we sold those.
Then the reception, offered a glass of a sparkling wine. Asked what it was told champagne. It was obviously not. So asked a second waiter to be given the same answer. Finally managed to see a bottle, no surprise Prosecco. Why mislead your customers.
At dinner asked if I could order a bottle of port, we don't sell port no call.
I could go on, the service was so unprofessional, staff serving by just dumping the plates etc.
I would not recommend this to any wedding parties, the grounds make for good photographs but it stops there

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 694mikeb694
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLASGOW
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at the Beaumont Estate from 21-23 July 2014. We booked online direct through the hotel's own site. As you arrive you can't help thinking that this hotel is pretty nice. Well kept lawns and grounds, a long sweeping tree lined drive to the main building and a tidy professional looking reception.

We thought that we had booked two nights dinner, bed and breakfast with LEGOLAND park tickets included. The receptionist told me that the room rate we were on, that this would not include entry to the park. No solution to resolve this was offered and we were left feeling a little disappointed. We decided however to put this behind us and try to make the best of our short break. We had just driven from Scotland and were hot and tired so we were hardly going to walk away.

Our room was in one of the more modern blocks at the rear of the site. The lighting in the corridor leading from the lift to the room was very poor, with at least half of the bulbs out (or deliberately switched off?), whatever the reason the corridor was dark at all times). The room was very hot, and a small desktop fan was provided although a hotel of this apparent calibre might want to invest in air-conditioning. The beds were dreadful and our son had a Z-bed instead of what looks like a full size standard single bed on their website.

Dinner - Our room rate entitled us to either a limited a-la-carte menu, or the buffet. We are not terribly keen on buffet food, but the other menu offered to us was even less appealing. Children could choose from fish, chicken nuggets or spaghetti bolognaise. Adults had a choice of chicken with olives, salmon or vegetarian curry. There was a carvery offering roast beef with Yorkshire pudding, and ham but our server omitted to tell us about that and we only found out about it as we left. Sweet was cheesecake, different types, but only cheesecake all the same... not even ice cream for the kids. When we left, we asked one of the staff for our drinks bill...she did not understand us and had to ask someone else with a slightly better grasp of English to help us out.

We decided after dinner to retire to our room. There was a TV although the channel choice was poor when you consider that Freeview costs nothing, we had to make to with BBC1,BBC2,(either CBBC or CBeebies),ITV,C4,E4,ITV4...odd? Ninety minutes into our sleep our son threw up...chicken nuggets everywhere. This was not a nice start to our short break, and a suspicion that perhaps the nuggets were not cooked properly or re-heated.

Breakfast the following morning. We queued for quite a while to be told that the restaurant was full and we would have to take our breakfast in the Balmoral
suite which was basically a conference facility outside the main reception. All considered we probably had a more pleasant breakfast than our fellow guests in the main restaurant but the cooked food was quite cool. After breakfast we went back up to the room to get organised for our day at LEGOLAND. We had no water whatsoever (WC, sink, shower). I went to report it to reception where I found a frazzled receptionist taking call after call on the same issue. The other receptionist told us that they were "working on it".

We enjoyed our day at the theme park but when we arrived back at Beaumont Estate we decided that, after last night's dinner, despite being paid for, we would dine elsewhere. There is a Harvester Restaurant about 10 minutes walk from the hotel. If you go to this hotel, take room only or B&B if you can. Harvester had a breakfast deal for a fiver and a meal deal for adults for a tenner; nothing posh but a damn sight better than the efforts offered on-site, where a pizza from the bar will set you back at least £12.00. We met at least 3 families in the Harvester who had been in the hotel restaurant the night before; they had paid for Dinner too but decided to give it a body-swerve. The hotel don't care...they've already got your money.

Our second, and thankfully final day passed without much incident although yet again the restaurant was full again at breakfast time, so it was back to the conference suite where the furniture was reconfigured so that 2-3 families didn't have to share a large circular conference table. Families who requested a highchair for their young children had a long wait while one was sourced from another dining area and delivered to them.

This place is basically a conference venue with hotel rooms. There were British Gas staff there, and a big chunk of the car park was reserved for Unilever who I assume were due to arrive soon, because that parking area was empty at all times.

If you have not yet booked, then don't, but if you have, be prepared, especially if you think you have booked LEGOLAND - check your reservation to make sure that it includes everything you expect it to.

Much of what's wrong with this place is the responsibility of the management, but it’s the staff on the ground bearing the brunt of the abuse from disgruntled guests. Beaumont Estate is poorly run. They are fleecing hard working families day in and day out and not addressing comments that are being made over and over again. If the management had any respect for the people who pay their wages they might pull their finger out and make the many necessary improvements.

I always like to leave constructive comment on Trip advisor when I can, because there is nothing worse than reading ramblings from professional grumps, but this place really is as poor as everyone says. I can resonate with almost everything other people say who stayed there at the same time as me and my family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GlasgowAlly72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed here in the middle of a two day legoland visit. the hotel was by far our best buy. the inter connecting rooms were perfect for our family :) was so hot, could have done with air con and a fridge. Was very quiet, and out own door onto a green great. Breakfast was lovely

Room Tip: inter connecting rooms are great for families with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shoestringmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Windsor
2.7 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
5.0 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,219 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.7 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Vere Beaumont Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Vere Beaumont Estate

Property: De Vere Beaumont Estate
Address: Beaumont Burfield Road, Old Windsor, Windsor SL4 2JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor > Old Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Old Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — De Vere Beaumont Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In picturesque Windsor, lies the historic and unique Beaumont Estate: an inspirational estate offering a luxurious family hotel, a stunning wedding location, along with being a leading conference venue, all set in spectacular and extensive grounds with 414 bedrooms. Our leisure facilities include an indoor swimming pool and gym, along with squash and tennis courts open to all of our guests aged 2-12. During the holidays, The Beaumont Bears Club offers a wide range of facilities ideal for helping to keep the kids entertained; a movie room, indoor activity room, outdoor adventure play area, and much more. The Restaurant offers an extensive buffet or A La Carte Menu and we also have the Tempus Bar & Grill which is open daily from 12pm offering a more casual dining experience. Located just 3 miles from Windsor Castle with Wentworth, Legoland, Thorpe Park and Ascot all under 15 minutes away. The M25, M4 and M3 motorways are within easy reach, London can be accessed by train within 20 minutes with the nearest train station is 5 minutes away. Heathrow Airport is only 15 minutes away by car, Gatwick Airport can also reached within 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your De Vere Beaumont Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaumont House Hotel Old Windsor
Beaumont Hotel Old Windsor
Beaumont House Windsor
De Vere Beaumont Estate Old Windsor, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing