We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegant but a bit stuffy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tylney Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tylney Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rotherwick
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Elegant but a bit stuffy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

This hotel and spa could pass as a film set for a period drama, certainly your arrival fills you with promise, as you drive up the long sweeping driveway, it delivers you to the door of a charming and elegant hotel. Staff are polite and courteous, and we were taken straight up to our room (in the main house).

Our room was extremely spacious, made up of two rooms, a large living area and a bedroom with ensuite. There were plentiful toiletries to chuck into the jacuzzi bath and lovely bathrobes and slippers to sink into.

Pity the room decor matches the overall impression of this place - a bit old fashioned and rather stuffy. it might go down well with the retired golf set (who were here in abundance) but it wasn't to our taste. You need to dress up for dinner (DJs for the men please) and high tea in the afternoon is so damn polite that you feel an urge to break the silence and cry out for everyone to loosen up.

Still, avoiding other people seemed to be the key, the grounds were nice enough, the spa and pool a bonus, especially when the children left, but overall I felt too young and scruffy for this place which did a neat trick of pulling off quiet disapproval with aplomb.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    721
    284
    117
    61
    51
See reviews for
253
577
17
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

I love going to Tylney Hall as it is such a perfect escape from London. Hugely convenient as it is only 1 hour away, yet seems like a million miles away. Over the years the hotel has become more relaxed, especially with regards to dress code - ie, no longer does a man have to wear a jacket or tie. On this occasion we just wanted to chill out so didn't have a formal dinner in the oak room, but enjoyed the room service/lounge menu which was a perfect blend of comfort food and classics. The only thing missing was a club sandwich which is what i would always want to eat when ordering room service! But the Buccleuch beef burger was a good substitute.... especially decadent when accompanied by a bottle of champagne!
It was too cold to enjoy the outdoor pool, but the indoor pool was quiet, and child free.
The service is attentive without being over the top, with genuine smiles and a warm and friendly welcome.
We love the lounge areas - sitting in squashy sofas with a Henricks and Tonic is the perfect start to the evening...
As for the grounds.. even though it had been raining, there are plenty of paths to wander around and explore. very cute to see the rabbits scampering about, and i'm just sad that we were too early to get the most out of the rhododendrons which are just coming into bloom.
Breakfast in the restaurant is pretty special looking out over the gardens and the pool... my tip here is to avoid the hot buffet and order your eggs and bacon a la carte - much nicer!
All in all, hugely relaxing....we love the refined and classic elegance of the hotel, without the airs and graces that other similar establishments are known for.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens... or book a suite as they are so spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank londonhotelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

We have been staying at Tylney Hall for 25 years, always at Christmas and at other times throughout the year. We and our family love it for its spacious and supremely comfortable rooms and public areas and its wonderful, unfailingly helpful and courteous staff. The grounds are beautiful, both pool areas are perfectly maintained and the views from many of the rooms stunning.
We love the food and have celebrated many anniversaries with our family and friends over the years. We always look forward to our next visit and have never been disappointed.
Stella and Leslie

Room Tip: All rooms in the main house are much bigger than most hotels. Some of the courtyard rooms are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stella b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

Thank you to everyone, we had an absolutely terrific time, as always the staff were very attentive and efficient, our room was beautiful, our breakfasts and dinners in the Oak Room superb, and the grounds looked just lovely.

Another truly memorable experience at Tylney.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank c_knight2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We have just returned from our weekend stay at Tylney Hall where in fact we had our wedding reception 25 years ago.
The staff from when you arrive to the minute you leave are polite, attentive and go out of their way to ensure your stay is memorable.
Our room was wonderful and very comfortable with all the little extras that make it special.
The evening meal in the Oak Room was of such a high standard along with the staff who served us.
Although the weather prevented us going for a walk in the expansive gardens this did not spoil the weekend, in fact we will return shortly where we will make make a point of enjoying the grounds. Mr and Mrs M

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

This was a return visit to a gem in the Hampshire countryside. Tylney Hall is grand in all the best ways and it is so so easy to immerse yourself in both the immaculate surroundings whilst at the same time enjoying the attentiveness but unobtrusiveness of the staff. As always the dining experience is of the highest quality and excellent value for money. My wife and I would not hesitate in recommending this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheVeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We had rather expected Tylney to be a bit grand - it was in all the best ways. This huge hotel manages to be all things to all people, by dint of a high staffing ratio and spacious, flexible reception areas, and grounds. Our 'standard' room was very generous and comfortable, with views of a garden.
We did not eat in the main diing room, which was always most beautiflully laid, and instead opted for lighter lounge food. Whilst we were having a relaxed comfortable meal with wonderful service, some other guests dressed to the nines and ate in high style. Across the lounge from us a couple were deeply into their kindles. All of us were happy and had our own space.
The grounds surrounding the house were immaculately laid out and maintained and rather like the interior, provided endless possibilities for formality or informality.
The service was almost faultless and we had very helpful support from almost everyone when our car died on us and we had to get into London. (Sadly a couple of girls in reception did not quite make the grade) - but overall, it was great. We were very happy, and everyone else must have been too, as we realised we had not heard a single mobile phone!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near to the reception rooms if you lack mobility. Some of the rooms are a long way aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gertrude40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherwick
4.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
9.9 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
9.9 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 8 in Farnborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
1.2 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Hampshire Court Hotel - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tylney Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tylney Hall

Property: Tylney Hall
Address: Tylney Hall, Rotherwick, Hook RG27 9AZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hook > Rotherwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rotherwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tylney Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Tylney Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tylney Hall Rotherwick
Tylney Hall Hotel Rotherwick
Tylney Hall Hampshire/Hook - Rotherwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing