We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, amazing, luxurious”
Review of Tylney Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tylney Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rotherwick
Certificate of Excellence
Shepperton
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful, amazing, luxurious”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We stayed at Tylney Hall this weekend as a short honeymoon following our recent wedding. We had a suite - room 27 which was lovely and spacious, very clean and very comfortable. The staff at Tylney can't do enough for you and the food and drinks are just something else. All in all we had a truly amazing couple of nights away relaxing in this beautiful hotel. Would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beanie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    748
    296
    125
    66
    51
See reviews for
263
602
17
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

I booked the luxury Spa break for me and my sister, we were expecting peace and tranquility in a beautiful hotel. unfortunately what we got was more like being at butlins with children jumping and diving in the pool. The promises made on the website where not being fulfilled. If you want a Spa Break go to Nirvana. It was a shame as the oak room restaurant and food was superb. I wrote to the hotel and the reply back was we all need to be tolerant of each other!! They did not say that on the website.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EGGAHEAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We recently decided to stay at Tylney Hall for a three night stay having been really impressed by a meal we had in the Oakroom restaurant last year when we stayed at the nearby Four Seasons Spa hotel.

Our recent stay did not disappoint. The service from the point we arrived was very attentive. The staff were straight at our car ready to take our bags. Things just got better from there. The room we had was very comfortable indeed and as good as many of the 5 star hotels we have stayed in. The little extras in the room (chocolates and fresh fruit) just add that little bit that you get in hotels where you pay much more to stay.

The grounds to the hotel are nothing short of amazing. The landscaping is fantastic. You can easily lose a few hours walking slowly around the gardens taking in everything.

The main house itself is most definitely 5 star. Very comfortable and relaxing lounge areas with great coctails. We ate again at the Oakroom restaurant and the food was as excellent as it was then.

The only reason we can see why Tylney isn't 5 star is that the Spa, Gym and recreational facilities are probably not as extensive but still perfectly adequate.

I would recommend staying at Tylney Hall to anyone. We will definitely being going back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Stayed at Tylney Hall in May 2012 with my sister, daughter and niece and it couldn't have been better. We chose the 'girlie weekend' package which included pink champage, chocolates, chocolate dipped strawberries (best strawberries I have eaten for a very long time), DVD and selection of chick flicks and 1 spa treatment each. They were really helpful when I booked and offered us connecting rooms with a free upgrade for one of the rooms to an Executive. Both rooms were enormous and luxurious.
The hotel and grounds are superb and we enjoyed a delicious lunch followed by a stroll through the gardens.
Our spa treatments were very good - although the treatment rooms and waiting area are a bit like a doctor's surgery. The changing rooms are very poor - small and cramped. The sauna is in the changing room so if you go as a couple you wouldn't be able to go together.The jacuzzi at the indoor pool wasn't working either. I have been told that they are planning a renovation of these and I think that the hotel will benefit greatly from this.
Even though it was overcast and drizzling we were able to enjoy the outpoor pool as it is heated. I would imagine in the sunshine it would be lovely to spend the day by its side.
We had a lovely evening meal in the restaurant. The atmosphere was great, added to by the pianist.
The beds, pillows and linen were extremely comfortable - no complaints from any of us!
Breakfast was as you would expect for a hotel of this standard - a good selecton of fruits, cereals (no coco-pops), juices, pastries and most of the usual for a full English breakfast (but no black pudding, hash browns or fried bread). I judge the standard by my soft poached egg, my sister on the smoked haddock - and they passed on both!
Only one small complaint - FREE WiFi should be available in all rooms. There is WiFi in the lounge area but I didn't manage to get logged on. I realise that its not easy in an historic building - but it is possible.
But all in all we had a wonderful 2 days, enjoyed the luxury and pampering and will definetely go back again.

Room Tip: Rooms 11 and 15 are connecting rooms - great for families or girlies!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisonville, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We recently had the opportunity to stay for three nights at this lovely estate hotel. Our business partner booked us in to this estate and we were amazed. This hotel is part of a group of European hotels in the Elite Hotel Group. (Definitely worth looking into).
The view is breathtaking as you arrive, either by day or night. It's like stepping back into history.
The grounds were amazingly landscaped. Over 60 acres of walking trails, lily ponds, rose gardens, redwood trees, fountains and more. A wonderful view at every turn! Acres of flora and fauna at its best. The main house itself is brilliant with comfortable lounges perfect for a proper English afternoon tea or business meetings.
We dined one evening in the restaurant, the food and service were amazing and the candlelit atmosphere was something you would never find in the states.
A short drive away, 10 minutes or so we also found local pubs that themselves were amazing. (Not typical pub fare, but much more upscale.)
Our room was a two story room, living area downstairs and bed and bathroom upstairs. Our room was located away from the main house, but next to the most amazing water lily pond in the world. Monet should have painted there instead!
The ducks on the pond were especially socialized and greeted us at our steps as we opened our doors each morning. The bunnies hopped out of the walkways each evening at dusk for a romp in the gardens as well.
If you are lucky enough to have a sunny day in England, the pool was amazing. I spent one day at the pool, had a wonderful lunch served poolside and napped the afternoon away.
(During our stay the indoor pool was also open but the whirlpool was not functioning.)
Have a chat with any member of the staff. They are all very knowledgeable about the history of the manor and all the different ways that this estate has been used; home,school, shipping company etc.
The staff can and will arrange special transportation for you if necessary.
Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We had rooms away from the main house by the lily pond. The view could not have been better. The r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart6988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fair Oak
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Booked a 'surprise' night for my partner's birthday. Loved every minute! As we drove up the drive, first impression was 'wow'- little bunny rabbits hopping around grounds & initial view of hotel was amazing. The staff ran out to take our bags before we even got to the entrance & very welcoming. Beautiful luxurious spacious room overlooking courtyard. Massive bed 6'6" very comfy but a top sheet would have been nice as it was very hot. Beautiful gardens & the ducks by the kitchen lake followed us-so cute. Great facilities; indoor/outdoor pools,spa,sauna,gym,beauty salon,etc...everything for relaxing. Dinner was fantastic; delicious food. loved being serenaded by pianist,excellent service & nice personal touch they piped happy birthday in chocolate on my partner's dessert plate whilst the pianist played happy birthday. I liked the fact mobile phones weren't allowed at dinner table. Breakfast choice was excellent! All the staff were very friendly & nothing was too much trouble. We didn't want to leave & can't wait to go back! Pleasantly surprised to receive an email from the general manager advising all our points from the feedback questionnaire had been noted; maintenance team notified & requests added on my 'profile' for any future stays - a first for me. A truly 5 star service! We would recommend a stay in this idyllic location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazzsuzuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary and had a truly lovely experience. Beautiful food, excellent and professional service and a nice touch to wish us happy anniversary in chocolate on our dessert plates. Our balloon flight over Hampshire was later on the second day, so we organised a late check-out and used the spa facilities. Bliss, bliss, bliss, oh and excellent value for money. We had the in-door pool mostly to ourselves and the air was heated so that you could recline and relax poolside. All staff are friendly, professional, with nothing too much trouble, always offering suggestions to make our stay even more perfect. Would have liked to have stayed longer

Room Tip: Ring reservations to discuss all the various options of rooms, even if you've booked online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idothisforajobtoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherwick
4.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
9.9 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,110 reviews
9.9 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,050 reviews
5.4 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#4 of 13 in Basingstoke
727 reviews
12.7 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tylney Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tylney Hall

Property: Tylney Hall
Address: Tylney Hall, Rotherwick, Hook RG27 9AZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hook > Rotherwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rotherwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tylney Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tylney Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tylney Hall Rotherwick
Tylney Hall Hotel Rotherwick
Tylney Hall Hampshire/Hook - Rotherwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing