We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”
Review of Tylney Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tylney Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rotherwick
Certificate of Excellence
Montefrio, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 via mobile

We used Tesco voucher for afternoon tea at Tylney Hall.

A very traditional tea served by friendly and helpful staff. The hotel has traditional feel about it, set in beautiful landscaped gardens and overlooking a small woodland lake.

There was a broad choice of Teas served and the sandwiches, cake and cones were fine. The tea pot was constantly topped u with fresh tea.

Altogether a nice relaxing afternoon and a great way of making ones Tesco shopping more exciting!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ianread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    760
    307
    133
    69
    55
See reviews for
273
616
18
175
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I stayed here with a girl friend for a one-night spa deal which we purchased on LastMinute.Com. It was so lovely and nobody judged us or gave us snooty looks for booking something on the cheap. We were treated just the same as any other guest. The drive into the grounds is breathtaking and it's like being at Downton Abbey or something. Staff were so helpful and friendly from the moment we came in - except the female waiters, they were a bit uptight. The male waiters were absolutely HILARIOUS. One of them could see we were gagging for a drink and when he took the order for our wine, as he walked away he said, "So that'll just be a bottle and two straws then, madam?" and we fell about laughing. You could spend hours walking around the grounds and the food was heavenly - lunch and dinner, that is. Breakfast was slightly school-dinner-ish. We came on a rare sunny weekend and swam in the outdoor pool which was incredible! The beds were gorgeous, bathroom was gorgeous. We had a little welcome card and a box of pralines and truffles and fruit to welcome us. We came here to get away from the stress of the every day and it completely achieved that. Not a single complaint to make. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed here back in February and didn't have the best experience. Our free upgraded room was nice and spacious and staff were very helpful. The hotel is set in lovely grounds and has an indoor and outdoor swimming pools. However the downside of our experience was eating in the fine dining restaurant on a Saturday evening when a wedding had taken place. We had booked a table for 8 pm and didn't get into the restaurant till 9.15 and was gone midnight by the time we had eaten. Our meal was substandard all round and felt the need to complain especially at the price of £125 for two people with two gin and tonics. We wrote and were offered to a return for a complimentary meal.

We returned for the meal in June and had a completely different experience. We went on a Friday evening and had a lovely relaxing meal with food served at the right pace. A nice touch was when they presented my desert which candles and Happy Birthday on it along with musical accompaniment. Tylney Hall definitely this time had the right ambiance and service you would expect from this type of hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid Saturday nights in the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webber5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
523 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We came here last year for our works Christmas party. The food was fantastic and the staff couldn't have been any nicer! The rooms are simply fantastic particularly those on the outside of the hotel in the gardens. The surroundings and grounds are beautiful. The building its self is a listed building and its like stepping back in time (In a good way).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbangsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We visited in June for a special birthday treat and we were very pleasantly surprised at the excellent facilities and friendly, efficient staff. The first view of the hotel from the drive is stunning and there are open views from the terrace at the back. The hotel is beautifully situated in lovely countryside and has extensive grounds where we enjoyed strolling in the water gardens and azalea parkland. We found the whole weekend very relaxing with excellent food and wines. We were lucky enough to have a suite in the garden rooms overlooking the orchard and were taken there in a very smart golf buggy just squeezing between the arches festooned with wisteria. We enjoyed the swimming pools and the lovely panelled dining room with beautifully dressed tables. We would certainly recommend this hotel and hope to return!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneEdden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I recently attended a friends wedding here in May and stayed for 2 nights. The drive up to the hotel is a long winding road, and the magnificent hotel that greets you at the top of the drive is breathtaking.

Check in was quick and efficient, and we were shown to our room, located just off the courtyard, by a helpful bell boy who showed us the facilities available on the walk to the room.

The room was spacious and clean, and the amenities available in the room were good. I was a little disappointed on initial inspection of the room, having been lucky enough to stay in other 5* rooms this didn't quite match up to the standard I was expecting, however it was comfortable, clean everything worked. The shower (overhead the bath) was powerful and very easy to use. I looked at some other rooms, where friends were staying and some were the same as ours, others had unique features such as chapel high ceilings and huge bathrooms with double sinks. I also got to see the main suite and it was HUGE! A beautiful four poster bed, bathroom that was the size of our whole room and a living room that overlooked the front of the hotel. It was a spectacular suite and quite unique.

A large group of us were eating outside of the hotel on the Friday evening and the concierge were very helpful in organising enough taxis for us at short notice.

The wedding we attended on the Saturday was run to perfection by the hotel and everyone had a great time.

The grounds to hotel are beautiful and even though we didn't get to see a lot of it, what we did see was very impressive, well looked after and manicured to perfection. We didn't use the indoor or outdoor pool, but I heard this was an excellent facility for those that did use it.

Breakfast (in bed) was a lovely treat, delivered on time and was hot and very tasty.

Overall this is a lovely hotel, with staff who were friendly and attentive and made sure everything ran smoothly for all guests. I would recommend it to people wanting understated luxury and would return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyjoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
480 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I've been here on several occasions over the years for work functions. The hotel and grounds are amazing - there are plenty of lovely places to walk and it is delightful in the summer. The public rooms are very comfortable and there is a lovely terrace overlooking lawns at the back of the main building. They do a good job for large functions - when I've been here the catering and organisation have always been excellent. The rooms, though, are starting to look tired and in need of refurbishment - on this occasion I noticed frayed carpets and a leaking shower in my room in the main building, which is not what you expect for a hotel in this price range. The bed wasn't very comfortable either - I had a very hard mattress. The furniture in my room felt dated and wasn't very useful - there was no desk for example. One other point to note is that some of the rooms are spread out in the grounds and some of them are quite a hike from the main building where the dining room and public rooms are. So lovely setting but the hotel itself could do with a refurb.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan8552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherwick
4.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
9.9 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,150 reviews
9.9 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,073 reviews
12.7 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tylney Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tylney Hall

Property: Tylney Hall
Address: Tylney Hall, Rotherwick, Hook RG27 9AZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hook > Rotherwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rotherwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tylney Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tylney Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tylney Hall Rotherwick
Tylney Hall Hotel Rotherwick
Tylney Hall Hampshire/Hook - Rotherwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing