We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit dated, but still nice” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tylney Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tylney Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rotherwick
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Bit dated, but still nice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Went with my wife for a weekend.
It is a very pretty and interesting property , although slightly dated.
There is a good spa within the hotel and we enjoyed a couple of lovely treatments.
Then had a good dinner - nice food in a somewhat sepulchral dining room .
Breakfasts were excellent too .
To sum up - nice place, not amazing but good.
Perhaps 3.5 stars out of 5.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank killieman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for taking time to comment following your recent stay and we are of course pleased to learn that overall your visit, and that the treatments in our Leisure Club along with breakfast you have rated as excellent.
We hope that you choose to visit us again in the not too distant future.

kind regards

Mark Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    284
    116
    61
    50
See reviews for
251
576
17
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

My sister and I stayed here recently and had the most wonderful time. The hotel is so beautiful and we were upgraded to a garden room with beautiful high ceilings and fresh fruit and chocolates on arrival. The only negative was that the bathroom wasn't as posh as I would have hoped! Still very nice though. 't then headed to the stunning library for a welcome drink. The only slight thing i would mention is that the spa is slightly small and the water temperature was a bit cool for our liking however we still had a great morning there. They did a very tasty lunch but the pool (we could choose where we ate) and the treatments we had were absolutely incredible. We both had facials and have never felt so relaxed. The girls made us feel very welcome and that part of the spa was absolutely perfect. We then enjoyed a lovely long walk around the stunning grounds exploring everywhere. We ate a 3 course meal in the Oak dining room. This was an amazing experience with great food, great service and a wonderful environment to eat in - very grand and beautifully lit. We then enjoyed a relaxing drink in the bar and enjoyed an excellent nights sleep. We woke up to breakfast in bed and couldn't have had a better trip away. The staff were all very welcoming, kind and courteous. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We loved the garden room as it had a beautiful view plus you got your own little area outside of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review and for the constructive nature of your positive comments. We are very pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff to be welcoming, kind and courteous in all areas of the hotel.
It is also pleasing to know that you enjoyed the gardens and that overall you would have no hesitation in recommending Tylney Hall Hotel.
Thank you for taking time to visit TripAdvisor and we hope that you visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Mark Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

First time visiting and it will not be our last. Stayed for 2 nights in beautiful and comfortable room overlooking walled garden with ducks to keep you company. The food and service in the formal Oaktree restaurant was impeccable, and wonderful food. The most outstanding element however are the staff, attentive and friendly, it makes all the difference, especially the trip in the golf cart to your room! Thanks to the staff again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliChas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Delighted to read your recent review and so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay so much, and that you found the food and service completely to your liking.
Your further comment regarding our attentive and friendly staff is very much appreciated and will be passed on to team members.
Thank you for taking time to feed back so positively and we hope that you will choose to visit us again in the not too distant future

Kind regards

Mark Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We just love this place, have been coming for a few years now, and feel as if we are 'coming home' every time we drive up. We have everything we could possibly need, in a lovely room, with wonderfully attentive staff who seen to get it ' just right'. A comfortable ambiance and delicious food, just a delightful place to stay to recharge the batteries. Thank you x

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunSeekerCamberley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Your review of "your favourite retreat" is very much appreciated, and we are delighted that you still find our facilities, standards of service and staff as you would hope.
Thank you for visiting us over the past couple of years and we look forward to welcoming you again hopefully during 2014 to recharge your batteries.

Kind regards
Mark Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

As the name suggests, this is a sprawling period premises that boasts a large number of bedrooms and facilities spread across the main building and a picturesque courtyard. I had a spacious room in the courtyard, with a great view overlooking the walking trail and river. There is a choice of formal dining in the restaurant, or food can easily be ordered in the lounge area if you want to be a bit more relaxed about dinner. The quality of food is very good. My only issue is with the Wi-FI offering. The free Wi-Fi is adequate, although it seemed to be intermittant in the Courtyard bedrooms (I don't know if it is any better in the main building). I decided to pay £5 for the higher speed Wi-Fi offering, but found that there was absolutely no difference in speed, which was really disappointing.

Room Tip: I'd probably recommend getting something in the main building, but the courtyard is ideal for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review about our bedrooms, quality of food, quality of service and so pleased that you found the choice of dining completely satisfactory.
I have taken on board your comments about the Wi-Fi speed and this will be followed through.
Thank you for taking time to visit TripAdvisor and we hope that you visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards
Mark Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Have just returned from a two night stay, for a family get together, on Friday evening, we finally gave up after waiting an hour for our meal in the restaurant, which wasn't very busy. The service wasn't much better for the Saturdy lunch.
It is a nice hotel, in nice settings, with plenty of staff, they just need to pickup a bit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank squashman16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Very sorry to read your recent review regarding our restaurant and in particular the experience of slow service for both dinner and lunch.
Please accept my most sincere apologies and as General Manager I do of course accept final accountability for the level of guest satisfaction.
Your feedback has been taken constructiively and will be bought to the attention of the restaurant team.
Thank you for taking time to visit TripAdvisor and once again please accept my apologies.

Kind regards

Mark Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We are both 60 this year and my husband's son & daughter in law sent us to Tylney Hall for the afternoon/evening as a surprise present. What bliss!!

On arrival, the concierge could see I had trouble walking (I am awaiting a knee operation), knew which suite we were booked in to, and immediately tried to change the room to one which was more accessible for me. We were offered a choice of 3 rooms, but plumped for the first one as this was old fashioned splendour at it's best! An ENORMOUS, comfortable bed, sofa, chairs, dining table - all very lovely!

The staff were wonderful, both courteous and kind; the food was SUPERB, and the pianist in the Oak Restaurant was the icing on the cake for us, as he played a wonderful selection of music which made us both feel the evening was very special for us.

The only downside was the weather and no one is to blame for that!! We weren't able to take advantage of the wonderful looking grounds, partly because of the weather and partly as I can't walk that far at the moment. However, when I get my other knee done, we are definitely going back for another night of luxury!

We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants some old fashioned splendour, coupled with wonderful food. You leave on a cloud, relaxed and replete.

However, we can't comment on prices as we weren't allowed to see the bills, so we've not rated them.

A fabulous time, and some wonderful memories! Thanks to all the staff .....and of course, Ben & Katie!!

Room Tip: The suites are absolutely lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
So glad that your landmark birthday celebration and stay was so much enjoyed and that we successfully changed your bedroom to one that was more accessible.
Very pleased also to learn that you found our staff to be both courteous and polite with the restaurant food, service and live piano music just as you hoped.
We hope that you to choose to return to the Hotel for future celebrations.

Kind regards
Mark Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherwick
4.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
9.9 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
9.9 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 8 in Farnborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
1.2 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
17.3 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tylney Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tylney Hall

Property: Tylney Hall
Address: Tylney Hall, Rotherwick, Hook RG27 9AZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hook > Rotherwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rotherwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tylney Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Tylney Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tylney Hall Rotherwick
Tylney Hall Hotel Rotherwick
Tylney Hall Hampshire/Hook - Rotherwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing