We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tylney Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tylney Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rotherwick
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We had a great time here. The grounds are absolutely beautiful, the staff really friendly and the rooms lovely. We ate in the restaurant both nights, and enjoyed the experience. Nice menu and really delicious food. I tried to book a spa treatment in advance, and was told it was fully booked, however, they squeezed me in for an eyebrow wax on the day, even though they were still fully booked. Very appreciated. We really can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaS470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for your positive comments. We were very pleased to learn that your recent stay with us was so much appreciated..
It is good to know that the restaurant food and service were thoroughly enjoyed and that we also managed to accommodate a treatment in the Salon despite being fully subscribed.
Thank you for taking time to review on TripAdvisor and we look forward to you returning in the near future.

Kind regards
Mark Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    284
    116
    61
    50
See reviews for
251
576
17
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had our wedding here in 2012 and have been coming back ever since. This hotel has an old fashioned elegance which has stuck to its values. The trend of boutique spa has been ignored along with trendy tasting menus and the hotel and dining is all the better for it. Our wedding in the Hampshire Suite was perfect, the service, the food, the setting, everything!
We now visit regularly for a weekend treat having discovered that we can bring our beloved Golden Retriever to stay in a Dog friendly cottage in the gardens. We love the grounds, the restaurant and the service. Nothing better than perusing the menu in the beautiful reception room with a chilled glass of champagne and nibbling on complimentary canapés. If you like stately homes with traditional elegance, old fashioned courtesy, beautiful grounds, good food and an extensive wine list then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Z417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Your review is a pleasure to read and I am so pleased to learn how much you appreciated our values of hospitality and service during your recent visit.
The comments about food and service are particularly well received and it is very good to know that you are still choosing to visit us following your wedding reception back in 2012.
We look forward to hopefully welcoming you both and your golden retriever back again.

Kind regards

Mark Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

It was recently my 60th birthday and I decided months ago to make it one to remember. We chose this venue as my daughter had her wedding reception there in 2009 so we knew it was first class. We were coming from Ireland and bringing 20 family, friends and neighbours so it had to be good for their sakes as well as ours.
We were not disappointed, the place is heavenly. We treated ourselves to the Duchess suite which comprised of a massive bedroom, lounge and huge bathroom. It was a lovely warm room and the bed and pillows were divine.
We had dinner the first night in the hotel restaurant and whilst the food was excellent the service was slow and we eventually had to ask for dessert. It was Easter and the hotel was extremely busy as they had arranged an Easter Egg hunt on Sunday for all the children staying.
The staff are all lovely and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. We had breakfast in our room the first morning as I wanted to spend as much time in it as possible, it was so luxurious. Although the beauty salon is now closed, Louise, the Events Co-ordinator recommended an outside hair and makeup person who was extremely good. We also had an outside company come in to do a Murder Mystery evening which was brilliant. It was an evening I shall remember for the rest of my life.

Room Tip: If you want to blow the budget then ask for the Duchess Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for the review, it certainly sounds as though you thoroughly enjoyed your birthday celebration and I sincerely hope that your guests will also have fond memories of the occasion.
I will pass on a copy of your comments to all team members as I know they will also be pleased to learn that the celebration was such a success.
Thank you for taking time to visit TrpAdvisor and we hope that you choose to visit us again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Mark Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, Hampshire
Level Contributor
146 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

A very nice traditional tea in the lounge of this elegant hotel. Very attentive staff, pleasant surroundings and very scrummy tea, scones, sandwiches and cakes. Nice grounds, although a bit wet underfoot on the day we went, but in warmer and drier months it would be a nice for a after tea walk. A fair price for a posh tea in a nice location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your kind feedback and I am delighted to read that you very much enjoyed your recent Afternoon Tea in our Lounge. Your kind comments will be passed on to the team members concerned.
Thank you for taking the time to visit TripAdvisor

Kind Regards
Mark Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were fortunate to stay at Tylney Hall for 3 days and 2 nights. We really were treated as if we were special. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were very welcoming yet professional .

The gardens are very special and well worth spending time walking around.

The hall and many buildings are in excellent condition and spotlessly clean .

Room Tip: The suites in one of the annexes was quiet and peaceful . A long walk ,though to the main building f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking time to visit TripAdvisor and we are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit and have described us as "Pampered Luxury". Your positive comments about the outstanding gardens and professional and welcoming staff are particularly pleasing.
We hope that you return again during the course of 2014.

Kind regards

Mark Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hotel is exactly the type of place foreign visitors expect of a traditional posh English hotel. A huge Victorian pile in acres of fabulously maintained gardens in the Hampshire countryside. From the long drive up through the gates you get the wow of the front of the hotel. Lots of wood panelling, mock gothic architecture and shoals of liveried staff darting about with trays artfully balanced on their fingertips. It's all packaged to make the guest feel very indulged and appreciated. Lots of space in the lounge and library bar to sit with a drink or high tea and read a complimentary magazine/newspaper or people watch. A spa, a gym, saunas in both male and female changing rooms, an indoor pool in a conservatory and a heated outdoor pool in a walled garden. The extensive grounds were a highlight. My only low points were the tired decor in our courtyard deluxe (?!?) room (74). I felt as if I were staying in a room at a nursing home! Decor my grandparents had in the 1980s, huge fusty rose chintz print curtains and coverlet, old dark wood furniture covered in white marks from cups and glasses, old pink carpet and two old drab olive green dralon sagging armchairs. Not conducive to a romantic weekend stay! Sadly and desperately in need of a makeover! The bathroom was in better shape with ample white fluffy towels and robes though. The bed was very comfortable?The second downside was the food in the restaurant. I booked a table for dinner and the service was impeccable and it's full-on silver domes and white starched napkins flourished onto your lap by attentive waiter stuff. The food however lets it down. I had soup which was very dull and thin and tasteless and cod which looked like a large dried up spring roll. There was not even a sauce to enliven it. It was encased in a hard dry layer of something breadcrumby and soggy and raw inside and was dreadful I took one bite and left it all. A man at the next table was facing the same dish and I did notice he did not seem at all impressed with it too! Accompanying it were three of the smallest new potatoes I have seen. And the side dish of "market vegetables" was a boring mix of hard carrot slices, rubbery green beans and a soggy floret of broccoli. Very unimaginative. I do so hate paying for food I could cook better myself! My partner had a much better meal of roast pork from the carving trolley. I couldn't stomach the idea of dessert after that so we didn't have any. As an anniversary dinner it was not a success! Breakfast was much better, lots of cereals and accompaniments and hot stuff on a buffet table. I would stay here again, in a better room and eat somewhere else or have the snack menus which looked good in the lounge and bar. There are so many staff members and all of them take their jobs very seriously and are very professional, they are excellent.

Room Tip: Don't get room 74 until it's had a refurb! The courtyard rooms are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your detailed review and for the constructive nature of your comments all of which have been passed on to our team members.
Please accept our apologies for the restaurant food at dinner not being to your liking but we are pleased to learn that breakfast was up to standard and that you found the staff throughout the Hotel to be profesional and excellent.
Room 74 is scheduled for refurbishment during 2014.
Thank you once again for taking time to visit TripAdvisor and we hope that you will choose to visit us again in the not too distant future

Kind regards

Mark Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Tylney as a regular some 3 years ago and they looked after my family when they occasionally came for weekends.

It is my daughter's favourite hotel - on earth. Back 3 years later and the same staff provide the same brilliant service.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you very much for your very positive comments concerning your return visit and of course we are delighted that after 3 years our staff are continuing to "make the difference".
Thank you so much for taking the time to visit TripAdvisor, a copy of your review will be passed on to team members.

Kind regards

Mark Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherwick
4.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
9.9 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
9.9 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 8 in Farnborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
1.2 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
17.3 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tylney Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tylney Hall

Property: Tylney Hall
Address: Tylney Hall, Rotherwick, Hook RG27 9AZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hook > Rotherwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rotherwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tylney Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Tylney Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tylney Hall Rotherwick
Tylney Hall Hotel Rotherwick
Tylney Hall Hampshire/Hook - Rotherwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing