We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Tylney Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tylney Hall
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rotherwick
Certificate of Excellence
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good but could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel recently to attend a wedding. Even though we got a 'reduced rate' of £180 for the room with breakfast we felt this was a little excessive as the room was very hot & there was no air conditioning in our room( a courtyard double). There was no mini bar in the room so no cold water which I find very unusual & the bathroom was miniscule. The safe didn't work although we didn't feel at risk leaving valuables in the room & finally the bed which we thought at first was great because it was so soft actually turned into a bit of a nightmare being by far & away the softest I have ever slept in & not giving either my wife or I a good nights sleep.
We went down to breakfast at 9.30 am to find a queue waiting to be seated! We were lucky as some family members had saved us 2 seats but I did pity those who had to wait. The breakfast was actually very good with individual orders for cooked food being taken & delivered very efficiently. As you will see from previous reviews I have written my wife & I stay in lots of hotels during a year. regrettably I cannot recommend this one.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoffrey2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you firstly for taking time to feed back your recent experience here at the Hotel and I am sorry that the bedroom standards of comfort did not meet your expectations.
We are in the process of a planned bedroom refurbishment program that will address such standards that you have highlighted.
I have also noted your comment about the breakfast queue. This does occasionally occur on evenings of very high occupancy as guests invariably come down to the restaurant between 9.00am and 10.00a.m. This inevitably does not guarantee a seat on demand, however we do manage this situation appropriately to minimise waiting times.
I am glad to hear that you found the breakfast very good and that the service was efficient.
Thank you for taking time to visit TripAdvisor

Kind regards

Mark Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    289
    118
    62
    51
See reviews for
254
583
17
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rothwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Only had 1 night stay at this hotel but it was such a lovely venue we will definitely return for a longer break. Beautiful hotel and very well kept gardens make you feel as though you are a house guest at one of the great house parties from the past. Breakfast was immense and varied. Afternoon tea was delightful in the italian lounge and dinner was lovely. Every member of staff we encountered was pleasant, courteous and efficient. Absolutely no complaints. We could easily have spent several more nights here and will definitely return. If I had to criticise anything it was the single sex saunas. If you are a couple its nice to relax together. Wouldn't let it put me off though.

Room Tip: We had room 124 which was on the far side of the walled garden. It meant a short walk through the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Your review has been a delight to read and I am so pleased that you found all of the Hotel facilities to your liking.
I will ensure that a copy of your review is passed on to team members and I hope that you will return for a longer break as indicated.
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments

Kind regards

Mark Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel I frequent often.

The atmosphere, ambience is pleasant for both business guests, friends and family.

The bedrooms a very varied. Food can be excellent at times.

The wine menu has never failed, a very good selection.

Room Tip: Take care choosing bedroom as there are good and excellent ones on offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FUNIntruder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your overall review and I am pleased to learn that you find the Hotel ambience pleasant for both business and leisure.
Your comments about the accommodation, food and wine have been duly noted.
Thank you for taking time to feed back and we look forward to welcoming you back to Tylney Hall in the near future.

Kind regards

Mark Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

This is a must! Impeccable service, beautiful surroundings, the most delicious tea, a truly perfect afternoon.

The staff are extremely courteous, the lounge is plush and comfortable and the choice and content on the cream tea is outstanding. A choice of tea and a glass of very fine champagne are the cherry on the top.

Thank you Tylney

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SneekyPeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Delighted to read that your Champagne Afternoon Tea was thoroughly enjoyed and that you found the Lounge comfortable with courteous and polite staff.
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments.

Kind regards

Mark Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Another great break at Tylney and on a glorious weekend weatherwise. Our package came with a Free room upgrade so we were given a room with our own patio and lovely garden views. This was perfect for our anniversary weekend as we ordered our breakfast to be delivered to the room for a small charge and had our anniversary breakfast outside in the sunshine. Lovely refurbished room with complimentary fruit and chocolates and bottle of wine upon arrival. We arrived early but our room was ready, so a nice early check-in of 11.30 am. You can hire bikes at no charge which we did and cycled through the golf course down to Rotherwick to the local pub. Our package also included a 3 course meal in the Oak Restaurant although this was slightly spoiled as the hotel had Taiwan diplomats staying. By the time we were given the desert menu, all of the waiting staff had completely lost interest in us and were too busy being attentive with their diplomatic guests to ask us what we would like, so we left the restaurant at this point. Disappointing service considering this was probably our 10th visit to Tylney Hall. Apart from this, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvieSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
So pleased to learn that you had another enjoyable stay for your anniversary celebration and that you found our facilities very acceptable.
Sorry to learn however that dinner service in the restaurant was not in keeping with your normal experience, please accept my apologies and thank you for mentioning this point.This will be followed through with the restaurant team.
Glad to know that you appreciated the bedroom choice and that you enjoyed the room service breakfast in the sunshine.
Thank you for taking time to visit TripAdvisor and we hope that you choose to visit us again during the course of 2014.

Kind regards

Mark Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Visited the hotel for a champagne afternoon tea as we had a voucher received as a gift. After a pleasant walk in the gardens checked in for tea at the allotted time and were told that the voucher was only valid for the non champagne tea. sat down a little confused and then checked another copy of the voucher to find that I was correct. Spent about 15 minutes waiting for service and eventually ordered the champagne with a half hearted apology from the waiter. Waited another 20 minutes whilst a girl served everyone but us. Called her over and complained and she came back to say the waiter had forgotten!! Another 10 minutes elapsed and the champagne came with another half apology. Our actual tea arrived 65 minutes after we checked in. It was pleasant but the service had left a sour taste and the afternoon was spoilt.
We asked for the Duty Manager who apologised and said he would look into the matter and email us.
We are still waiting!!!
If this is the best our first class British hotels can offer God help us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 73GP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to review your afternoon tea experience and may I firstly offer my most sincere apologies.
There should certainly have not been any confusion regarding your gift voucher and I am genuinely sorry for the delay in service and lack of empathy from the members of staff you encountered.
I am particularly disappointed that you have not been contacted as promised by the Duty Manager. Your report has been followed through accordingly with the appropriate team members.
Thank you for taking time to constructively pass on your comments and once again please accept my most sincere apologies

Kind regards

Mark Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed at Tylney Hall for three days. We had a standard deluxe room which was Ok nothing special with not much of a view. The staffs were very good throughout our stay. The grounds were quite grand and beautiful. We dinned their on our last night and the service was very good as well as meal. The best part of the stay was relaxing on the patio with a cocktail after being out for the day. Nice time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucus82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, General Manager at Tylney Hall, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay and I am very pleased to learn that you enjoyed the food, the service and that you found the staff to be good throughout.
Your description of the gardens being grand and beautiful are very much appreciated .
I have noted your remark about the standard deluxe room and should you choose to return on a future occasion may I suggest that you request a room with a view.
Sorry that this did not quite match your expectations.
Thank you for taking time to review with TripAdvisor

Kind regards

Mark Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rotherwick
4.4 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
9.9 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
9.9 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 8 in Farnborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
1.2 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
Audleys Wood Hotel
Audleys Wood Hotel
#4 of 13 in Basingstoke
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tylney Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tylney Hall

Property: Tylney Hall
Address: Tylney Hall, Rotherwick, Hook RG27 9AZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hook > Rotherwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rotherwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tylney Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tylney Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tylney Hall Rotherwick
Tylney Hall Hotel Rotherwick
Tylney Hall Hampshire/Hook - Rotherwick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing