We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eXCELLENT PUB FOOD”
Review of The Falcon Inn

The Falcon Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Rotherwick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Beautiful village pub in the Hampshire countryside. Serving well kept real ales, interesting freshly prepared and locally sourced food. Whether your visit is just for leisure, business or a special occasion we are sure you'll find what you're looking for. Plenty of space for big parties and only a stones throw from the M3, Basingstoke, Reading, Hook business park and the beautiful Tylney hall. Large and peaceful beer garden - perfect for making the most of the sunshine. Child and dog friendly. Open from 9am for coffee, open all day and food served lunchtimes and evenings. Lee and the gang look forward to making you welcome.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“eXCELLENT PUB FOOD”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Have had some of the best food in this pub/restaurant. There is a small menu plus bar menu but have never been disappointed hence we have been back several times. Friendly staff great chef.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jopipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    74
    17
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely, Sunday roast at the Falcon Inn!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We really enjoyed our meal at the Falcon Inn, today.
The topside of beef and venison dinners were delicious. A great variety of vegetables and delicious jus on the beef. Very efficient and attentive staff and altogether, a great dining experience in a lovely pub with a friendly/relaxed atmosphere.
Well done, Lee and his staff.....we will definitely be back!
Love Chris,Jan,Dave and Joan.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Better Than The Usual 'Pub Grub'”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Although this is a essentially a pub in a fairly small village, it does have a restaurant as well as the option to eat in the bar area. On that basis, it can cater for either dining experience. The main difference to most other pubs I've visited is the menus choice and quality of food, both of which are very good. It's never overly busy,which is great if you are out with colleagues to enjoy a quiet evening or having a few drinks to wind down after a long day.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank MartScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Falcon revisited”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Have had some of the best food in this pub/restaurant. There is a small menu plus bar menu but have never been disappointed hence we have been back several times. Friendly staff great chef, you must try his deep fried poached eggs my husband loves them they are to die for likewise his homemade fish cakes.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Aimed at posh dining!”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We went for a light lunch.....only 3 sandwiches offered, the specials board £16 a meal, and all fish.

One of the people in our party had the Chicken Panzella salad. We asked the waitress what 'panzella' meant? "Its a tuscan salad".......not really understanding we asked again and the waitress got stroppy, raised her voice & said "as i said its a tuscan salad". A little shocked by this attitude!

Half a coke very reasonable at £1.60

Lovely setting, just a little expensive! Shame!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lje2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Falcon Inn also viewed

 
Hartley Wintney, Hook
Hook, Hampshire
 
Mapledurwell, Basingstoke
North Warnborough, Hook
 

Been to The Falcon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing