We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic wedding venue”
Review of Hill Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swanmore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hill Place
winchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic wedding venue”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We searched high and low for a wedding venue for our daughter when someone recommended Hill Place. We took the plunge, and could not have been happier with the choice. The house, garden and location speak for themselves ... For us they were Ideal. What only became clear when we got to know the couple and their wonderful staff was just how helpful they are. Rebecca, the land lady/manager really, really cares about the families who use it and goes the extra mile to make sure veryone gets what they need. She and husband Will work very well with the other contractors (eg marquees/caterers), which is an important factor. We could use their electricity, saving the need for an expensive and noisy generator. We asked to hire an extra room at short notice, and they declined to take payment even when we offered. Happy memories for the rest of our lives.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peppergrinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D, Owner at Hill Place, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Hill Place. We're absolutely delighted that you enjoyed Hill Place so much and very privileged that we can contribute to happy memories. Come back and visit us soon, even for tea and cake!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
Couples
0
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

A place that felt like home when there for an Easter weekend celebrating Easter, 3 40th birthdays and just family being together! The host's although family made us feel so welcome and their home is wonderful! Great wedding venue or a place to escape or simply a place to relax and take in the beautiful surroundings. We wish them every success. :)

Room Tip: Grandma's room with a lovely view out over the property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandR69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D, Owner at Hill Place, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you, Raewyn! Great to have everyone here and thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at Hill Place. Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Where to start! Hill Place is a gem of a find for all kinds of events from weddings to parties to any kind of gathering really.

So. . . what makes this place different? Well, in our case we were looking for a wedding venue and hunted high and low for something special. What we really wanted was somewhere that we could feel at home while having a luxurious feel, somewhere that was personal and, well, not like a normal venue! 'By 'normal' venue I mean somewhere that has staff that don't care, that treat customers like dirt, that close at 11pm, that are just impersonal.

Hill Place has a history, it is a magnificent family home of some scale, style and grace. The lovely owners inherited it a few years ago, fully furnished with really lovely pieces throughout and have basically lavished time and effort to create fully equipped house that retains all the charms of yesteryear, in the most beautiful countryside, and somewhere you can kick back, relax and soak up the atmosphere. Its a real home for real people - not swanky, just luxurious.

If you want to be left alone. . . that's OK. If you want to have staff pamper you, that can be arranged. If you want to have some guests camp in the field next door that's fine too. If you want caterers in, they have the best on tap. If you want to cook for yourself and guests, the kitchen is well equipped. If you want to read, chill by a fire, whatever - the place is yours, just as if you owned it yourself. And THAT is the key to Hill Place, for a day, a weekend, or maybe a week you can play lord of the manor in the most delightful setting.

Houses like this are more than rare and you will be lucky to find Hill Place available, but believe me, you will not be disappointed. We were lucky - we booked Hill Place for a whole weekend and had a wedding cum House Party. Every single one of our guests were just blown away by the place and we had the time of our lives. . . in all the hundreds of venues we have visited in the past, and over a long career of partying, Hill Place comes up top of the pile.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve-n-Jen-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D, Owner at Hill Place, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We are, of course, utterly delighted that you enjoyed your time at Hill Place and so pleased that it comes 'top of your pile'! We always describe it as a private home that happens to hire out so it is truly unique. We very much hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Went here last weekend for a fantastic wedding. I can't rate the facilities as we camped in the grounds but I did sleep well and there were showers in the house for the wedding guest overspill to use. One morning I woke early I crept into the drawing room and lay on the day bed to have a read. I looked out the window and saw the horses and sheep and beautiful countryside and decided i could get quite used to this sort of life! Staff were brilliant, food surroundings all great. The owners left us too it which for a magnificent stately home was very trusting, as we basically took over. At one point i think the owner of Hill Place came in for a dance. Its booked up for a year in advance so if you want to get married somewhere as amazing as this you are going to have to wait.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vintagegirl34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D, Owner at Hill Place, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Thank you for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Hill Place. We think it's a very special place too and love letting others enjoy it as well. We hope that we can welcome you back in the future. (P.S. it was indeed the owner having a dance - the music was too good!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Went to a lovely wedding at Hill Place on 23rd Feb. Perfect for a small, intimate gathering for family and friends. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The whole venue could have been a little warmer on arrival, it was freezing outside and threatening snow showers yet no fires (log) were lit on arrival of guests. I noticed fires were lit whilst guests were having lunch but it was absolutely freezing for the actual ceremony. If it were not for this it would have been perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandieH27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca D, Owner at Hill Place, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
We are delighted that Hill Place made a good impression, and that you had a lovely and enjoyable day here.

The fires are always lit on cold days for guests' arrival, as they were for your visit. But in this instance took a little time to get going due to some damp logs, hence requiring some attention during the meal. And apologies for being cold during the ceremony itself - we were not aware that any guests were cold and would've attended to this immediately had we known.

We hope to welcome you back here very soon for another event here at Hill Place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We visited Hill Place for a wedding reception. The Building has been beautifully restored and is extremly old, as we discovered on the internet. The marque was at the back of the property, overlooking miles of countryside, sheep and horses,with plenty of photo opportunities . The facilities were very good and a lot of effort seemed to be put in place to make the grounds of the house a pleasure to be in. The Bride and Groom stayed overnight in a large room overlooking the same veiw. Wonderful !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Pompeychic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanmore
1.8 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
1,361 reviews
2.9 mi away
B+B Wickham
B+B Wickham
#1 of 1 in Wickham
394 reviews
2.1 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,013 reviews
4.7 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
1.8 mi away
The Roebuck Inn
The Roebuck Inn
#1 of 2 in Wickham
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Place

Property: Hill Place
Address: Hill Place Droxford Road, Swanmore, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Swanmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Swanmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hill Place is a beautiful Georgian villa located in the Meon Valley on the edge of the South Downs National Park. The house is a private family home run by the owners allowing for unrivaled flexibility in planning, organisation and implementation. From the moment of arriving at Hill Place, its combination of muted grandeur and homeliness are apparent. The striking views and surroundings complete the picture and guarantee a true country house experience. With four principal reception rooms, two secondary reception rooms, five bedrooms, kitchens, formal gardens and ample space for a marquee, Hill Place can accommodate large parties of up to 200 or small house parties of 10-12. A Wedding license for up to 60 people provides the ultimate spectrum of ceremonies, parties and accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hill Place Swanmore, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing