We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bartley Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cadnam
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We had an excellent lunch at this hotel - food was good - very friendly service - it was a pity about the dirty water jug, but they corrected this with no fuss. This Hotel has a lot of character excellent for touring the New Forest.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulsand186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    238
    99
    71
    38
See reviews for
256
348
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We have just returned from a celebration lunch for fourteen people and really enjoyed the experience at this beautiful Hotel on the edge of the Forest. We were greeted and welcomed, there was a lovely fire to sit around having our pre lunch drinks and the meal was delicious.It was an imaginative menu ,the main course was served very hot and the coffee came in individual jugs .The staff in the restaurant looked after us very well ,nothing was too much trouble, We will certainly return

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank WilliamB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We have just spent 2 days at the Bartley Lodge hotel and had a wonderful time. A big thank you goes to Nat who was excellent, nothing was too much trouble. Lovely food and surroundings and excellent service-Thank you to everyone from the Cleaners through to the Management. Hope to be there next year xxxx Mat and Ali Mutton

Room Tip: Take a torch if you decide to leave hotel in the evening on foot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

not stayed here for a night but was taken to the restaurant for lunch. absolutely delightful staff who were on hand to assist with anything. made the experience an enjoyable one with minimal distress. food was beautiful and well presented. service was exquisite

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhysss18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

A lovely country house hotel with fresh clean rooms. Excellent restaurant with a appetising seasonal menu. Fast friendly attentive service. The restaurant staff were really great with our 4 year old, nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyLuckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

The hotel is a beautiful building set in the lush surroundings of the New Forest. Upon turning into the long drive, a pony trotted up to greet us and I thought that our stay would be magical. Unfortunately it was quite average.

The room itself was okay - not very modern - but the decor matched the setting and the building itself. My problem was the thick layer of dust that could be found everywhere. Either they hadn't cleaned the room properly or nobody had been in that room for the last month.

Breakfast was awful. The food wasn't great and one morning they had run out of beans so they gave us something that the cook found in the back of the pantry. The beans were a greyish colour and didn't taste anything like beans so we didn't eat them. I do applaud the staff's efforts to appease us with the lack of beans, but gosh.

It wasn't all bad though...the pool was nice and the grounds were spectacular. The location is a convenient base to explore the New Forest but you may have better luck with one of their other three hotels.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrishLovesHabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bartley Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I will ensure they are forwarded to the Head Housekeeper and Head Chef so that further training can be implemented where required. I do hope you will consider visiting one of our hotels in the New Forest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We came across this Lodge by accident but what a beautiful place. We had a package deal with dinner & breakfast included. Not expecting very much for either we were very pleasantly surprised as both were excellent. Staff were so helpful. Our room was great very clean & tidy with beautiful views over the nearby New forest. Sadly we couldn't use any of the outdoor activities as it was raining so we will just have to come back another time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janet n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadnam
5.4 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 736 reviews
2.8 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
8.1 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
8.5 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
1.7 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bartley Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bartley Lodge Hotel

Property: Bartley Lodge Hotel
Address: Lyndhurst Road, Cadnam, New Forest SO40 2NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Cadnam
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cadnam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bartley Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bartley Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bartley Hotel Cadnam
Bartley Hotel Southampton
Bartley Lodge Hotel Cadnam, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing