We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Anniversary Ruined!!!!! Then promises since 6th August For a Refund never received!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cadnam
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wedding Anniversary Ruined!!!!! Then promises since 6th August For a Refund never received!!!!”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

If I summed up this over night stay in one word it would be 'disappointing'! It was meant to be a special over night stay for our 8th wedding anniversary and from the start to finish it was a disaster! When entering the hotel reception wasn't exactly welcoming rudely answering the phone in the middle of talking to us, very poor local information provided. Then once entering our room we found an unclean toilet with toilet remains, dirty bedding if you like other peoples pubic hairs on your bed sheets, a tissue box which was meant to be filled but empty, room furnishes unclean and damaged. We didn't want this to spoil our stay so we reported the uncleaned toilet at reception. We decided to eat out due to the restaurant unwilling to accommodate a gluten allergy which was a shame the point of staying in a hotel was to relax, eat and have a drink without needing one of us not able to drink due to driving to a restaurant. We were told when we would have the toilet cleaned for when we returned it wasn't and we reported it again for this still not to be corrected. The rest of the evening we walked round the lovely grounds and decided to have a drink once returning from our meal out in a local pub. This was bazar as the choice of alcohol and snacks was limited no wine, no crisps, ran out of beer!!! The next morning for breakfast the restaurant was dirty no clean tables to seat at and to make matter worse no tongs people handling grapes off the stems etc... very unhygienic. We decided we would go in the pool before leaving this was a mistake the pool was ok but the changing rooms were dirty and unclean toilets again plus the steam room hadn't been turned on plus once using there was a hole in the ceiling was falling apart with a water leak!!! The steam room hadn't been put out of order. Everything was reported when leaving we were informed by the manager that they couldn't refund us without the area manager she was away for two weeks however they could offer 10% off there and then and once she returned they would reimburse. My husband since then has written letters and phoned many a times and now it's December and no reimbursement!!! It now feels like they got us out of the way and forgotten about we would never return which is a big shame as grounds lovely and the manager originally said he was new and trying to solve all the on going present issues they were aware of!!!! Obviously not resolving that quickly!!!!

Room Tip: Don't go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bartley Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Thank you for your review. Further to the email sent via Trip Advisor, we look forward to hearing back from you as soon as possible so that we can resolve your issues mentioned in this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    361
    252
    107
    74
    41
See reviews for
277
373
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel is very nice, grounds great for a stroll. Nearby Winchester a small town for shopping and the Christmas market at the cathedral a must to visit. We found breakfast at the hotel whilst plentiful was not great quality and the wifi poor. Local restaurant Sir John Barleycorn superb. Would definitely visit this hotel again if I were in the area. Staff were so friendly & helpful.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeenge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We had an excellent lunch at this hotel - food was good - very friendly service - it was a pity about the dirty water jug, but they corrected this with no fuss. This Hotel has a lot of character excellent for touring the New Forest.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paulsand186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We have just returned from a celebration lunch for fourteen people and really enjoyed the experience at this beautiful Hotel on the edge of the Forest. We were greeted and welcomed, there was a lovely fire to sit around having our pre lunch drinks and the meal was delicious.It was an imaginative menu ,the main course was served very hot and the coffee came in individual jugs .The staff in the restaurant looked after us very well ,nothing was too much trouble, We will certainly return

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank WilliamB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We have just spent 2 days at the Bartley Lodge hotel and had a wonderful time. A big thank you goes to Nat who was excellent, nothing was too much trouble. Lovely food and surroundings and excellent service-Thank you to everyone from the Cleaners through to the Management. Hope to be there next year xxxx Mat and Ali Mutton

Room Tip: Take a torch if you decide to leave hotel in the evening on foot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ali M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

not stayed here for a night but was taken to the restaurant for lunch. absolutely delightful staff who were on hand to assist with anything. made the experience an enjoyable one with minimal distress. food was beautiful and well presented. service was exquisite

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhysss18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

A lovely country house hotel with fresh clean rooms. Excellent restaurant with a appetising seasonal menu. Fast friendly attentive service. The restaurant staff were really great with our 4 year old, nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyLuckman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadnam
2.8 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
818 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
787 reviews
8.0 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
685 reviews
9.6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
714 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bartley Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bartley Lodge Hotel

Property: Bartley Lodge Hotel
Address: Lyndhurst Road, Cadnam, New Forest SO40 2NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Cadnam
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cadnam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bartley Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Bartley Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bartley Hotel Cadnam
Bartley Hotel Southampton
Bartley Lodge Hotel Cadnam, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing