We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cadnam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

A little dated with tired rooms but excellent stay in good area. Stayed with partner and daughter. Breakfast was delicious with a reasonable amount on offer. Really friendly staff who were very helpful. Good location and also near pepper pig world!

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Natasha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

690 - 696 of 884 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

I am writing to thank personally Tom and his team for their welcoming and hospitable service during our stay. Tom greeted us on arrival and then served us promptly and excellently throughout our stay.

The room was well appointed and a good size to fit a cot in. We were warned there were weddings over the weekend so were expecting some noise disruption. As it turned out we were hardly disturbed at all.

The swimming pool was a nice to have for a toddler. The hotel food was pricey but very good. Overall, the stay was better than we expected.

Room Tip: Check in advance what functions are going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank robartes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is our 2nd time back and we like this hotel because it works for families and us (2 adults + kids, 7 & 5 in the bunks and a 2yr old in a travel cot.) It's literally a couple of miles from Peppa Pig world, our destination this time.

The pool Is really good, but your kids have to be competent swimmers to deal with the sloped floor. We were pleased to find that our room had aircon, as they can get very hot if you find yourself over the pool.

The only down side was the evening food. We upgraded our stay to include evening meal, which was very average, and particularly bland. In hindsight, we would have eaten out given the additional cost. Sadly we didn't really enjoy the meal either as our 2 year old had a tantrum and we had to abandon the table out of respect to other diners.

I also think the lady who did breakfast might need food hygiene training. We asked for the high chair we had been provided with, to be cleaned. She returned with a dry tea towel to try and scrape off dried food. Luckily a more helpful chap took it away and cleaned it properly in the kitchen after a further request.

Yes, we would return, and probably will (for a 3rd visit if they can accommodate 3 kids in one room), but we just hope we see better reviews of the food to convince us to dine in.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Sheepskull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bartley Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

I am delighted that you have returned for another stay at the Bartley Lodge Hotel and hope you had an enjoyable visit at Peppa Pig World! I am sorry you were disappointed by the evening meal and I will ensure your comments are forwarded to the Head Chef. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future as we do have rooms that can accommodate 3 children.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Spent an evening here.
On arrival at 4pm, Rooms were supposed to be available from 3, The room wasnt ready so were switched to a smaller one.

The bar for the evening was not staffed correctly, People were waiting up to 10 mins for someone to wonder past the bar to serve for a few mins and then bugger off again to do whatever.

the guy running the breakfast had a terrible attitude and was not trained for service in any way. They would take 3 seperate table's orders but food would arrive in drips and drabs. There was however plenty of stale cold toast to go around.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Everydaynormalbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bartley Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

I am sorry you were disappointed with various aspects of your stay at the Bartley Lodge Hotel, your comments have been passed to the general manger to action further, thank you for taking the time to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had our wedding reception here this weekend and it really is a beautiful hotel with great staff and a "can do" attitude!

They could not have been more helpful when organizing the evening and throughout the night the duty manager was on hand to check everyone was happy.

The room we stayed in was very clean, good size and nice view over the gardens.

Would recommend the hotel for anyone looking to stay in the forest.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrGreenHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Had a superb company function there last weekend. The conference facilities were very good and the hotel had arranged an afternoon team building exercise (Battlefield Live) with New Forest Activities which all staff were still talking about this morning! The private dining function was excellent and 95% of staff enjoyed their meal (which was an excellent percentage for a company function!).
Great place - good value (although could do with some cheaper house wines!!)

Room Tip: Superior rooms are massive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank batespaul01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived here as a family our son is 9 & a wheelchair user this was pointed out at time of booking along with the need for a separate single bed.
We was upset to learn they placed us on the 1st floor on the other side if the building it was 24 steps to get across we explained we wasn't able to get our son over to be told we have no other rooms and this is all we have!
Great customer service Bartley lodge!
We was offered the option of staff member to carry the wheelchair but without my son in it what good that was going to be god knows!
We had to carry him up the stairs without a wheelchair.
In our room we was given bunk beds which our daughter aged 3 barley stayed at the bottom bunk it had to stay on top bunk & my husband & son shared a double bed.
Breakfast I had to move chairs to maje room
For my son to sit we the table staff looked on in discuss to see why I was rearranging the furniture!!
I was extremely disappointed in the service & ability for staff to understand disabilities it was alfuw!
I'd never return to this hotel it's a disgrace!
Not wheelchair friendly & certainly staff could do with a lesson or two on how to break out of there snobby bubble!!

Stayed: April 2014
5  Thank bobospoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bartley Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

I am sorry to read of your disappointment experienced during your stay at the Bartley Lodge Hotel. This reservation was made via a 3rd party agent, and unfortunately we were not informed that your child was a wheelchair user or that an accessible room was required. We were not requested to supply an extra single bed either. Had these requests been made, we would have informed you of the options available to you. We do have a ground floor accessible room available at Bartley Lodge, but unfortunately it could not accommodate a family of four. The staff at the hotel were eager to assist your family in any way possible and I am sorry that they were unable to do any more.

I am disappointed to hear that you thought the staff were "looking on in disgust" as we are more than happy to accommodate wheelchairs in the dining room and I will ensure these comments are investigated further as this is not our usual level of service.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we appreciate guest feedback as it helps us to monitor our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cadnam
5.4 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
824 reviews
2.8 mi away
Forest Lodge Hotel
Forest Lodge Hotel
#4 of 8 in Lyndhurst
847 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
581 reviews
8.6 mi away
Moorhill House Hotel
Moorhill House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burley
714 reviews
8.0 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bartley Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bartley Lodge Hotel

Address: Lyndhurst Road, Cadnam, New Forest SO40 2NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Cadnam
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cadnam
Price Range: £77 - £174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bartley Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bartley Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bartley Hotel Cadnam
Bartley Hotel Southampton
Bartley Lodge Hotel Cadnam, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing