We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bartley Lodge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$295
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Rabbit(Lyndhurst)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$151
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ormonde House Hotel(Lyndhurst)(Great Value!)
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lime Wood Hotel(Lyndhurst)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (944)
Filter reviews
945 results
Traveller rating
405
282
127
87
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
405
282
127
87
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelswimming poolafternoon teanew forestshort breakred lettercakeslovely settingpeppa pig worldevening mealrelaxing staymember of staffbeautiful groundsthe general managerwedding guestswedding venuewedding breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
712 - 717 of 945 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at this wonderful hotel in early August.The staff were spectacularly good, helpful, friendly and courteous.The breakfasts are delicious, we ate dinner in the hotel one evening and it was excellent also. The room was beautifully fitted and the hotel is set in a picturesque part of the New Forest. Overall a wonderful experience from start to finish.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sasha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed last saturday for a night away with my wife. Even with a wedding on, the attention to other guests staying at the hotel was first class from all the staff. Nothing was too much trouble!!
The private seating area for residents away from the wedding party was kept clean and tidy. The waitress delivered excellent service throughout our 3 course meal.The restaurant was busy but the presentation of the food and service was outstanding. I had the lamb as main and would definately choose this again. First class stay.Thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We had another lovely relaxing stay and with better weather we were able to enjoy a drink on the terrace in the beautiful grounds this hotel has to offer.
Our room was very well furnished and spotless with a very comfy bed.
The breakfast buffet had a good choice and was observed to be checked and re-stocked regularly and we enjoyed a very good evening meal in the restaurant on the first night of our stay.
The staff members we encountered were very attentive and helpful throughout our stay.
We look forward to yet another return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Impressed70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The hotel itself is a lovely building and in a good location for exploring the New Forest, despite a bit of road noise. However, the management really needs to invest some time in training their staff and improving the overall quality of the service for guests, which was pretty poor in a number of ways.

We found previous guests' clothes when we checked into our room (including a pair of pants in one of the drawers!) and the corporate function one afternoon involved electronic clay pigeon shooting in the hotel garden - the noise of which was really annoying, presumably for other guests as well as ourselves.

Service at dinner was almost 'Fawlty Towers' in terms of its quality and speed and we found ourselves fetching our own drinks from the bar. Breakfast was very mediocre, too, and some of the staff seemed to be required to multi-task (unsuccessfully) across restaurant service, reception and the bar.

The staff were generally very young and well-meaning, and may have been short-staffed on the two nights we were there, but there really needs to be some time and money spent in giving them the training they need to deliver good service.

We don't consider ourselves particularly fussy people but, although we still enjoyed our break, Bartley Lodge was a bit of a disappointment.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DanJSenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bartley Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

I am sorry you had a disappointing stay at The Bartley Lodge Hotel. I will ensure the General Manager investigates your comments thoroughly regarding your feedback. We have recently employed a new Restaurant Manager, who will ensure that training is given to the staff in the dining room. The head housekeeper will investigate the dirty laundry that was left in the bedroom, I am sorry this was not removed before your arrival. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We last stayed at this hotel five years ago, & family members a few years ago. We were surprised at the difference in the service given. Whilst the staff were pleasant & apologetic for the failings, as per previous reviews nothing has been done to improve standards especially in the dining room. The room was clean & comfortable. The sauna was not working & appears to have not been for some time.
At dinner which was included in the price, we waited nearly an hour to be served with our starters, when they arrived they had got one order wrong. When my husband queried this he was asked which menu he had ordered from, he pointed his chosen dish out to the waiter & was told the kitchen was working from a different menu??? Rather then wait any longer my husband accepted the wrong dish. We had ordered drinks which did not arrive, when we asked for them we were told one of the wines was unavailable, the waiter seemed unsure of what was available. The main dishes arrived before the starter plates had been cleared. The staff apologised for the delays, they informed us that four wedding tastings were taking place that evening. The dining room was not full, so better staff training is obviously needed.
Having read previous reviews cooked breakfast was to order & not on the buffet. The food was ok but very small portions. No glasses or butter on the table. We had to return the tea & coffee as they were luke warm. The next pot of tea was hotter but I would think that they had not used boiling water. Trivial comments but it's the attention to detail that makes all the difference. On checking out we were asked if we enjoyed our stay, we did mention the problems in the dining room, & were told that they had a full report so let's hope improvements are made.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MarySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newforesthotels, Guest Relations Manager at Bartley Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at The Bartley Lodge Hotel. As you are aware from a previous visit this is not our usual level of service and I will ensure that the General Manager investigates your comments thoroughly. I do hope you will consider returning for another stay so we can renew your faith in Bartley Lodge Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews