We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but too noisy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Chanteclerc

Le Chanteclerc
Ranked #3 of 5 Restaurants in Cadnam
Price range: US$7 - US$31
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fordingbridge
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food but too noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

A small party of 4 - middle aged locals booked the Bistro. Its decor is spartan but OK, however, with a large party of ladies who were really enjoying a fun evening the noise level was unacceptable. We don't have hearing problems, but wished we did. The lack of soft furnishings to absorb the noise was evident - it may look trendy having tiled floors and no curtains and bare walls, but when will hotels and restaurants realise that it does not make for an easy atmosphere for the majority of the population. One only has to read other reviews to see that we are not alone in the view. I would be happy to go back to Le Chanteclerc, when they have put some carpet on the floor so that our evening wouldn't be ruined by other people making such a noise. I agree with other comment about the hostess - should greet customers with a smile - but I dont think she enjoys her job. However, the food was excellent - the mussels were great and the scallops really fantastic. My husband had the Dover Sole which he was warned were small. Well the fish was a really good size and was well cooked. 100% for food - 10% for ambiance.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    34
    11
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downton, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We've been visiting this restaurant for many years and are always assured of an excellent meal and attentive service. Small but constructive criticisms?The uncarpeted, uncurtained bistro is far too noisy for anyone with hearing problems and the otherwise attractive hostess should smile more often - she has much to be proud of in this wonderful culinary delight!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bramblers26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice French restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We visited here on a Sunday in December after reading trip advisor reviews of the restaurants near the hotel we were staying at in the new forest. On arrival it seemed liked we'd arrived at someone's house not a restaurant, it looked in need of some tlc. However it was quaint inside and the staff were friendly and polite. We went for the set menu, there was a good choice and the quality of food was good. One criticism would be it was quite oily. We would return but feel it could be so much more appealing.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tassia I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“A rewarding first visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Saturday evening with family in the restaurant. There is an area for pre-dinner drinks where you can order so that your food is virtually ready when you are shown to your table. Christmas menu excellent value for three courses including coffee. Sea bass recommended as is my crispy duck. As evening progressed the room became fuller but, because they don't cram tables into every space, you can still maintain a private atmosphere without having to shout. It was clear that a number of fellow diners had been there before and were known - always a good sign. As well as the restaurant, there is a separate (busy on the night) bistro offering its own menu. We will probably try it next time. Look online to compare menus. All in all, a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex450212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

I went with a smal group of friends for our Christmas meal on Thursday evening. The food was amazing. I ate from the festive menu and can really reccommend the steak with (I think) cafe beurre sauce. The service was impressive - nothing seemed too much trouble. It just seemed a little lacking in atmosphere considering it was a week before christmas. I am very much looking forward to going back and taking my husband next time.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Chanteclerc also viewed

 

Been to Le Chanteclerc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing