We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Probably the nicest and best equipped cottage...”
View of the house from the front garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the house from the front garden
View of the house from the front Sunny day
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
View of the house from the front garden
View of the house from the front
Sunny day
View of the house from the side
Living room
Reception room
Dining room
Kitchen
Main bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Single bedroom
Bathroom
View of the sun house
Garden in bloom
Garden in bloom
Winter view
Full view of the house and garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Cadnam, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ken w
Gillingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Probably the nicest and best equipped cottage that we have ever stayed in”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

The cottage is ideally situated on the edge of the New Forest and is easy to get to. It is close to one of the oldest pubs in the area which has many other highly rated eating establishments. The accommodation is furnished to a very high standard and is complete with many appliances to make the stay both easy and enjoyable. The garden is safe for young children and has a lovely summer house complete with a pool table. The owners thoughtfulness and personal touches are everywhere and it was a great joy to stay. We would certainly wish to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position, the lovely gardens and the comfortable accommodation
Liked least: The internal steps which are a part of the original construction
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
Thank you for a most thoughtful review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shirley19...
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely comfortable cottage in a good location”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed at Forest Syde Cottage for one week commencing 19th July, a party of 4 adults and 1 child. Catherine was there to welcome us and provided us with some most welcome provisions. She also provided wine for the adults and some chocolates for our 4yr old Granddaughter which was a lovely gesture. The cottage is cosy but roomy, and is very well equipped. Due to the lovely weather we ate breakfast alfresco each morning in the garden. There's a nice decking area with patio set and a summer house with a pool table, which was a big hit with my Husband and Son-in-law.
As stated in other reviews noise from the road can be heard but it didn't bother us. There are two pub/restaurants close by, The Sir John Barleycorn was our favourite we ate there a couple of times, the menu had a good choice of meals.
Lot of paces to visit nearby on the coast and don't forget Peppa Pig World if you have little ones, it's only a very short drive from the cottage. We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area, it's a good base for exploring.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: TheCottage & Location
Liked least: Having to go home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CAP2680
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great cottage”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a great week at the start of July in Forest Syde Cottage. Extremely comfy and well equipped cottage. Owner friendly and helpful. So much to do in the area, our young boys were well entertained. They also enjoyed the garden at the cottage when we returned from our day trips. Would definitely recommend and hope to be back at some point.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TEPickeri...
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely Lovely New Forest Cottage”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this cottage for the 1st Week in July 2014 and have to report that it was really excellent and good value for such a quality cottage (with ye olde English Pub "the sir john barleycorn" only 1min walk from the front door.

The booking process was very simple and the contact with the owner was easy throughout. She is absolutely lovely and was there to meet us and was really kind in having sorted out some basic provisions including a bottle of wine. All the final arrangements including return of deposit etc went smoothly also. Thank you!

We found the garden great for kids, as was fenced and very private, has a large parking area, a postcard quality front Garden for an English cottage. The Garden to the side has loads of room to store bikes in a little covered garage area. There is also a decking area with seating and table in the sun and a lawn where the boys enjoyed kicking a football around.

Inside the cottage is spacious with a joined kitchen and dining room and two nice sitting room areas with TV, Wifi (excellent speed). All the rooms are well kept and freshly decorated, with the Upstairs bathroom/ensuite having been redecorated recently it would seem.

My wife enjoyed taking the boys to the beach in Sandbanks, walks in the forest, the new forest wildlife park and Peppa Pig World - all close by.

Anyway, if you are looking for a cottage from which you can quickly access the New Forest and get to the motorway to head to Poole and Bourneouth or get to Lyndhurst (4miles along road from Cadnam) then this place really comes recommended by our young family.

Thanks, we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great vacation cottage”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We had a great stay in Forest Syde Cottage. The owner was friendly and very helpful and the cottage itself was in a good location, spacious and well equipped. The garden and summer house were lovely additions so we could enjoy the two weeks of sunshine that we were lucky to have. We would definitely stay here again on any future trips to the area.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Couple196...
Letchworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring the New Forest”
Reviewed 18 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We received a warm welcome to this immaculately clean and very well equipped cottage. The cottage is really cosy but spacious with massive parking space. (Unfortunately,the weather was just too good to justify use of the open log fire!)
Two excellent pub/ restaurants within a few minutes walk and everyday shopping is within a short drive

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gina P
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Stunning cosy cottage with everything you could possibly want.”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

My husband and I and our 2 boys aged 8 and 6 thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Forest Syde Cottage over the Easter weekend. We had a surprise welcome of Easter eggs for the boys and a full English breakfast awaiting us in the fridge. This cottage is so cosy and homely and has all the luxuries you could desire - super comfy beds, big fluffy towels, open log fire and a huge garden with an outhouse and pool table. Our boys loved this place so much that they didm;t even want to leave to explore the forest. It is very tasteful decorated and having 2 power showers and a luxurious bath was a huge bonus. Catherine responded to all our queries immediately right from the time of booking and was vey helpful at all times.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and character of the cottage
Liked least: Close proximity to M27 as think this might be noisy when the windows are open.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$145
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing