We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find”
Review of Harvest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harvest House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Loved the character of the old house and extensive grounds, which overlooked the Isle of Wight. The house is a few minutes walk from the town and beach of Milford on Sea. Our room was lovely. Spacious, very comfortable, very clean and no expense spared with linen/towels etc. also provided was a bottle of wine and an extensive tea tray! Breakfast was excellent and was served in the conservatory overlooking the lovely garden. We only stayed 2 nights, but would have liked to have stayed longer. Harvest House would be a good base for visiting the local attractions.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at Harvest House.
Our hosts were lovely and gave us great advice on cycling locally.
Breakfasts were fantastic!
We stayed in the Attic room, which had amazing views.
Milford on Sea has some lovely restaurants too - all within a short walk.
Fab b and b - 10 out of 10 team A and J!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baymonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The advantage of staying in a b and b is the option of staying somewhere just a little bit "different", and this is what Harvest House offers. Amanda and Jon have excellent raw material to work with. The house itself comes with its own character and is elegantly furnished. Our room, Hurst, was of generous proportions, overlooking the landscaped grounds, which in turns take the eye across open land to the sea. Just like the house, the garden is large, and provides the view from the breakfast table in the conservatory. Breakfast is just what one would hope for - plenty of choice, well prepared, using locally sourced produce, and with the option of freshly ground coffee.

It was unusual to find that our room did not have a television. However, this turned out to be an advantage - a peaceful respite from the customary onslaught of the "box". The guest lounge had it's own TV but we found we were able to live without it. When we wanted to stay in touch with the outside world we made use of the WiFi in our room.

Amanda and Jon are engaging hosts, with a wealth of knowledge of the region, and will generously share their passion of classic cars, with their very own "toy box" in the grounds.

We followed the recommendation of our hosts to try Milford on Sea's fish restaurant Verveine. Along with our walks this was one of the highlights of our break. David Wykes, the Chef Proprietor, has an enviable enthusiasm for his craft and deserves to be successful.

All in all, we couldn't find fault with Harvest House.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Going-grey-nomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We were impressed with the House as soon as we drew up. Then Amanda welcomed us like long lost friends as she gave us the guided tour of her beautiful home. As they say " It was exactly like it said on the tin" (their website) We were made to feel at home immediately with a welcoming cup of tea on the patio, where we were introduced to Jon.
Our room, The Attic, was a suite and had all the luxuries you could ask for. We slept like tops on the 1st night, and went down to breakfast which was perfect for both our different requirements,
fully cooked, for me & fruit platter for Lyn. Jon was fully of local knowledge and sent us on the most spectacular tours, every day we were with them. We came back each night thanking him profusely and then be given his recommendation on the local eateries. We would say, "We've been sent by Harvest House" and we were welcomed as if it was our own local.
Amanda & Jon have captivated the area just as they did to us. We had 4 glorious days & nights with them and I can tell with a great degree of certainty the we will be going back for another fabulous adventure. Don't miss the opportunity if you are in their neck of the woods to make a bee line for their perfect Hospitality and lovely home. Keith B & Lyn

Room Tip: All 3 Guest rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

From the moment we booked on line to the moment we checked out Jon and Amanda made sure our stay was personal to us. On arrival we had tea and coffee with Jon on the patio ,where he proceeded to give us the local view on where to visit and where to eat and drink. The room was excellent and the breakfast was superb (full English both days). You can easily explore the surrounding area by car or like Maria and I by foot. Again their local knowledge was invaluable, and they were happy to suggest possible places that may have been of interest to us. The village has a variety of places to eat and drink and the Gun Inn at Key Haven is worth a walk for some homemade food and a decent pint. I could write a lot more but the best way is to visit Jon and Amanda yourselves to sample real hospitality at its finest.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We made our reservation at Harvest House before leaving Australia, without reading any revues or receiving any recommendations. The website looked promising, and Amanda's response to our booking request was quick, informative and enthusiastic. On arrival we drove into secure off-street parking to find an elegantly furnished house set in a superb garden. We were accommodated in "Hurst", one of only three guest rooms, which overlooked the garden from the first floor and provided every conceivable comfort and amenity. Breakfast was served on the patio, which in our case was a wonderful selection of Summer fruits. Our fellow guests enjoyed a variety of beautifully cooked alternatives. If this was all that was on offer we would have considered our stay a great success. However I have yet to mention our hosts, namely Amanda and Jon. It is hard to describe them without sounding over the top. They really did welcome us like old friends, nothing was too much trouble, their enthusiasm was infectious and they had an encyclopaedic knowledge of the local area and it's attractions. We had booked for three days, extended our stay to five, and would have stayed longer if we had not had to catch our flight home. In a word Harvest House is simply superb.

Room Tip: We had baggage for an eight week trip, so being on the first floor was a bonus. We did not see the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

From the moment we arrived and were given tea on the terrace the hospitality was excellent. Amanda & Jon are the perfect hosts and make you very welcome and have time for you and to advise on good walks, drives and places to visit in the area. Keyhaven room was lovely and very spacious and airy. Cooked breakfasts are also very good and the fruit platter not only tasted super (as it was not freezing cold) but very well presented. The little treats we received in our room on returning in the evenings were a nice touch. Would definately return.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford on Sea
0.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
503 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,087 reviews
3.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,609 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
8.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest House

Address: Harvest House Lymington Road | New Forest, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0QN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Milford on Sea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Milford on Sea
Price Range: £105 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harvest House - luxury B and B in the coastal village of Milford on Sea. A 1900s rectory set in tranquil grounds of over an acre backing onto arable farmland; stunning uninterrupted views from all guest accommodation to the Solent and beyond. Large bedrooms (en-suite) guest sitting-room with wood burner; library; guest breakfast room; ample secure gated parking. If walking!!!Village 5 mins, sea 10 mins, forest 30 mins, footpath network 250 yds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harvest House Milford On Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing