We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!”
Review of Harvest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harvest House
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Highly recommended for a perfect peaceful weekend away. Harvest House is a beautiful place to stay with the warmest welcome. Plenty of good restaurants within walking distance of the B&B, close to beach and with lots of great places to visit nearby. We had a fantastic weekend! A very big thank you to Amanda and Jon!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RPZG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful 4 day stay at Harvest House. As I was with my 96 year old mother I wanted something special. We were revisiting after very many happy holidays in our caravan at Milford on Sea in the 50's. We certainly were not disappointed! We were welcomed with a pot of tea in the attractive sitting room. I was particularly pleased as I was able to watch the Men's Finals at Wimbledon! Our bedroom was very comfortable with views of the solent and was very tastefully decorated. There was a complimentary bottle of wine and some fruit on the table. The fruit was replaced every day with something different. One day we had stuffed dates! A very nice touch. The breakfasts were superb - the smoked trout and scrambled eggs were amazing and the plate was decorated with a small bunch of nasturtiums picked from the lovely garden. Amanda and Jon were perfect hosts and very friendly. I certainly would recommend Harvest House to anyway and I can't wait to visit again! Thank you both again for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

From the minute you arrive, you know you have come to a special place. Harvest House is a beautiful B&B, set within Amanda and Jon's home. The rooms are very clean and well stocked with ground coffee, various teas, toiletries in the bathroom, even bathrobes and slippers. The treats that arrive daily in your room are a lovely touch, and welcoming to come back to after a day out. The breakfasts are top quality, we particularly recommend the fruit platter, the smoked trout and scrambled eggs, and the local sausages. There are tranquil grounds that you are free to use as and when you like, and Jake and Jim (the dogs) will often come and say hello. What makes this B&B though, are Amanda and Jon themselves, nothing is too much trouble and they are full of local knowledge, from eateries to places to visit. They are very friendly and warming, and you can't help liking them. We felt that we arrived as guests and left as friends, and will definitely return! Well done Amanda & Jon!


Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank FreddieKuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Returning from a 4 night stay in Harvest House we wished we could have stayed longer. We have stayed at many B&Bs and this has to be the best of them. We could not have had more welcoming hosts than Amanda and John who attended to our every need, we felt special and it was quiet and peaceful. We appreciated the little treats we found in our room every day and even came to look forward to them! There was a delicious choice for breakfast which was cooked as we liked it (you only had to ask) and they were happy to talk to us over breakfast if we wished and they gave lots of information about places to eat. Everything you could want is supplied. There are large and hugely comfortable beds and the rooms are clean, light and airy with pleasant views. Tea and coffee is always present in the room and there is the use of a lounge specifically for guests at any time. It was great to be able to come back after a long, hot trek and freshen up in a hot shower and have a nap before going out to eat. There was a large garden we could stroll in with our wine and enjoy the company of our friends. If we visit Milford area again we shall only want to stay at Harvest House. Mel & Anne.

Room Tip: Room over the garden has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank prawlepoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Once again, Wolsey Lodge accommodation did not let us down.
Amanda and Jon went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and relaxing..
just what was needed as a first-time-away break following an accident.
How much nicer to stay in someone's home than in an impersonal hotel, and gain from their local knowledge of the area, shared so willingly.
Jill and Jocelyne

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank jgealll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have just returned from a lovely 4 night stay at Harvest House. On our arrival we were welcomed with a pot of tea in the beautiful garden and enjoyed the great hospitality given to us by Amanda and Jon throughout our stay. Our room was spacious, very comfortable and a restful place to return to after a day's outing. The breakfasts were beautifully cooked and could be eaten in the garden or the conservatory. There were little extras all along the way which made our stay special. A great place to stay with lovely coastal walks at Milford, Mudeford and Hengistbury Head as well as the New Forest to explore. Harvest House is a wonderful place to stay and hopefully we will return one day.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We visit Milford on Sea / Lymington area several times every year and it has been a struggle to find nice places to stay. Most of the hotels nearby are very uninspiring and totally over priced. We’ve also found some B&B’s to be rather basic for the rates they’re charging and the pitiful breakfast they supply.

Now we have to look no further! Harvest House could easily be classified as a 'guest house' - with special touches like robes, slippers, fruit bowls, bottled water and the most wonderful thick towels in every room! The beds are huge and very comfortable. Spotlessly clean rooms with great showers and plentiful hot water. Plus, there’s a lovely guest sitting room downstairs with an honesty bar.

Jon and Amanda are extremely welcoming and helpful with regards to restaurants etc. (Verveine fish restaurant in the village is a MUST!). The breakfast was delicious (smoked salmon & scrambled eggs) with home made bread and really good coffee. We look forward to returning to this relaxing & peaceful place soon!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrsMacV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford on Sea
0.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
501 reviews
6.1 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,087 reviews
3.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
1,608 reviews
9.8 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
8.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvest House

Address: Harvest House Lymington Road | New Forest, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0QN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Milford on Sea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Milford on Sea
Price Range: £104 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harvest House - luxury B and B in the coastal village of Milford on Sea. A 1900s rectory set in tranquil grounds of over an acre backing onto arable farmland; stunning uninterrupted views from all guest accommodation to the Solent and beyond. Large bedrooms (en-suite) guest sitting-room with wood burner; library; guest breakfast room; ample secure gated parking. If walking!!!Village 5 mins, sea 10 mins, forest 30 mins, footpath network 250 yds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harvest House Milford On Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing