We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed opinion”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milford on Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shorefield Country Park
Warwickshire,
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mixed opinion”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a privately owned caravan at Shorefield during half term. The caravan was G30a, well located in a quiet cul de sac, near to the clubhouse and was clean, well equipped and cosy.

Shorefield itself had some real positives. It is in a great location to travel around the new forest. Milford on sea is a short drive away and has some lovely cafes, pubs and a great fish and chip shop (tip -ring up your order in advance then just walk in and collect, saves the 40 minute queue!). We really enjoyed taking the kids crabbing off the bridge at the end of the strand, down new lane towards Hurst Castle - and ice cream from Max's van there is just delicious?. The park is quiet, mainly clean and has some good walks around it. Kids biked and scooted safely, enjoyed swimming in the pool and just generally chilling out and relaxing.

Downsides were that the crazy golf / pirate play area at the top of the park were very sad and neglected areas. It was a shame as just a small amount of effort to tidy , weed and paint could have made it a nice area. The pool was shut one evening due to staff shortages which was v disappointing for the kids when we turned up. The club house was quite nice but we felt lunch was overpriced & the attitude of the waitress was dreadful.

On balance, we had a great family holiday in this part of the world and the site was fine for our needs, but think we will try a different park next time

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sedge17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Marketing Department at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Shorefield Country Park.
We are sorry to hear you may not be returning but we’d like to address some of the issues raised in your review.

We are currently working to sort out some of the staffing issues we have had with the pool, we apologise if this impacted on the quality of your stay and we always aim to have the pool open and it is only in extreme circumstances that we have to close it. We have contacted the Estates Manager regarding the crazy golf course and they will be looking at improving this area, thank you for your feedback regarding this.

Regarding the waitress, we apologise if that on this occasion we did not meet our high standards of customer service; we will be investigating this further.

In regards to bar pricing, before applying pricing to our meals we do investigate prices of competitors and we are fairly priced when compared with other bars and restaurants in the area.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    160
    72
    35
    38
See reviews for
335
90
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This was our 10th year of what has been our holiday getaway. It is with regret that I must report will probably be our last.
We have seen a gradual decline over time but this year has seen the worst.
We have been previous owners, stayed privately and have booked through Shorefield direct which was on this ocassion. We stayed in an 8 birth lodge (£1100)
To summarise it was dirty, mould in the bathroom sealant, musty smell in bedrooms and carpet. Overall poor and tired state. Outside in very poor condition in desperate need of an overhall and redecoration.
As stated we have previously booked privately and may have become accustomed to a significantly higher standard. This directs me to the facilities.
Crazy golf (as previously reported on this site, still not rectified) paid extra for, insulting shambles, an absolute joke.
Swimming pool, not updated in 10 years and tired. The changing rooms were not clean, on one ocassion rubbish had been left in situ for 24 hrs.
Outdoor swimming pool was closed. On asking the reply was 'there was not the staff to open it'.
The bar in the evening entertainment sweet was closed. On asking the reply was, you guessed it.
On one ocassion we arrived for the advertised bingo and entered the entertainment area to be asked to wait outside as a staff meeting was taking place. We and at least a dozen other guests were left speechless, as if we were at school.
The whole attitude that is portrayed by staff is that they are doing you a favour by providing (what is on balance a lovely setting) a holiday park.
This has gone on for too long and will be booking the nearby hoburn later and next year.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbozz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Manager at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at Shorefield Country Park. We would be happy to address your review through email, please email holidays@shorefield.co.uk.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I know we booked a supersaver chalet but I was not expecting the level of disrepair we found. Curtains and lampshades hanging off, rusty microwave, old water boiler hanging over the sink. It was disgraceful. Reception seemed to be lacking in any customer service skills. They basically suggested that we got what we paid for. Despite the state of the cabin they kept insisting that any move would incur another £150 and only after us digging our heels in did they suggest a caravan. It was getting late, we were tired and had a child with us so accepted this. After having slept on it half the party are so unhappy that they are returning home. The rest of us are considering it.
I would not recommend this to anyone. Go to the site in Hastings. Head and shoulders above this.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ginny_Pinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Marketing Department at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
We are sorry to hear you were disappointed. As you are aware this has now been dealt with by our Reservations Department.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Sheppey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This was our 6th visit in 5 years and as usual we stayed in one of the old chalets (No 100) the chalet was clean and well equipped making for yet another comfortable stay. We were blessed with wonderful weather which just added to another fantastic holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank humpty258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Marketing Department at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We'd like to thank you for your lovely review of Shorefield Country Park.

We are so pleased to hear that you have been returning to our parks for the last 5 years and that you have enjoyed your holidays with us. If you have visited 5 times in the last 5 years, you would be eligible to become a Holiday Ambassador. To find out more please email holidaysvip@shorefield.co.uk.

Regards,
Shorefield Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Terrible experience. We booked a two night midweek stay so we could take our children to peppa pig world. When we called to book this holiday park we said we wanted a family park so our children would have things to do in the day and night and we got told that this is the best site for families. When we arrived we were put in a chalet right over the other side of the park which is about a 15 min walk from the venues which had no street lighting and were put next to a lake which is totally unsuitable for two young children. When we finally got moved we had to pay extra just to be nearer the venues which we found out when looking in the entertainment guide that there was nothing at all on in the night or day for children! If we had got told this when booking then we certainly would not have booked this park but we got told it was the best for families. We had to spend more money travelling to another holiday park which was 15 min drive just so the children had something to do in the day and night and they were brilliant with the children. Also on the day we arrived we decided to take the children swimming as there was nothing else to do but when we got there this had a sign saying it was closing early due to staff injury! I have never known a holiday park like it! Even in the arcade most of the machines were turned off! If u have children avoid this place and go to hobourne park. The worst break we have ever had and will certainly not be using them again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angry_customer1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Marketing Department at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at our parks.

Our Marketing Director has responded to your feedback that we received through Hoseasons and you should be receiving a response from them soon.

Regards,
Shorefield Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

- Roads always being dug up outside the holiday home
- Unresponsive and poor customer service at reception
- Electric boxes, 'road signs' and cones just left outside the van (2013 and 2014)
- Asked to leave the central pool area for a fitness class without any prior notification that it was taking place before going in to the pool
- Dumped an old rundown caravan less than 2 metres from where we are staying for the entire Bank Holiday weekend which was not only unsightly but dangerous for any children playing nearby with cars passing by that could not be seen clearly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Manager at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
We are sorry to hear you are disappointed with the park. As you are an owner your comments have already been passed to the Holiday Homes Sales department and they are currently looking into this.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a three night break with 11 friends celebrating some 50ths. This house is outstanding best we have stayed in. They have thought of everything the quality and quantity of items you just could not fault it. The technology in the house is amazing if not a little daunting for us ladies, you hook up your ipad and chose which room or rooms to play your music in! Very spacious with every accessory necessary for a large crowd, spotlessly clean. Fantastic party house the hub being a superb open plan kitchen, dinning , sitting room. Beautiful conservatory with fantastic deck and hot tub all with easy walking access to the beach and some really fab restaurants in Milford on sea we will without doubt be back as agreed by all 12 of us and getting 12 50 year old women to agree on something is a minor miracle well done Shorefields

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Marketing Department at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Shorefield Country Park.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in Wisteria House, it's ideal for large groups such as yours and we get many positive comments about it.

We shall pass your lovely review onto the team.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford on Sea
1.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
3.5 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Lymington (New Forest, Hordle) Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in Milford on Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shorefield Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shorefield Country Park

Property: Shorefield Country Park
Address: Shorefield Country Park Shorefield Road | Downton, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Milford on Sea
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Milford on Sea
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Shorefield Country Park Hotel Milford On Sea
Shorefield Country Park Milford On Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing