We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milford on Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shorefield Country Park
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have just had our second three-night break at Shorefield for a family get-together. On the first occasion we booked a Standard caravan which, to be honest, had seen better days. It was a bit tired, with stained carpet and seating, although quite well equipped. We did wonder if this was because we had requested a dog-friendly caravan. We also did not like the fact that there was no wash basin in the room with the toilet. However, this time we opted for a dog-friendly SelectXtra caravan which was in a different league - a much newer caravan, spotlessly clean, with shower room and an en-suite and decking. Again, it was well-equipped. We used the indoor pool which was fine, the water a good temperature. We had take-away food from the bar on the Sunday night but could not choose from the full menu as it was Father's Day and the carvery had been extended into the evening, with a couple of vegetarian options. We were not told about this at Reception when asking for a take-away menu (which they could not find anyway!) However the food (2 take-away carvery meals plus 2 veggie options) was OK and the staff in the bar and restaurant were friendly and quite obliging. We would definitely stay again in a SelectXtra caravan but think perhaps the cheaper caravans could do with being replaced. It costs quite a bit more for the newer option but however much or little someone is paying for accommodation it should be up to a certain standard these days. The Park is clean and tidy with a good atmosphere and there are good dog walks nearby. The shop is well-stocked and the staff very pleasant. Overall an enjoyable stay, more so the second time in better accommodation. Would definitely return but only if we can afford the better caravan.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, pay extra for a better quality caravan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linnie889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Marketing Department at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Shorefield Country Park.

We apologise that you felt that our basic accommodation was not at a standard you expected, we are constantly updating and refreshing our accommodation and currently working on our accommodation categories. Our dog friendly accommodation is cleaned thoroughly after each use and has the same standards as our pet free accommodation.

We are pleased to hear you found our staff in the bar and the restaurant friendly and we apologise with any mix up in regards to the take-away menu.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    160
    72
    35
    38
See reviews for
335
90
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Shorefield website claims that they provide "high quality holiday accommodation" and that they are "a 5 star rated holiday park". So I invested £820 in three nights in one of the Signature Lodges (No 2). Cleaning had been done very superficially - the dust and spider webs were not difficult to spot. The decking was dirty and certainly had not been cleaned for some time. The garden also needs some attention.The BBQ was one of the reasons we opted for this lodge, but we were disappointed to find an archaic appliance on its last legs and entirely useless for cooking because it could not generate enough heat... Overall, the lodge was dated and neglected. I can also confirm previous comments about serious staff issues at this park. Unfriendly, unhelpful, moody and without any sense of pride in their work. The stay was certainly not worth the money. For the same price or less you will get much better quality and service elsewhere. It's a shame really, because the location is good but this park is failing to live up to its potential.

Room Tip: Avoid Signature Lodge 2. (Or any other lodge with deck and BBQ!) You will be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pdwpdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Marketing Department at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Shorefield Country Park, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.

We do ask that any issues with cleanliness be raised at the time of your stay so we can rectify any problems you may have.

We’re sorry to hear that you found the staff unfriendly, we do have high levels of customer care and staff are trained on a regular basis. We apologise if you feel that we fell short on this occasion.

We will be passing your comments on to our Reservations and Housekeeping team so they can take a look at our Signature units to see what issues need to be rectified.
We’d like to thank you for your feedback.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have recently cancelled our membership of Shorefields Health and Fitness Club. The facilities bear little resemblance to the daily reality of our recent experience. It is evident that the priority is to spend our subscription money on glossy signage in the building rather than on the primary facilities.
During the last few months, the swimming pool has frequently not been available to use at the publicised opening time for the adult swim session for one reason or another (many of the excuses given would appear to be relating to routine tasks such as chlorine levels).
We try to swim most mornings at 7.30a.m. and on only three occasions, was any attempt made to contact us to inform us of the unavailability of the pool.
The changing rooms are frequently grubby. Many of the lockers are unavailable for use as either the lock has broken or the wrist bands have disappeared and replacement seems to take an unreasonable length of time.
Despite this poor record (in particular the lack of pool availability, there has been no contact or apology from any level of management.
Disability means that the pool is the essential facility for us, however, we overheard (whilst changing last week), a comment that the machines in the gym are also frequently out of action.
p.s I gave the management a week before posting this - no response.

Room Tip: Stayed in a chalet for several in the Autumn. My advice would be don't if you are expecting sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mci55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Marketing Department at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our Health and Fitness facilities.

You will be hearing from our Operations Manager regarding your comments.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I was saddened to read the poor reviews of Shorefield below. I have always found it to be reliably fine for a short break. The pool complex has to be the highlight. We stayed in a new Cranborne 6 birth. My parents accompanied me and the kids - it was spotless. My parents couldn't believe how well appointed it was. We visited Peppa Pig world from here. I think Shorefield is great and we'll continue to visit in the future.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kjs26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Marketing Department at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

We’re so pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday and liked the pool. We look forward to welcoming you to Shorefield in the future.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Went back after a great ten days staying in a privately owned chalet in 2012. Just love the place for its quietness and feeling of safety for the children. Although i don`t want to criticise to much as i thought in the main the staff were great.
I do think the food is over-priced. We had a breakfast at the club-house as the kids wanted the American pan-cakes.Unfortunately they were quite large and not great. The full breakfast my wife had was poor in quality with the egg hard and the mushrooms apparently not fresh.
The decor has not changed in two years .I do believe lino or wooden flooring would add a great deal to the surroundings and not carpet.
The entertainment at night has also remained the same from two years ago. Last time we went every night this time the kids felt it was too young for them they are now seven although they did play the corners game.This went on for thirty minutes.
The music for the disco with the actions is the same.I`m sorry but still playing Scoop a failed Eurovision from about seven years ago is a little sad. I really don`t want to be too critical but just some changes in a couple of areas will help.Willl definitley go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adrian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Marketing Department at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Shorefield Country Park.

Before applying pricing to our meals we do investigate prices of competitors and we are fairly priced when compared with other bars and restaurants in the area.

Thank you for your feedback regarding the entertainment, we shall pass your comments onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the park.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire,
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a privately owned caravan at Shorefield during half term. The caravan was G30a, well located in a quiet cul de sac, near to the clubhouse and was clean, well equipped and cosy.

Shorefield itself had some real positives. It is in a great location to travel around the new forest. Milford on sea is a short drive away and has some lovely cafes, pubs and a great fish and chip shop (tip -ring up your order in advance then just walk in and collect, saves the 40 minute queue!). We really enjoyed taking the kids crabbing off the bridge at the end of the strand, down new lane towards Hurst Castle - and ice cream from Max's van there is just delicious?. The park is quiet, mainly clean and has some good walks around it. Kids biked and scooted safely, enjoyed swimming in the pool and just generally chilling out and relaxing.

Downsides were that the crazy golf / pirate play area at the top of the park were very sad and neglected areas. It was a shame as just a small amount of effort to tidy , weed and paint could have made it a nice area. The pool was shut one evening due to staff shortages which was v disappointing for the kids when we turned up. The club house was quite nice but we felt lunch was overpriced & the attitude of the waitress was dreadful.

On balance, we had a great family holiday in this part of the world and the site was fine for our needs, but think we will try a different park next time

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sedge17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Marketing Department at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Shorefield Country Park.
We are sorry to hear you may not be returning but we’d like to address some of the issues raised in your review.

We are currently working to sort out some of the staffing issues we have had with the pool, we apologise if this impacted on the quality of your stay and we always aim to have the pool open and it is only in extreme circumstances that we have to close it. We have contacted the Estates Manager regarding the crazy golf course and they will be looking at improving this area, thank you for your feedback regarding this.

Regarding the waitress, we apologise if that on this occasion we did not meet our high standards of customer service; we will be investigating this further.

In regards to bar pricing, before applying pricing to our meals we do investigate prices of competitors and we are fairly priced when compared with other bars and restaurants in the area.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This was our 10th year of what has been our holiday getaway. It is with regret that I must report will probably be our last.
We have seen a gradual decline over time but this year has seen the worst.
We have been previous owners, stayed privately and have booked through Shorefield direct which was on this ocassion. We stayed in an 8 birth lodge (£1100)
To summarise it was dirty, mould in the bathroom sealant, musty smell in bedrooms and carpet. Overall poor and tired state. Outside in very poor condition in desperate need of an overhall and redecoration.
As stated we have previously booked privately and may have become accustomed to a significantly higher standard. This directs me to the facilities.
Crazy golf (as previously reported on this site, still not rectified) paid extra for, insulting shambles, an absolute joke.
Swimming pool, not updated in 10 years and tired. The changing rooms were not clean, on one ocassion rubbish had been left in situ for 24 hrs.
Outdoor swimming pool was closed. On asking the reply was 'there was not the staff to open it'.
The bar in the evening entertainment sweet was closed. On asking the reply was, you guessed it.
On one ocassion we arrived for the advertised bingo and entered the entertainment area to be asked to wait outside as a staff meeting was taking place. We and at least a dozen other guests were left speechless, as if we were at school.
The whole attitude that is portrayed by staff is that they are doing you a favour by providing (what is on balance a lovely setting) a holiday park.
This has gone on for too long and will be booking the nearby hoburn later and next year.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jbozz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Manager at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at Shorefield Country Park. We would be happy to address your review through email, please email holidays@shorefield.co.uk.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford on Sea
1.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
3.5 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,742 reviews
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Lymington (New Forest, Hordle) Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in Milford on Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shorefield Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shorefield Country Park

Property: Shorefield Country Park
Address: Shorefield Country Park Shorefield Road | Downton, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Milford on Sea
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Milford on Sea
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Shorefield Country Park Hotel Milford On Sea
Shorefield Country Park Milford On Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing