We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely long weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shorefield Country Park
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We payed a bit extra for a Select Xtra caravan; the interior was well beyond our expectations and we had a lovely verandah. The facilities were great, especially the heated outdoor pool which our 1 year old enjoyed. Perfect location for travelling around the new forest area. The only criticism I have is that the restaurant only serves carvery for dinner on Sunday, which I don't think was mentioned anywhere. The pub at the top of Shorefield road is lovely too and does great food. Will be going again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moonpie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Marketing Department at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Shorefield Country Park.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your break and that you will be staying again. We shall pass your comments regarding the carvery onto the Licensed Club.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

388 - 394 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We took our grandson away for a few days and stayed in a two bedroom caravan in the Sea Breeze part of the complex. Our first impression was that the caravan was spacious, well fitted-out (tv, microwave, balcony with tables and chairs) and comfortable. We weren't disappointed, in fact it was very good value for the £247 for three nights.

Although there are a couple of playground areas these are best suited to younger children but to compensate there are two pools.the outdoor pool comprises one large pool and a smaller one for smaller children. Both were heated (30C) and seemed to be very popular. The indoor pool was also very pleasantly warm, shallow in one section (ideal for children) and again well used. this area also has a small sauna and jacuzzi. A life guard was in attendance all of the time that we were using this pool.

There are two restaurants on site but we used only the Cheers Bar. I think it would help if it opened for dinner at 5.00 pm specifically to accommodate families with young children in the first hour. We did have to wait quite a long time for our main course but overall were quite pleased with our meals and the price paid. We went to a pub in Milford On Sea for a meal one evening and that fell well short of the meal on site.

Another thing that did impress us was the Spar shop on the complex. Yes it is limited in what it sells but overall we thought its prices were very reasonable given that it has, to a certain extend, a captive audience and that the major supermarket stores aren't 'just around the corner'.

Given that many of the holiday makers had dogs with them and walked them in the Park, I didn't see any signs of dog mess - credit to their owners. In fact overall the Park seems to be kept very tidy.

If you are thinking of staying here and aren't familiar with the area I'd recommend Boscombe for the beach rather than Bournemouth. If the weekend we were there is typical then expect Bournemouth to be packed and Boscombe much quieter (not empty by any means) but much more comfortable if you have young children to keep an eye on.

I guess the bottom line as far as Shorefield Country Park is concerned is 'would I stay there again?'. Yes is the answer, but not during peak season. I suspect it could be mighty crowded.

Room Tip: The Sea Breeze part of the Park is a few minutes' walk from the shop, restaurants etc but didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartinJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Marketing Department at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of Shorefield Country Park.

It's great to hear your family enjoyed their stay and you will be staying with us again. Thank you for your feedback regarding the Cheers Bar, we shall pass this on to the Licensed Club.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Lovely well kept park. Superbly appointed and clean caravan (when my partner walked in she said "wow, look at this"). Friendly staff, really good facilities and separate bar areas for adults only. Entertainment for kids, nice pool complex. nice walks from the site to the beach. Monday morning now and fully recharged for the week ahead!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THATFOODIEMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Marketing Department at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of Shorefield Country Park.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your break with us and that you liked the accommodation and facilities. We hope you will return to Shorefield once again.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We have just had our second three-night break at Shorefield for a family get-together. On the first occasion we booked a Standard caravan which, to be honest, had seen better days. It was a bit tired, with stained carpet and seating, although quite well equipped. We did wonder if this was because we had requested a dog-friendly caravan. We also did not like the fact that there was no wash basin in the room with the toilet. However, this time we opted for a dog-friendly SelectXtra caravan which was in a different league - a much newer caravan, spotlessly clean, with shower room and an en-suite and decking. Again, it was well-equipped. We used the indoor pool which was fine, the water a good temperature. We had take-away food from the bar on the Sunday night but could not choose from the full menu as it was Father's Day and the carvery had been extended into the evening, with a couple of vegetarian options. We were not told about this at Reception when asking for a take-away menu (which they could not find anyway!) However the food (2 take-away carvery meals plus 2 veggie options) was OK and the staff in the bar and restaurant were friendly and quite obliging. We would definitely stay again in a SelectXtra caravan but think perhaps the cheaper caravans could do with being replaced. It costs quite a bit more for the newer option but however much or little someone is paying for accommodation it should be up to a certain standard these days. The Park is clean and tidy with a good atmosphere and there are good dog walks nearby. The shop is well-stocked and the staff very pleasant. Overall an enjoyable stay, more so the second time in better accommodation. Would definitely return but only if we can afford the better caravan.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, pay extra for a better quality caravan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linnie889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Marketing Department at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Shorefield Country Park.

We apologise that you felt that our basic accommodation was not at a standard you expected, we are constantly updating and refreshing our accommodation and currently working on our accommodation categories. Our dog friendly accommodation is cleaned thoroughly after each use and has the same standards as our pet free accommodation.

We are pleased to hear you found our staff in the bar and the restaurant friendly and we apologise with any mix up in regards to the take-away menu.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The Shorefield website claims that they provide "high quality holiday accommodation" and that they are "a 5 star rated holiday park". So I invested £820 in three nights in one of the Signature Lodges (No 2). Cleaning had been done very superficially - the dust and spider webs were not difficult to spot. The decking was dirty and certainly had not been cleaned for some time. The garden also needs some attention.The BBQ was one of the reasons we opted for this lodge, but we were disappointed to find an archaic appliance on its last legs and entirely useless for cooking because it could not generate enough heat... Overall, the lodge was dated and neglected. I can also confirm previous comments about serious staff issues at this park. Unfriendly, unhelpful, moody and without any sense of pride in their work. The stay was certainly not worth the money. For the same price or less you will get much better quality and service elsewhere. It's a shame really, because the location is good but this park is failing to live up to its potential.

Room Tip: Avoid Signature Lodge 2. (Or any other lodge with deck and BBQ!) You will be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pdwpdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Marketing Department at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Shorefield Country Park, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.

We do ask that any issues with cleanliness be raised at the time of your stay so we can rectify any problems you may have.

We’re sorry to hear that you found the staff unfriendly, we do have high levels of customer care and staff are trained on a regular basis. We apologise if you feel that we fell short on this occasion.

We will be passing your comments on to our Reservations and Housekeeping team so they can take a look at our Signature units to see what issues need to be rectified.
We’d like to thank you for your feedback.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We have recently cancelled our membership of Shorefields Health and Fitness Club. The facilities bear little resemblance to the daily reality of our recent experience. It is evident that the priority is to spend our subscription money on glossy signage in the building rather than on the primary facilities.
During the last few months, the swimming pool has frequently not been available to use at the publicised opening time for the adult swim session for one reason or another (many of the excuses given would appear to be relating to routine tasks such as chlorine levels).
We try to swim most mornings at 7.30a.m. and on only three occasions, was any attempt made to contact us to inform us of the unavailability of the pool.
The changing rooms are frequently grubby. Many of the lockers are unavailable for use as either the lock has broken or the wrist bands have disappeared and replacement seems to take an unreasonable length of time.
Despite this poor record (in particular the lack of pool availability, there has been no contact or apology from any level of management.
Disability means that the pool is the essential facility for us, however, we overheard (whilst changing last week), a comment that the machines in the gym are also frequently out of action.
p.s I gave the management a week before posting this - no response.

Room Tip: Stayed in a chalet for several in the Autumn. My advice would be don't if you are expecting sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mci55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Marketing Department at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our Health and Fitness facilities.

You will be hearing from our Operations Manager regarding your comments.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I was saddened to read the poor reviews of Shorefield below. I have always found it to be reliably fine for a short break. The pool complex has to be the highlight. We stayed in a new Cranborne 6 birth. My parents accompanied me and the kids - it was spotless. My parents couldn't believe how well appointed it was. We visited Peppa Pig world from here. I think Shorefield is great and we'll continue to visit in the future.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank kjs26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Marketing Department at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

We’re so pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday and liked the pool. We look forward to welcoming you to Shorefield in the future.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford on Sea
1.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
525 reviews
3.5 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
757 reviews
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#10 of 10 in Brockenhurst
620 reviews
2.9 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,936 reviews
14.8 mi away
Sandy Balls Holiday Village
Sandy Balls Holiday Village
#3 of 14 in Fordingbridge
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shorefield Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shorefield Country Park

Address: Shorefield Country Park Shorefield Road | Downton, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Milford on Sea
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Milford on Sea
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Shorefield Country Park Hotel Milford On Sea
Shorefield Country Park Milford On Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing