We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short family break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shorefield Country Park
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at Shorefield in July. This was a family gathering to celebrate a "big" birthday. The lodge was lovely and had everything you needed. The hot tub was great as was the sauna. The park is situated in lovely surroundings with easy access to lots of attractions.

Only one very minor complaint and that was for 8 adults there were only two toilet rolls - one in each bathroom - when we asked for more at reception we were told to "buy some in the spar shop". I would add that we paid quite a substantial amount for the lodge for the weekend and therefore would not expect to supply our own toilet rolls! Having said that the weekend was "fab" and there is nothing further to complain about.

Would we all stay here again the answer is a definite "YES".

Four of us also used "Reflections" and that was also very good indeed and well worth the money paid plus the staff there were very friendly and nice and we would use again if in the area.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank EILEENHY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Marketing Department at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Shorefield Country Park.

As a self-catering park, we don’t provide toilet rolls on a daily basis but our housekeeping team will leave one for each toilet for you to use on your arrival. We apologise if this was not made clear at the time.

We’re pleased to hear you liked the lodge and we hope you will visit us once again.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
There are newer reviews for Shorefield Country Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

I booked on the Monday for a 3 night stay (Fri-Mon) the following weekend and the price was reduced by approx 25% to £299. Not cheap but we were willing to give it a go ! I was a bit wary as the only accommodation available at this short notice was a super saver chalet and the previous reviews were quite diverse ! However, the chalet and the setting were far better than expected. It was very clean, all the bedlinen was clean & crisp, the furniture, kitchen apliances & utensils were of satisfactory quality and minor problems were resolved promptly by the wardens (eg extra bedlinen, stiff door lock).

The numerous willow trees made the grounds very relaxing and there was ample space for outdoor ball games. Where we stayed (Dane Park) was far more spacious than the more expensive chalets. We were very lucky with the weather and made good use of the outdoor pool which was well maintained with hot showers. Table tennis, crazy golf, refreshments, a sand pit & nature room were next to the outdoor pool.

The location was very convenient for walking in the New Forest, crabbing at Mudeford, visiting Lyndhurst & Lymington and clean & picturesque beaches at Highcliffe & Milford-on-Sea. The village green at Milford-on-Sea (5 minute drive ) had a useful variety of shops (chemist, Co-op, post office, fish & chips,antiques, pub & more).

The only niggles were:

* an additional £15 fee for electricity (an essential so why the extra cost)?
* bathroom sink was minute
* location of kitchen tap was very awkward
* Digital TV box was temperamental
* Numerous games in the amusement arcade were out of order

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Alex W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Marketing Department at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Shorefield Country Park.

We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Shorefield Country Park and you liked the chalet you stayed on over your long weekend with us.

In reference to the issues you have raised at the end of your review, we do charge for utilities at our parks, however we do balance that against the price of our accommodation. Our General Manager is aware of the arcade machine issue and is looking into this, we apologise for any inconvenience caused by this. We apologise that the digital TV box was temperamental, we are always more than happy to send out someone from maintenance to fix any issues when reported at Reception. Thank you for your feedback regarding the kitchen taps and the sink, we are constantly updating our accommodation and will take your feedback into account.

We hope you will stay with us once again.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Been visiting Shorefield every year for the last 6 years, sometimes in an 8 berth lodge or in a caravan depending on our party size that year. Never had a problem with cleanliness in any of the units. The site itself is clean and friendly. The pool is nice and the area has plenty to offer if you don't mind driving but if you fancy a walk, there are some lovely woods that take you to the pebbly beach. We were all set to book a lodge again for 8 of us but was amazed to see the prices shoot up almost 50% just for a 3 day break out of season. Sadly, we took something similar but cheaper not too far away but I will miss Shorefield this year but needs must.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Thank c m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Marketing Department at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your previous stay at Shorefield Country Park.

We do very often have offers on our accommodation throughout the year, keep an eye on our special offers page on our website as that will have details on all the offers we have on at one time. Also, if you've stayed 5 times in the last 5 years, you would be eligible to become a Holiday Ambassador which means you'd receive 15% off brochure price if we don't currently have an offer on the accommodation you want. To find out about the Holiday Ambassador scheme email holidaysvip@shorefield.co.uk.

We hope you will stay with us again.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We've been staying at Shorefield for 13 years and love the area. This year's visit was good but the caravan we stayed in was shabby and did not offer good value as we paid quite a lot for it. The carpet was loose and badly stained and the curtain in the main bedroom was hanging on one curtain ring. Having stayed so many times before, I was disappointed! The club was as good as ever, and is ideal for families with young children. We ate at the club several times and the food was good. We will return but will keep our fingers crossed for better accommodation next time!

Stayed: August 2014
2  Thank SJG48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Marketing Department at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Shorefield Country Park.

We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed by your accommodation; we do ask that customers report any issues with their accommodation while staying with us. That way we can put right anything during your stay. We will pass your comments onto the Housekeeping team to make sure these issues are addressed.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Shorefield Country Park soon.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Had a lovely week at Shorefield Country Park we stayed in a private caravan on Seabreeze which was great.
Facilities on the park were varied, outdoor pool - very cold. Indoor pool nice, but was full to capaciity towards the end of the week which meant you had to put your name on the waiting list, although only waited 10 minutes each time.
Amusements were small and many of the games were broken. Clubhouse was nice but was very crowded towards the end of the week so made it hard to get a table. The entertainment staff were great and worked very hard.
Not much to do for teenagers, although our son managed to have a kick about on the football pitch a couple of times with other children. Would be good if they put on more organised activities aimed at the teenagers.
Spar shop reasonable priced and had most of the things we wanted. However did the majority of our shopping at the Tesco just before New Milton which is 5 minute drive away
Park ideally located to explore the New Forest and beaches - am returning again next year

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank orange1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Marketing Department at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Shorefield Country Park.

The General Manager is aware of the arcade machine issue and will be investigating this further, we apologise for any inconvenience caused.

We shall make the entertainment team aware of your feedback regarding activities for teenagers.

We're pleased to hear you will be returning again next year.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Although a frequent visitor to Shorefield, I recently discovered the jewel in their crown ... the spa! I have had several treatments and a different therapist each time, but unlike many spa's - each time was consistently fabulous. I have been using SenSpa for years but have switched my business now as I feel the service here is better. The treatment rooms are very relaxing too and smell fab. And after you get to chill out in their relaxation room. I highly recommend booking a treatment here - you'll feel fantastic.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Marketing Department at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely review of Reflections Elemis Day Spa.

We're so pleased to hear that you have become a regular visitor to the spa and we shall pass your lovely comments onto the spa team.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here first week in August in a private rented caravan on seabreeze number 341.. lovely caravan but dirty, all cups where tea/coffee stained, kitchen cupboards where dirty as was the fridge so had to clean before use and also had to was all pots, pans and cutlery. . There was spiders webs everywhere and dust on, found long hairs in the shower, windows needed cleaning as did the floors, we was told it was pet free but there had been a dog in there which triggered off my daughter in laws allergy. The oven kept going out and smoke alarm didn't work.
I was also told towels would supplied, good job we took our own because the only towel where tea towels which smelt of fat. I did inform Graham who owns the van but was basically called a liar which got my back up and the caravan next door had a dog which was left outside all day and it just barked..
The heated outdoor pool was not heated at all and we had to get out as we where turning blue.
The family entertainment room need to be much bigger than it is, I have a disability and can't stand for long but had no choice as the room was packed.
However I would stay again but NOT in 341 as I didn't go on holiday to have to clean and I won't go into the entertainment room.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Jules Slimming ... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShorefieldHolidays, Marketing Department at Shorefield Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Shorefield Country Park.

As Seabreeze 341 is a privately owned unit we don’t have any involvement with the cleaning and maintenance of the caravan; this would be organises by the owner.

We’re sorry to hear you found the entertainment room too small, this room does cater for up to 200 people. We do advise that people arrive early to enjoy the entertainment during peak periods as the room does get busy.

We’re pleased to hear you will be visiting us again.
Regards,
Shorefield Holidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford on Sea
1.3 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
483 reviews
4.4 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
2.9 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
741 reviews
7.0 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#8 of 11 in Christchurch
376 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shorefield Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shorefield Country Park

Address: Shorefield Country Park Shorefield Road | Downton, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0LH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Milford on Sea
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Milford on Sea
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Shorefield Country Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shorefield Country Park Hotel Milford On Sea
Shorefield Country Park Milford On Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing