We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners at Westover Hall”
Review of Westover Hall Hotel Restaurant - CLOSED

Westover Hall Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“New owners at Westover Hall”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The Westover Hall Hotel has had a makeover in readiness for its sale at auction which happened recently, so it will be one to watch to see that the standards still prevail. I took three friends for a Sunday lunch once and the meal was exceptional - especially the fantastic desserts; a formal dinner was a gourmet's delight - but another lunch was such a disappointment I stopped going for a while. It is now 'watch this space'.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    23
    14
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food, good service.”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

As a party of four, we visited Westover Hall for lunch on the last day of March. We opted for the restaurant's set menu (£20 for three courses or £15 for two courses) which offered a good choice of starters, main courses and desserts, and also included a glass of wine with the meal. Our table in the restaurant offered a splendid view of the IOW Needles. Service was quick, attentive, and generally excellent.

As a starter I chose prawns in batter with a sweet chilli sauce followed by a wild mushroom risotto and finishing with a generous platter of cheese and biscuits accompanied by a home-made apple chutney sauce. All these were nicely presented and were very tasty indeed. For wine, I asked for a white and was given a nicely chilled Chablis.

Other dishes enjoyed by the other members of the party were beer battered cod and chips, minute steaks, wild berry panacotta, and chocolate mousse with pear.

We left very impressed by the cuisine, the service, and the reasonable cost and the ambience of this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault any meals”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

During our stay every meal was well presented, well cooked, tasted as it! should and no scrimpy servings

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Time Travellers' Wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“NIce hotel, average restaurant”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal and the dinner was the most disappointing aspect of the stay. The menu was fairly limited and with them being out of one of the main courses it made choosing difficult. The starter and mains were fine, although fairly uninspired, but the desserts ranged from disappointing to just plain bad. My Eton Mess was actually just a pile of cream with no meringue and I didn't eat any more than two small mouthfuls.

When they came to collect the largely untouched plate she didn't ask if there was anything wrong with my dessert, but merely picked up the plate. Upon enlightening her why I hadn't eaten the dessert she didn't offer any sort of solution or recompense, but just muttered something and walked away. I made a deliberate point as we were leaving of going over to her and saying that I would not be paying for it upon checkout and did not expect to see it on the bill.

To be fair, it wasn't on the bill the following morning, but neither was the other dessert or the bottle of wine, so I suspect she'd just forgotten to charge for the extra course and wine that weren't part of deal.

The breakfast the following morning was lovely though!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulie28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boldre, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“afternoon tea....”
Reviewed 29 November 2011

was an ok tea ... cakes that looked like they were made for quick convenience .. ( ie sliced off one big tray bake) . .. nothing really yummy or tantalising .. not even a sponge bun ! scones were chewy and cream and jam portions were very mean . Service was good to the point of even being overbearingly polite .. but no quality checks or enquiry as to whether we wanted more tea etc .. all rather disappointing .. and at £19.95 ( for one , but would serve two , if you wanted to fight over the one nut tartlet ) wood sooner have a cream tea at local garden centre .

Helpful?
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Westover Hall Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Milford on Sea, Lymington
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing