We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch menu”
Review of Westover Hall Hotel Restaurant - CLOSED

Westover Hall Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level Contributor
282 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch menu”
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely lunch on the patio (the weather helped). Great views over the sea with good food and service. We shared the fish platter for 2 which was ample for a lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    23
    14
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
390 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Eating experience”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I confess that I have not eaten there since the recent take over, but I have been there on a number of occasions over the years, to weddings, as a place to take special friends and a delightful setting if it's just a quiet lunch with the spouse. I have used the restaurant for lunch and dinner and found both to be extremely good. Lunch was delivered from a restricted menu, but offered very good choice and the food was presented as carefully and tasted as good as it did when taking dinner in the evening. The wedding we attended there was brilliant. We were guests and it was not a wedding for our family, but one could only be impressed with the setting, ambience and everything about the occasion.
An evening meal there has always been a delight. Never cheap, but very good food, beautifully prepared and well served. Excellent attention to detail. One one occasion the wine waiter made an error in the wine he served. Such profuse apologies, and bottle of the finest wine on the house by way of recompense.
I just hope that under new ownership it hasn't lost that exclusivity and excellence

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frankart_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford on Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Changed hands Now owned by Hall and Woodhouse”
Reviewed 27 July 2012

This once wonderful restaurant is now owned by a brewery .!! It is called the Beach House. Fortunately Westover Hall is a grade one listed building I think so the Hotel and restaurant is still a beautiful experience , just the food is now slightly down market ....but the up side is that I can now go more often because the prices are much more affordable and the food is good value.
The views from the dining room over the solent to the Isle of wight are superb , There are lots of tables on the Terrace and picnic style benches on the grassy area below , quite near the hidden pathway to the beach . Great for the children to be able to run about .

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank J0yceann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disorganised staff food OK”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Second visit previously a weekday this time on a Sunday, this time a shambles. All very friendly but clearly the weekend staff are school hires with no experience in the restaurant trade.
Will try it again because the first experience was good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hammerschmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing building..Lovely staff..Great views and location”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stumbled upon the Beach House while driving back to Poole from Hurst castle, the building grabbed our attention and we weren't disappointed when we got inside.
A lovely old building, great features, a huge entrance hall.
Really friendly staff, very helpful and not overbearing.
They served lunch till 5 which was handy for us as we were hungry after walking and it was 3pm!
Had a pleasant pint of Peroni in the garden, (even though it was pretty rubbish weather!), the wind swept pine tree is gorgeous as are the views of the Isle of White.
We went inside for food, there were various spacious dining areas, a casual one as well as more formal.
Had a nice big table in a bay window to ourselves as we had missed the lunch rush.
Pleasant music, not offensive or too loud.
The food was general pub grub, very good and well presented with good portions.
I would have liked more of a fine dining menu in such fine dining surroundings!
The toilets were impeccably clean.
A nice afternoon and I look forward to returning on a sunny day!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worldwakeup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Westover Hall Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Milford on Sea, Lymington
 
Milford on Sea, Lymington
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing