We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now known as The Beach House”
Review of Westover Hall Hotel Restaurant - CLOSED

Westover Hall Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Now known as The Beach House”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Very good friendly service in a lovely old building and I hope local people will support it so the new owners can make a go of it and save it. Local people would be heartbroken to see it pulled down. The prices are very reasonable with local Ringwood Ale on draught. The food is, I would say, on a par with Wetherspoon (just opened in Lymington), maybe a little better as slightly more gourmet I would say. The prices are really reasonable. My sister and I went in for a light lunch and it was under £15 for the two of us. The bar scene question below I can't really answer. They do have a small bar but still looks like "a bar in a large hotel". they tell me they will be refurbing with a horseshoe bar as soon as they can in that absolutely beautiful wooden panelled huge entrance. That will be absolutely fantastic in this wonderful old building. Let's save it - deterioration in the last 5/10 years has been immense due in part to its cliff-top location. It's worth going in for lunch just to see this fantastic historic building. A lovely garden by the way and path down to the cliff edge. (Not direct access from here to the beach). Public footpath right of way to the cliff edge without having to use the facilities is very popular with dog walkers. Will try and add a photograph soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jackiecoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    23
    14
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Food with a Sea view”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Took our 92 year old aunt out for lunch, excellent window table (requested) as she has poor eyesight. View over the hotel grounds to the sea. Food, wine, and service very good. Looking forwards to going again

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank terrywood10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Typical Hall and Woodhouse fixed menu - predictable and good value for money if uninteresting. Good chablis at a sensible price. Hopefully will have daily specials when refurbishment is completed.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Localityenthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
282 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch menu”
Reviewed 27 August 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely lunch on the patio (the weather helped). Great views over the sea with good food and service. We shared the fish platter for 2 which was ample for a lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
390 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Eating experience”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I confess that I have not eaten there since the recent take over, but I have been there on a number of occasions over the years, to weddings, as a place to take special friends and a delightful setting if it's just a quiet lunch with the spouse. I have used the restaurant for lunch and dinner and found both to be extremely good. Lunch was delivered from a restricted menu, but offered very good choice and the food was presented as carefully and tasted as good as it did when taking dinner in the evening. The wedding we attended there was brilliant. We were guests and it was not a wedding for our family, but one could only be impressed with the setting, ambience and everything about the occasion.
An evening meal there has always been a delight. Never cheap, but very good food, beautifully prepared and well served. Excellent attention to detail. One one occasion the wine waiter made an error in the wine he served. Such profuse apologies, and bottle of the finest wine on the house by way of recompense.
I just hope that under new ownership it hasn't lost that exclusivity and excellence

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frankart_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Westover Hall Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Milford on Sea, Lymington
 
Milford on Sea, Lymington
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing