We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional, fantastic from start to finish”

Verveine Fishmarket Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$79
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Verveine is both a traditional village fishmonger and a fine dining restaurant that specialises in fresh fish and shellfish that are caught in the UK shores. We are a multi award-winning restaurant with the accolades of 'best restaurant' and 'chef of the year' for 2011, 'chef of the year', 'best local menu' and 'best customer service' 2012 by Hampshire Life magazine.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Exceptional, fantastic from start to finish”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We have just had the most amazing evening out with friends. From our pre dinner drinks to our after dinner petit fours everything has been great. The menu itself leaves you wondering how to choose what to try. Your palete is challenged to try foods you would not think of serving together
My smoked salmon starter came served with a smoke filled cloche! and for mains you have chosen which actual fish you want there is a choice of 'garnish'.We had the Choritso and Soy options .The desserts were equally great with surprising wood smoked icecream and bubblegumto try.
It is great to eat out where the staff are all well informed and happy to guide you throughout. We had a lovely chat with David chef/owner and will definitely be back .As we are not local we booked in advance but would recommend booking so not disappointed
A big thank you

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karyn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    627
    73
    26
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant for a special occasion if you enjoy fish”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Spent the evening of our 23rd wedding anniversary at this restaurant .
We have lived in the village for a year but not visited before.
Small but very pleasant restaurant with attentive staff who are not over the top.
Limited menu but enough choice for all (fish lovers).
Good service, unusual, very good food, cooked to perfection and great ambience.
They picked up that it was our wedding anniversary and we received a decorated plate of sweets; a nice touch

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim11052011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great fish food”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Verveine shop front gives no hint of the small, long and wonderful restaurant that lies behind it. It is all about fish with a choice of about a dozen main courses depending on the latest catch.
Food presentation is of the highest order and the young waiters explained each dish in detail, with a smile.
Our meal was the highlight of our holiday in Milford although of course it was not cheap!
Can't wait to return.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sensory magic”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This wasn't 'going out for dinner', this was an experience to end all dining experiences, in the very best possible way. From being greeted by such warm and friendly staff, who make eye contact and smile with a sincerity, we were transported into a magical world of tastes, aromas, and extremely interesting conversations with Chef, and his staff, who are all so knowledgeable about the food and drink they are serving.

Forget the flashy tv chefs who prance around throwing bits of food here and there, David Wykes is a true professional and it was an honour to be in his company for an evening. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting an amazing dining experience - be prepared to be thrilled!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fishtastic”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Great refreshing restraint n great area with lovely staff and lovely food you gotta try this place. ..pardon the pun

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Disko67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Verveine Fishmarket Restaurant also viewed

Milford on Sea, Lymington
 
Milford on Sea, Lymington
Lymington, New Forest
 

Been to Verveine Fishmarket Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing