We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for lunch with a view”
Review of The Marine Cafe Brasserie & Bar - CLOSED

The Marine Cafe Brasserie & Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: This Business is no longer operational. A new Business, the 'Raft Rocks' Restaurant now occupies the ground floor of the building. Please remove this listing asap. Thank you.
Cranfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ideal for lunch with a view”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Wish the weather had been better as would loved to have sat on the roof terrace.

We called in twice and got good seats by the window with a view of the sea crashing over the sea wall.

Food seems to be freshly prepared and not of the microwave variety - king prawns in tempura batter had clearly just come out of the frier and were very tasty. Baquettes were nicely filled.

Friendly staff and overall good experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    131
    64
    36
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good mix of food, decor, service, views”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Unusual, intimate dining room with great views over the sea. We had just walked to Hurst castle and back which was a great set up for the meal. The menu was quite small, which was not a problem, but one starter and one main were not available. The food was tasty, mixed seafood grill well presented, and portion sizes just right. £75 per couple. Subtle, attentive service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yowzerrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Food,great views, great service at Valentines:The marine at Milford on Sea”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My wife and I have eaten with friends at the Marine (Valentines) twice in the last week, once lunch, once dinner. Both times we have had an excellent time. The food was just right both portions and tastes, the staff pleasant, welcoming and very helpful. The menu is encouragingly limited to a few superb dishes which suggests good original cooking and the meats and fish excellent. One friend had a mushroom risotto which was also superb. If possible start with a drink on the restaurant balcony with views over the Solent and the Needles...in fact a really splendid panorama on a clear day from Old Harry to Yarmouth. Attention from the staff was excellent. The wine list is good and the draught Ringwood bitter nice as an aperitif. Always a good atmosphere. can't wait for the next time. Terry Langford, Milford on Sea.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable, relaxing lunch”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Had a very enjoyable lunch from the set menu. Very good food although a little under seasoned. We were the only ones in the restaurant but were made to feel very welcome. The staff were friendly but not overpowering. Beautiful views to the Needles. Coffee was very good. A great lunch and we will certainly go there again.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PennyB1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, beautifully presented.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Was pleasantly surprised at the excellent quality of evening meal in this most beautiful of surroundings. We had the lamb rump with minted pea puree, beautifully cooked and presented.
With a bottle of wine for two, under £50 is average for that quality in the area.
We were both adequately sated, and therefore avoided the choice of desserts.
The menu is however limited, which to my view is good, as everything is freshly prepared.
The only downside for a quality restaurant was that we poured our own wine and water.
Otherwise the service was very good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clivegil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Marine Cafe Brasserie & Bar also viewed

Milford on Sea, Lymington
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing