We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pub, Great Hosts. Great accommodation. One not to miss.”
Review of Red Lion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milford on Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Lion
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Pub, Great Hosts. Great accommodation. One not to miss.”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Stayed at the Red Lion for two nights. Room nice and bright and fully equipped. Stuart & Jayne could not do enough for us. Food & Ale superb. Would recommend this pub if just passing or even an overnight stay. Thanks Start & Jayne, hope to see you again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandrastrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    7
    0
    3
    7
See reviews for
9
15
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I recently took my family here and it was fantastic. We have a young boy and baby who were made to feel very welcome and the staff went out there way to make sure that they had what they needed which included extra yorkshire puddings and free ice-cream! The deal is £9.50 for two courses which I think is really reasonable and the food was very good. The only complaint we had was from my partner who thought the roast was a little small and could have eaten another! He is a big eater though! A big thanks to the staff for a lovely sunday roast and friendly atmosphere. We will return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleySway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new forest, uk
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

Well done to Paul and June for keeping going despite the cancer. Good luck in your new beginnings, stay healthy!
And good luck to the new proprietors, if you do as good a job as Paul and June you will be fine.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilathedoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Went to eat here as the nearby smugglers inn was packed with happy customers, after a long hike we unfortunately were told that they were not serving food after 2pm. The pub was empty for this reason and would suggest doing snacks? We went to a nearby Thai restaurant who, even though they had also stopped serving food, still served us as they wouldn't turn away hungry paying customers! A real shame as it looked like it had such potential.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SunshineFlowerYogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We have today had lunch here and found it good value ,charming and the host paul and his staff very helpful and friendly,We will pop on again as we don't live too far away,

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akrotiri48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed here for one night whlist attending a family party. Paul made us very welcome. Room was very clean and tidy with ensuite. Excellent breakfast. If you need somewhere to stay in the centre of Milford then I thoroughly recommend this place

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hojo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford on Sea
0.6 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
3.7 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
0.3 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in Milford on Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bay Trees
The Bay Trees
#3 of 9 in Milford on Sea
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion

Property: Red Lion
Address: 32 High Street | Milford-On-Sea, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Milford on Sea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Milford on Sea
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the high street of the quaint coastal village of Milford on Sea, this former 18th Century coaching inn promises to provide a traditional pub atmosphere, as well as three tastefully decorated double en-suite B&B rooms.The Red Lion caters to all ages and serves quality local cask ales, popular drought lagers, bottled beers, stouts, wines, spirits and a variety of soft drinks. There is a large, welcoming beer garden at the rear with a children’s play area and a games area including darts, pool, table football and a TV situated in the old stable.There are regular live music nights at the Red Lion from fantastic local bands, so keep a look out for upcoming dates. Free Wi-Fi for all customers is also available – just ask at the bar for the weekly code.The Red Lion offer comfortable newly decorated bed and breakfast rooms for those wishing to experience all that the village and surrounding area has to offer. Milford on Sea is home to a selection of independent shops, breathtaking views over to the Needles & Isle of Wight and annual events such as the Music and Arts Festival, the Carnival and Milford Food Week. The lovely Georgian sailing town of Lymington and the beautiful New Forest National Park are only a short drive away, making this historic Grade II listed building the ideal place to stay and explore. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Lion Milford On Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing