We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Regular Sunday Lunch customers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milford on Sea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Lion
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Regular Sunday Lunch customers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We have had Sunday lunch at the Red Lion on 3 occasions now, with our 2 dogs, who are always made very welcome, and they look forward to the dog biscuits they get from the Landlord and staff. We are always made very welcome, and the food and service is excellent, nothing is too much trouble. We will make it our regular Sunday lunch treat. Well done to everyone at the Red Lion.

Room Tip: Did not stay here, so not applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    6
    0
    3
    7
See reviews for
7
14
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We had lunch here last Sunday, we both had the Sunday roast £10 each for 2 courses. We had the beef and it was fantastic,the service was brilliant both with the food and the landlord and bar staff also. Then we had the best afternoon listening to Roger on the piano with great company of the locals in the red lion. We will be going back here again. Thank you to all at the red lion

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sapage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We have stayed at the Red Lion on numerous occasions and have always found Stuart & Jane very welcoming, friendly & courteous. Nothing is too much trouble - every request made by us was met with an immediate response of 'yes of course no problem!' We even took our small dog on a couple of visits and this too was not an issue (we did ask prior to arriving) - they even gave him his own bowl and selection of doggy snacks! We wouldn't hesitate in recommending the Red Lion and the owners Jane & Stuart to this lovely family friendly, good value for money pub/B&B. Keep up the good work guys!! :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeannie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

I too was one of the ‘unfortunate customers’ on that Saturday night…. The band was great and the atmosphere also great until we made the mistake of not necking our drinks immediately when asked to drink up. I have to say I was absolutely shocked by the hostile and unfriendly treatment received that night. We were not asked if we would like to stay in the pub to wait for our taxi, which the response states. Nor in the response is there any denial my friend’s glass was physically taken from her hand.

As my friend stated in her review – Had we been drunk, behaving badly or unruly, then you could understand perhaps their abrupt manner. However to decent paying customers, which we are, their behaviour was absolutely disgraceful !!

I recommend a training need in customer care.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

In response to the review by the unfortunate ladies who were treated with such hostility on a Saturday night, I would like to add that I witnessed the whole event, which was totally unnecessary on the part of the bar staff, and can confirm that they had left the pub long before 11:45pm- all I can say is that the Landlord's watch must have been at least 30 minutes fast and this is not the first time that such hostile behaviour has been witnessed in the Red Lion over the past few months. On several occasions friends of mine have paid for drinks only minutes before being asked to drink up and leave, and in many cases have been forced to leave their drinks behind. Basil Fawlty springs to mind!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Gobsmackedlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

This hotel is amazing!!! Stuart and Jayne were incredible, from when we arrived to the moment we left. Nothing was too much trouble!
We were given fold out beds in the rooms to accommodate extra people, extra bedding because I was chilly and lots of friendly chats over breakfast. We had 2 breakfasts and one dinner at the pub and they were all faultless!
My brother forgot his shoes and Stuart lent him his, would you get that anywhere else!!

I cannot fault this place, nor the people at all!
See you soon xxx

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparks789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Three friends and I went to this pub at about 10pm on a Saturday night to have a drink to round off a great evening out in Milford to celebrate my 39th birthday, It was very busy and they had a live band who were brilliant. The band played until 11pm and whilst they were packing up the bar staff walked round and asked us to finish our drinks. There were still about 20 people left at this point.
All the customers were well behaved, simply enjoying their last,drinks and chatting, calling taxis etc.. Ten minutes later with no warning we were told we had been given our chance, we had to leave now. Our drinks were physically pulled out of our hands and taken away, and they stood with the door open and ordered us to leave. As I went through the door I was told that I wouldn't be welcome back and he hoped he wouldn't see me again. Nobody had said anything rude to them, had not provoked them in any way to elicit this sort of response. Now I respect that they may have to be tough with unruly customers and I also respect their license but to treat polite customers who had spent money in their bar, who were not behaving badly, were not drunk, in such a nasty, rude and abrupt manner was outrageous! They obviously feel that they have enough regulars to be able to treat new customers in this manner but I think that is disgraceful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne G, Owner at Red Lion, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
A different version of events as we remember...
The band had finished playing and so at 11.20pm we started asking people to drink up.
Up 11.30 we walked around again and asked you to kindly drink up as it was time to go home.
At 11.40 we asked you to drink up as it was really time to go home!
You mentioned you were waiting for a taxi so we said that we would be happy for you to wait inside the pub, but that you needed to finish your drink and give your glass back to the bar.
At 11.45 you were still drinking and had not responded to our requests at all - so you were asked to leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford on Sea
0.6 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
3.2 mi away
Stanwell House Hotel
Stanwell House Hotel
#2 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
3.7 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Beach House
The Beach House
#4 of 9 in Milford on Sea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marine House
Marine House
#3 of 9 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Cliff House
The Cliff House
#2 of 8 in Barton-on-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion

Property: Red Lion
Address: 32 High Street | Milford-On-Sea, New Forest, Lymington SO41 0QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Lymington > Milford on Sea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Milford on Sea
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly on the high street of the quaint coastal village of Milford on Sea, this former 18th Century coaching inn promises to provide a traditional pub atmosphere, as well as three tastefully decorated double en-suite B&B rooms.The Red Lion caters to all ages and serves quality local cask ales, popular drought lagers, bottled beers, stouts, wines, spirits and a variety of soft drinks. There is a large, welcoming beer garden at the rear with a children’s play area and a games area including darts, pool, table football and a TV situated in the old stable.There are regular live music nights at the Red Lion from fantastic local bands, so keep a look out for upcoming dates. Free Wi-Fi for all customers is also available – just ask at the bar for the weekly code.The Red Lion offer comfortable newly decorated bed and breakfast rooms for those wishing to experience all that the village and surrounding area has to offer. Milford on Sea is home to a selection of independent shops, breathtaking views over to the Needles & Isle of Wight and annual events such as the Music and Arts Festival, the Carnival and Milford Food Week. The lovely Georgian sailing town of Lymington and the beautiful New Forest National Park are only a short drive away, making this historic Grade II listed building the ideal place to stay and explore. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Lion Milford On Sea, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing