We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hurst castle - worth visiting”
Review of Hurst Castle

Hurst Castle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located within the New Forest National Park, Hurst Castle is situated on the seaward end of the shingle spit that extends 1.5 miles from Milford-on-Sea, Hampshire. Built by Henry VIII as a chain of fortresses to protect the Solent in 1544, this is the site where Charles I was imprisoned in 1648 before being taken to his trial and execution in London. The castle was modernised during the Napoleonic wars and again in the 1870s when the enormous armoured wings were added, making it the largest coastal fort in the world. Two of the huge 38-ton guns installed in the 1870s can be viewed in their casemates together with other weapons developed through 412 years of military use. During World War II, Hurst was manned with coastal gun batteries and searchlights. You can get to Hurst Castle by ferry from Keyhaven Quay (sat nav postcode: SO41 0TP) or you can walk along the shingle Hurst Spit.
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hurst castle - worth visiting”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Boat trip to hurst castle is very convenient with a boat every 20 minutes, we even saw a seal on our way back. The visit of the castle is great: do take the audio guide, if not there are not many explanations in the rooms so not so interesting + really nice views on the coast and the isle of Weight

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Sophie02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    373
    93
    14
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, NZ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not your typical castle”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Great place to spend a couple of hours. We took the ferry service and as we came back at low tide, got a really close up view of several wading birds.
Castle is a mish mash of various styles but as a result is a great place to explore. not great for those that have difficulty with steps, but fab for kids - just try not to lose them!
The lighthouse exhibition that's on site was also very interesting.
Overall, a surprising and entertaining way to spend an afternoon!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank ktb6023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great place to spend a few hours”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

hurst castle was recommended by my daughter so my mate and i went down on the motorbikes for a couple of nights, what a place! loads of history ,huge artillery pieces,lots of nooks and crannies to explore,and you can go up the battlements for some great views,we went on a day when it was blowing a hoolie very atmospheric,plus chuck in a cheap ticket for admission,and a cafe serving homemade fare at reasonable prices, go enjoy, and let the children learn something about our heritage.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank yammyxj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great heritage attraction”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

This is a great place to spend a couple of hours. We approached it by walking along the shingle spit; great views out to sea.. Nice little cafe to have a cream tea: sat at a picnic table outside. We got the little boat to return which was £3 I think. Well worth a visit; well presented with interesting exhibitions.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank letsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A good way to spend a couple of hours”
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We were staying at Milford without a car so not a great deal to do within walking distance. It was a nice day (sunny but windy) so we did the long walk along the shingle beachfront to the castle. The castle itself was well maintained and very interesting exhibits from across the years. Cost £4 per adult for entry; we spent a couple of hours there. There's a nice bit of green with benches if you had a picnic with you. There is a tea/coffee shop but we didn't use it. Families seemed to be enjoying it, lots of open space and dark rooms for the kids to explore. There is a ferry from the castle across to another part, think it was £3.50 per adult each way but we decided to walk as it was such a lovely day.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank cherylbEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hurst Castle also viewed

 
Lyndhurst, New Forest
 

Been to Hurst Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing